We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad”
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #287 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dar Silsila. Everything has already been written about the friendliness of Jean-Patrick and the staff, cleanliness of the Rias & the rooms and the fact that the Riad is very well located. Everything is within easy walking distance.

We really felt welcomed and "at home".

We had a standard room which was already perfect. In the afternoons we also spent a lot of time on the terrasses to read and relax after the buzz of the city.

Thank you Jean-Patrick & staff and we are looking forward to coming back :-)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatyGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
There are newer reviews for Dar Silsila
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

We loved our stay here! A wonderful escape from the busy Medina. The extra comforts were not overlooked - amazing oils and soaps, gorgeous beds, fresh yogurt, great wine (and mint tea!) and the best tagine of the trip! Thank you Jean-Patrick and your lovely, gracious staff!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate_ia14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We had 3 nights here and could not fault it, our first night we dined at the Riad and had a lovely meal, would recommend you do this if you have a PM arrival as you need to get your bearings in daylight before you venture out.
Jean-Patrick is charming and very organised, his staff are lovely, always smiling and happy to chat, the place is run with quiet efficiency, all our taxi transfers were on time and the driver came to the Riad door for us.
Buy a good street map off the internet before you go as the ones in Marrakesh are patchy and it is so easy to get lost. Take english bank notes to exchange as the queues in Arrivals for Cash machines are grim, the bureau de change was much quicker.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slugmama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed at Dar Silsila for 5 nights in the beginning of February. Upon arrival at the riad, we were greeted with cookies and mint tea and a detailed explanation of sights in Marrakech. It was very helpful as it assisted us in planning our trip for the next 5 days.

We stayed at the Terrace Suite - it is a big room with its own lounge. We also made use of the terrace to enjoy the tranquility within the riad. All areas within Dar Silsila are very clean, well looked after and well decorated. All credit to the staff there.

The service we had at Dar Silsila was probably the best service we have received on our travels. The owner Jean-Patrick, through from us making the booking to the day we leave Marrakech, was very attentive and assisted us whenever he could. All other staff within Dar Silsila were so friendly and did their best to make us feel welcome and comfortable. No wonder the riad has been voted top ten for services in Africa.

The location of Dar Silsila was perfect for our stay. It is very convenient and safe to walk to the Djamma El Fna Square (5 mins), the souk (5 mins) or to the Bab (1 min) to get a taxi.

We had dinner at the hotel once. The setting of the dinning room was very romantic yet relaxed. We had a 3 course meal and it was delicious. The best food that we tasted in Marrakech!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetheworldinmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We spent three nights at Marrakch. The hotel was just near the gate of the medina. We arranged a car from Fes to Marrakech and it took only 6 hours to get there. The owner of the hotel, Jean-Patrick, is a very good businessnesman serrving his guests well and knows when can make a good deal. The day before we informed him the arrival time- between 3:00-4:00pm, though he said it would take 8-9 hours drive for the journey. We arrived at 3:30pm and the staff were not there, only the cleaning ladies opened the door for us. They called the boss and Jean-Patrick talked to us on the phone and would have someone at 5:00pm to tell us some info.

We walked around the medina ourselves and we bought some herbes at the market and it was a good walk.

We booked two rooms, one single and one twin and were charged the same price. The rooms are clean, well-decorated and comfy. The breakfast was okay.

Jean-Patrick appeared at the breakfast time to entertain his guests because we have a lot of questions. We booked one dinner for 20 Euros per person. The main was chickens with pumpkins, but the chicken was not much taste and the pumkin source was too sweet that we don't really need the desert. The desert was just three slice of orange.

One night we went to one nice restaurant near the square. There were many tourists in the restaurant. I order a fillet with green pepper source it was just 12 euros and it was excellent. My friends have chicken tagine with vegetables which was only costs 7 euros per dish.

The last day we book a car to the train station to return to Casblanca. It costs 15 euros for 5-minute drive.

The people at the hotel are friendly and helpful on the whole.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Well, this is a gem in the jewel of the city that is marrakech. When you first arrive you are taken down a fairly dark side street within the medina, you wonder where you are going......but then when you enter through the door, all the hustle of the street and any worries that you had are lost as you go into the most beautiful courtyard with indoor waterfall......needless to say we were impressed!! This is 10 minutes walk from the main square and right next to the souks......still manages to be absolutely quiet though which is amazing!! Jean-Patrick and all of his wonderful staff made our 4 day trip to die for. It's a culture shock to return to sub-zero Scotland!! The Hammam is amazing too.....in-house and well worth the money. All in all, I would recommend this to anyone. The only problem was my six foot 2 boyfriend found the single bad a little narrow......I Had asked for singles as he snores!!
Marrakech was a very safe place too and I thought it was an amazing place for a short break. Ryanair fly from Edinburgh direct and Dar Silsila will collect you at the airport for a small fee. Brilliant and thanks again. To quote Arnie, "We'll be back!!"

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassie2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We had a wonderful 3 nights at dar silsila. The staff are very helpful and speak good english.
Breakfast and dinner excellent.
room was clean and had a nice morrocan theme.
I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Infinity Sea
Riad Infinity Sea
#125 of 502 in Marrakech
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#230 of 502 in Marrakech
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Grawa
Dar Grawa
#185 of 502 in Marrakech
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#92 of 502 in Marrakech
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Terra Bahia
Riad Terra Bahia
#187 of 502 in Marrakech
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#219 of 502 in Marrakech
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#174 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £56 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Marrakesh’s medina, in Bab Laksour, enter a haven of peace, elegance and well-being. This feeling of calm will invade you once you pass the door of Dar Silsila. Its intimate places, swimming pool and two terraces, away from the bustle the city, will give your stay its full meaning. Enjoy a fresh breakfast and set off to discover the hectic Marrakesh! Then, go back through the doors of our house to rest in the shade of our umbrellas, enjoy the fresh air in the patios, immerse in our beautiful pool. Then book a traditional hammam, with black soap scrub followed by a massage and, to finish your afternoon, treat yourself to traditional small pastries and a delicious mint tea! Spend a moment out of time on the terrace, and enjoy your dinner with a breathtaking view on the Koutoubia. Our team will take care of your comfort 24 hours a day. A private lounge and an en-suite bathroom are available for early arrival and late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing