We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Ranked #404 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stopped here as part of a trip from Agadir to Marrakech. the hotel was nice clean and well looked after. The staff were friendly and generally did what you would expect from a city hotel. As for Marrakech, there is absolutely loads to see. the many gardens are lovely, the main square come market area is like a mad house as people rush around. That said its brightly coloured and great just to watch people.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BeenThereWillYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amine_lakrary, Multi Sites E-Commerce Manager at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like thank for taking time to give us your feed back during your stay , we are also glade that your experience has been pleasant and hope you felt home .
We at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech are focused on Guest service quality in term of consistency also committed to create everlasting experiences .
Looking forward to welcoming you at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech very soon and for la longer stay.

Warmest Regards

Mohamed Amine Lakrary
Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
There are newer reviews for Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my 2 daughters (age 17 and 9) at the start and end of my holiday last month. I’ve written some fairly detailed comments below, but to summarise:
• Good location
• Friendly staff (mainly)
• Clean bedrooms and communal areas
• Lovely pool and gardens
• Minimal internet
• Fridges and safes in bedrooms
The hotel is located in a quiet residential part of Marrakesh, which is quite near to the airport and less than a mile from the train station. It’s also a pleasant walk into the city centre/Medina or a short taxi ride (20 dirhams).
On our first stay, our room was a reasonable size twin room with a spare bed. It had a small balcony overlooking the front gardens. Our second room was much larger, with a mezzanine with a double bed, and 2 divans on the ground floor, one of which was made up as a bed. This room had a reasonable size terrace. I think these larger rooms are only available on the ground floor. Both rooms had a fridge and safe (we couldn’t get it to work). They also had the advantage of a bath with shower over, and excellent, free air conditioning.
The pool and gardens were very pleasant. I’m not sure if the pool was heated, as it was quite bracing, but not the coldest pool we used in Morocco. As the weather was hot, a cool pool was pleasant anyway! As other reviewers have said, it was very difficult to get a sun lounger, especially when the hotel started getting busier towards the end of July. In fact, there were a few unpleasant scenes with “stolen” sun loungers. As the gardens are quite big, with lots of grassed areas, we didn’t find it to be a problem.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel, which was a generous continental breakfast with some hot food. I imagine if you are staying for 2 weeks, it might get a little monotonous. We tried the poolside bar for frites one afternoon, but it was very expensive. For evening meals we ate out at either the old city (although I’d recommend the restaurants around the Jemaa el Fna ahead of the food stands actually in the square), or in the Ville Nouvelle. One place that I must recommend is Aluzio Restaurant, which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel (turn right then right again and it’s on your left) - very good food, with excellent service. There is a Carrefour about 20 minutes walk away (right, then right, then across the road at the petrol station), which is handy for stocking up on snacks and drinks.
There is a bar in the hotel, which serves alcohol and soft drinks, but is priced for a hotel. There was disco of sorts in the bar on most evenings, but it was fairly low key. The other communal areas are spacious.
One main point that let the hotel down was the lack of decent internet. There is no internet in the bedrooms, and the internet in the lobby is very slow. The best internet is in the bar area, and in the sitting area just adjacent to the bar. For a hotel of this standard, there really should be a good internet service.
I would stay at the Golden Tulip Hotel again, and would recommend it as a good place to stay in Morocco. We wanted a clean, good value hotel with a swimming pool as a place to base ourselves. However, if you want a true Moroccan experience, you might be better off staying in a riad in the Medina.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank samanthani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amine_lakrary, Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like thank for taking time to give us your feed back during your stay , we are also glade that your experience has been pleasant and hope you felt home .
We at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech are focused on Guest service quality in term of consistency also committed to create everlasting experiences .
Looking forward to welcoming you at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech very soon and for la longer stay.

Warmest Regards

Mohamed Amine Lakrary
Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I agree with most of the reviews here.
Positives:
*Clean pool & pool area every morning they washed down the floors so there was no ants etc.
*Clean room the room was cleaned to a good standard everyday early!
*Short walk into town, or Taxi right outside they will try charge you a lot but we got into town or back for 20dirhams never pay more than 20 family member lives in morrocco.
*** on the topic of taxis they will tell you the main square is closed and try to take you to their families shops, maybe into a house which you won't be able to leave till you buy something.
* free aircon in room which worked very well.

Negatives:
*Sunbeds go QUICK, the gardens are lovely and you can lay on the grassed area etc but au beds go quick! We ended up having to reserve before 7 every morning. Some people tipped the pool person for him to reserve for you.
*dinner starts at 8 and is basically nearly gone by 8.30 there is a rush at 8 and if you're not there you will get the last bits as they are slow to re fill.



**food is bland nothing too great but it's okay as a back up if you don't want to eat out every night etc. but for what you pay it is fine lots of fresh salads etc.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Caj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amine_lakrary, Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like thank for taking time to give us your feed back during your stay , we are also glade that your experience has been pleasant and hope you felt home .
We at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech are focused on Guest service quality in term of consistency also committed to create everlasting experiences .
Looking forward to welcoming you at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech very soon and for la longer stay.

Warmest Regards

Mohamed Amine Lakrary
Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a hotel, stayed in a circus!
Most Moroccan hotels have an item of the surreal or quirkiness attached to them but this hotel is unbelievable. On checking into my room I found the bathroom and bedroom storage shelves were very dusty, (and they say we men can't see dust, huh) luckily it was 10.05 am and the chambermaids were nearby and rectified the situation without any fuss. Two plus points there, 1. allowing me to check in early, 2. the quick response to the cleaning error.

Food is reasonable, but with little choice. Breakfast eggs are always a runny slop called scrambled egg, unappealing to the eye and unappetising to the palate. If you wanted poached or fried eggs they were at an extra cost, as are traditional Moroccan pancakes. They always provide chopped processed sausage in a spicy sauce along with sauté potato, so cooked breakfast is pretty bland. Croissants, pain au chocolate, bread rolls etc are reasonable, BUT there is no bread for toast! Not just a gripe from me being a Brit, but from all the nationalities in residence. Evening meal generally only two hot mains to choose from and not full of taste. They do good couscous and rice dishes. If you like soup this is your hotel, the soups are made in the kitchen and are full of flavour and seem to be made with a desire to please the consumer.

The problem with getting food from the buffet to your table is the distinct lack of crockery. Unless you are one of the first thirty people in the dining room for dinner, you will find that waiting for the cleaned and chipped crockery to be replaced us the norm. Serving utensils and table cutlery also seems to be on ration, which leads me into drinking glasses or lack of them. Bar staff do not let you take drinks in glasses to your room from the bar or pool bar as they don't have many glasses. Shame really makes life hard for them and reduces the tip potential.

Internet connectivity is very poor. Wifi is supposed to be in public areas the bar and two ground floor lounges. There cable connection points in the bedrooms, these connections as with the wifi run as slow or maybe slower than old fashioned dial up. A lot of cafés, restaurant, and hotels etc, have free fast high speed broadband. At the Golden Tulip Farah it is almost impossible to make a half decent VoIP call. No wifi near the pool, which leads us onto......

Pool sun beds, the few that they have, are old and tired, and desperately need replacing, as well as increasing the number available. I saw many heated 'discussions' due to the big shortest.

Staff here are friendly and helpful, they want to make your stay happy and memorable for all the best reasons, it's a shame that they aren't given the best tools to work with..

Room Tip: Bungalows not value for money
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your open feedback regarding your stay with us. We were sorry to read that we failed to meet all your expectations. Your comments and observations are extremely helpful . Please do get in touch with me on your next arrival to ensure a comfortable and a better stay.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent 10 days at the Golden Tulip Farah in late June 2014. My overall impression was very good.
Positives:
- Overall very friendly and helpful staff
- Clean rooms (and other areas)
- Very good location (both for the medina, Gueliz and the airport)
- Nice swimming pool and garden
- Very pleasant rear terrace overlooking the garden/pool with tables where you can have your meal
Negatives:
- WiFi only available in the lobby and the bar
- Food was rather basic and repetitive, you can easily get bored after a week
- Some staff members were a bit rude (or this is how we perceived them) and unfriendly. I think this is partly down to the fact they spoke little English and we speak little French.

If you are not expecting a UK 4 star standard and make an effort to communicate with the staff in French (at least partially) there is a good chance you will enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden/pool view and 3-5 floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bartek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amine_lakrary, Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like thank for taking time to give us your feed back during your stay , we are also glade that your experience has been pleasant and hope you felt home .
We at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech are focused on Guest service quality in term of consistency also committed to create everlasting experiences .
Looking forward to welcoming you at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech very soon and for la longer stay.

Warmest Regards

Mohamed Amine Lakrary
Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Positives:
- We had a lovely clean room with a mezzanine which we were honestly not expecting because the hotel is so cheap
- The rooms are well looked after and the cleaners were very friendly
- Hotel staff were great- they arranged for me to be seen to by a doctor because I was unwell and a member of staff even went to collect my medicine for free
- The pool is big and clean, but it gets very busy

Negatives:
- Your room will not have an iron!!! I have travelled to many places and this was the first time I have ever been in a hotel which doesn't provide an iron. I was totally shocked. We had to pay for the laundry service, so take a travel iron if you’re able to. The laundry service is cheap but they didn't iron my clothes properly which was annoying.
- Everybody speaks French, so if you speak English it can be a bit of a struggle
- The dinner and breakfast at the hotel is bland
- You only have wifi in the foyer
- The excursions are really expensive to book through the hotel- if you go to the souk, you will be able to haggle and get excursions at a good price

Advice:
- Do not pay more than 20 dirham’s to go to the souk and do not pay more than 40 to go to 555… The taxi drivers will try to charge you a lot more. If you walk away, they will most likely ask you to come back. If they don’t, just ask other taxi drivers until you find one which agrees. You are in Morocco so you can haggle with anyone for anything.
- Some nice words to learn: Yes= Aiwa or Na’am/ No= La/ Thank You= Shukran
- You will have to pay local tax when you check- out; this is very normal and it’s cheap so no biggie

Enjoy you holiday!! :) :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sahara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amine_lakrary, Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like thank for taking time to give us your feed back during your stay , we are also glade that your experience has been pleasant and hope you felt home .
We at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech are focused on Guest service quality in term of consistency also committed to create everlasting experiences .
Looking forward to welcoming you at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech very soon and for la longer stay.

Warmest Regards

Mohamed Amine Lakrary
Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

No of the staff speak English. hotel has 4 restaurants but only one of them is open and included in the board which is a buffet and the food is very bland. Wifi is only available in the lobby or bar even so the connection is very weak. Items of clothing were stolen from my suitcase in my room, when told reception she just laughed. Lastly the lady on reception is extremely rude and charges you for everything, first thing she said to us before even saying hi is "you pay tax now?" and I made a 20 second phone call to a local excursion company and she asked me to pay 20 DRHM which is like £1.60, it would've cost less to use my own phone. Even though it's cheap it's not worth it. Only nice things about it are the pool and the cleanliness of the rooms. Definitely not a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your open feedback regarding your stay with us. We were sorry to read that we failed to meet all your expectations. Your comments and observations are extremely helpful. Please do get in touch with me on your next arrival to ensure a comfortable and a better stay.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#247 of 502 in Marrakech
2,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#263 of 502 in Marrakech
1,200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Andalous
Hotel El Andalous
#394 of 502 in Marrakech
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#377 of 502 in Marrakech
410 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
#453 of 502 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Address: Avenue President Kennedy | Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#213 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £35 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Golden Tulip Marrakech
Hotel Farah
Marrakech Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing