We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing Easter in Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Ranked #406 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Just back from a week in Marrakech. Before deciding on where to stay I spent hours reading reviews on Trip Advisor and other travel forums. We wanted a good quality hotel, with a swimming pool - preferably heated, in a good location, all for a reasonable price. Since we started planning quite late, our first picks were unfortunately full due to school holidays in Marocco. We decided on staying at the Golden Tulip Farah in a Bungalow with half board.

We arrived in the early afternoon and met a not very hospitable person in the reception and were assigned our bungalow. On arrival we were extremely disappointed. The walls and floors were very dirty and the cushions in the sofas and chairs were without covers. We asked for another bungalow and were given 115. This had a different layout from the original one - you had to climb an outside staircase. Inside there was a tiny kitchen with a fridge, a bathroom, a bedroom with a small sofa (large enough to accommodate a small child) and a sitting room with 2 sofas that converted to beds and a similar small sofa to the bedroom. The room was really quiet at night - and we heard more to the birds in the morning than the mosque. The beds were a little on the hard side, but we slept well. Some of the furniture and fittings needed repair - but no major problems.

Housekeeping was OK. Some days we were given enough towels - other days not so we needed to ask for more. Beds were made and changed, the floors were clean - but the walls needed a good cleaning - especially in the bathroom where the rain had at some time come in through an open window.

The gardens were beautiful and well kept. The pool was nice - unfortunately not heated - so we only had some quick dips.

Apart from check-in the first day, every one was very hospitable and service minded. We simply loved the pool man who organized chairs, mattresses and towels. We tipped him from the first day and had really wonderful service. The concierge was extremely helpful and organized a guide for us to see the souks and a tour to the Atlas mountains.

The location of the hotel was good. We walked everywhere. There were several good restaurants in the neighbourhood only 10 minutes away. Shopping was in the new town where we bought shoes and jackets. We just didn't want the hassle of all the bargaining in the souks. The location of our bungalow was also good. There was parking right outside, it was next to the tennis court and in the garden close to the pool. We also had the pleasure of having afternoon sun on our balcony.

We didn't try the fitness centre (only two exercise bicycles) - but our daughter did get a manicure which she was happy with.

And a few comments on the things about the hotel that were not so positive:
- The buffet gets a bit boring after a few days. It is basically the same every dinner and lunch. We were on half board. The good thing was that you could choose if you wanted lunch or dinner. A second positive thing was that you for a small fee could upgrade to one of the other restaurants.
- The was very little information about how the hotel functioned. You actually had to ask to find out. I was rather expecting a book in the room about the hotel since it was rated 4 stars.
- The safe for the bungalows are in the reception not in the rooms
- A pity that the small broken things in the apartment didn't get fixed (a lamp, a drawer, ventilation)
- No tourist information was available at the hotel. You can buy maps in one of the small shops in the lobby for 25 dhs - or get information for free at the tourist office.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SORCEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Farah Marrakech
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

We loved Marrakesh and don't mind walking ( and in early April it was generally mild enough for walking most of the day, between 16 and 26 degrees). For us the hotel was a near perfect balance of value and facilities, if you used cheap taxis (not the mercedes hanging round the hotels) you could probably avoid most of the walking for a pretty modest sum - but you have to agree the fare up front.

The hotel is a little faded and we changed one of our two rooms as the balcony door wouldn't lock - but the management were very accomodating. The in room safe needs a pass card (about 15 drm a day roughly £1.20) - we thought it was broken until we discovered this. The gym is two poor exercise bikes, nothing like the pictures. You can use the not too bad gym in the next door hotel for 100drm (about £8) a day. We had a NW facing room which kept it nice and cool but exposed us to the morning call to prayer - a 15 minute long wake up call around 5.00 am, I don't know if this happens all around the hotel or if we were just "lucky". Otherwise the hotel was quiet and restful and thre bed comfortable.

We found almost everyone we met in Marrakesh to be very friendly and helpful - although it does help if you speak some French as this is a more widely spoken language then English. Be polite, if you smile and say" no thankyou" politely to the frequent offers of help you'll generally get a very good humoured response.

Contrary to my experience elsewhere there were no gangs of pickpocketing children, relatively few beggars and a lot of people trying to work very hard to make ends meet. None of us ever felt threatened despite wandering freely round some pretty poor areas. Of course we didn't flash lots of cash, expensive watches or cameras or try to get into trouble.... The biggest hassel is crossing roads, my cowardly approach was to get on the safe side of a large group and let them judge when to go.

Two tips,
1 - take a compass - even when the maps have street names few of the streets have signs and once in the depths of the Medina a compass will stop you going round in circles - we are good navigators and had multiple maps but had to use the compass many times.
2 - neither of our UK phones (3 and O2) worked, the first time ever on our travels. Check with your mobile network before you go to see if there is some way to overcome this, we didn't. We could detect 3G networks but not use them.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank r42ogn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We have stayed at this hotel many times. It never fails to please. Great location during the daytime for complete relaxation & by night, not to far from the Medina.
Pool is wonderful, staff are lovely, tagines delightful & the rooms are great!
We stayed in the duplex rooms a few years back (extra cost) to the back & sides of the swimming pool. Although these rooms are more exclusive they are in the gardens & I have a fear of insects.......Best off in the hotel's main building, if you are like me!
All round great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

If you can book through the website of the hotel at around 40 Euro; breakfast included this hotel is a value for money. Breakfast OK.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorindaclaerbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

The location of the hotel is good if you're looking for rest, it's set in a nice park with a nice (but freezing) pool. It's not ideal if you have little time to visit the city you will end up spending quite a fortune on taxi's - especially considering the drivers make prices up as they wish.

To reach the Djemaa el Fna square it takes a 35 minute walk which is cool ONCE but having absolutely nothing to look at while you walk it makes it for a very very boring promenade - and annoying with all Marrakech drivers hunking those damn horns every other second.

The Hivernage neighbourhood has nothing interesting, it's a green quiet area.

I got what I think to be a good deal off Agoda (€50/night breakfast included), breakfast was decent, room service menu and quality were extremely poor.
My room was on the third floor in the main building with view on garden and pool and a little balcony which was nice.
Room decor was good and bathroom was fairly clean and looked recent.

Downside about the room, bed on wheels and I was a bit disappointed that I was given a room with twin beds.
Oh, and the safe didn't work due to some "problems with the system"

About the whole 1 star less affair, gosh, shouldn't people know by now that African standards are ALWAYS lower than Europe and Asia?!
Also keep in mind in cities like Milan, Paris, London, Barcelona etc with 50 euros you'd be sleeping in a 1* dump so.....

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The hotel is overall ok, it's not the Sofitel, but a "standard" clean tourist hotel, accomodating a lot of tour groups. So the staff hadn't to be too friendly as the guests come and go daily.

The rooms are not recently renovated (as written on the homepage). The pictures of the rooms must be dated at least 5 or 6 years ago. Furniture does have cracks and spots, but the room is clean.

The garden is nice, the pool unfortunately not heated, so we couldn't use it in February.

The food in the italian restaurant is the worst we ever had at an intalian restaurant. No taste of the spaghettis or lasagne, just like microwave food from the supermarket.

Service in the bar is very friendly, quite different to the rest of the hotel.

The safe didn't work either. The staff said it's a computer problem and will be solved soon, but even after four days the safe didn't work. Remember, they normally have tour groups which stay only for 1 night ... .

No ballpen in the room, no paper or envelopes. Not a lot of shower gel or shampoo, you have to use soap. Towels have seen better times, but are clean.

All in all, not a 4-Star-Hotel, as it is written on the website, But if the rate is ok, you can go for it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlinGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

A friend and I recently went on a minor world trip which had Marrakech on our path for about 3 nights. The Golden Tulip was such a releif, through Expedia, I paid about 55 € per night for two beds and buffet breakfast included. The hotel was very clean, and the back court area is very relaxing. It felt as if we were the only ones there for most of the time. To start my experience, one of the planes from Barcelona to Morocco had problems so we had to share the plane with passengers going to Tangier and make a stop in Tangier so we were 4 hours delayed (I understand they did this because there were so few people flying in each plane). Then they lost my bag in the process. The hotel personal were not the friendliest but I found them much better than the towns people.

I found the people of Marrakech to be the weirdest, rudest, most annoying, and deceitful people of our entire trip. You have to literally talk down the price of everything (Taxi, Meals, etc..) for about 10-20 min before you get a reasonable price. Every corner you turn in the Medina you have a new person following you and talking and then demanding money and it is extremely dirty. It was certainly an experience and one I will remember, but I don't think I will ever return.

On a better note, my friend and I found the landscape out of Marrakech very beautiful and had a slightly better time in Casablanca, but we were there with a person from Casablanca and didnt have to deal with the people. = )

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
Thank brandon_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#247 of 502 in Marrakech
2,430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#266 of 502 in Marrakech
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Andalous
Hotel El Andalous
#392 of 502 in Marrakech
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#375 of 502 in Marrakech
410 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
#455 of 502 in Marrakech
818 reviews
0.4 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Farah Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Farah Marrakech

Address: Avenue President Kennedy | Avenue du Président Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#214 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £36 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Farah Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Farah Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Golden Tulip Marrakech
Hotel Farah
Marrakech Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing