We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad”
Review of Riad Dar Attajmil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Attajmil
Ranked #27 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This was our first time in Marrakech and we chose Dar Attajmil based on TripAdvisor reviews - it was an absolutely wonderful stay. As many others note, it's the perfect oasis from the hustle and bustle of the city - as we were out exploring the city we would reach a point where all we wanted to do was return to the lovely riad and have some tea on the terrace! The owners and staff are so friendly and welcoming - we felt so well taken care of and attended to. We would also highly recommend dinners at the riad. Not only was the food delicious and some of the best that we had in Morocco (real home-cooked tagines, briouates, salads etc.), but the experience is so intimate and personalized - we sat in our own private room (the library) and were waited on hand and foot (as we were throughout our stay) by the charming Hassan, who made us feel right at home. The one night we ventured out for dinner - to one of the restaurants mentioned in all the guidebooks - we found that the service and food didn't even compare to Dar Attajmil. The most remarkable thing about all of this is the price - for such beautiful surroundings and wonderful service, it's a fantastic value for money, as well as a wonderful way to experience Marrakech. Go and enjoy....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peace2494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

Have just completed a brace of 3 day visits to Dar Attajmil with a trip to Oulidia in between. Standard from last year has not dropped even with the loss of the wonderful Nouridin. His replacement Hassan is obviously a fast learner under the tutelage of the remarkable Ibrahim.
As Lucrezia's right hand man Ibrahim runs this riad with the utmost courteous efficiency ... All staff are friendly and respectful and this quality is the topping to this lovely accommodation in marvelous Marrakech.

Room Tip: See if the Tea Room is available... Also try the smaller Nomad Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have stayed at Dar Attajmil a number of times and it never fails to disappoint. The riad is peaceful, beautiful, clean and rooms are lovely. Lucrezia and the staff are friendly, warm and helpful. The riad is also in a great location - close to Djma el Fnaa and Bab Laksour.
I highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metroviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Like many others, this was our first trip to Marrakech and this riad was recommended by some friends.

It didn't disappoint and was absolutely beautiful. We were well looked after, so much so that on the night of my partners birthday when we decided to have a evening meal at the riad, they presented a birthday cake to my partner. It was so touching and simply reflected the care and attention that the staff give to the place and all who stay at Dar Attajmil.

This is a piece of heaven in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the souk. It's very well situated and only a few minutes walk to the main Square.

We will definitely stay here again and I can't recommend it more highly. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I expect all the rooms to be as wonderful as the one we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiFruit_Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our first trip to Marrakech and this was the perfect place to base ourselves. From the welcoming cup of mint tea to the organising of the taxi for our trip to the Mountains, this Riad provided for our every need.
Its location is perfect, right in the heart of the Medieval Medina, less than 5 minutes from the main square and souks. When it all got a bit too much you are able to retreat behind an almost hidden large wooden door into a banana tree filled oasis of calm. The relative smallness of this Riad gives an intimacy that absorbs you in, filling you with such peace.
We ate at the Riad for our first night and were blown away by the flavours (and the size) of the meal. Delicious Moroccan salads followed by a traditional tagine and then dessert.
Hassan, who welcomed us at the edge of the Madina (taxis are unable to get to the Riad) and escorted us through the maze of streets (actually only about 400m but felt a world away) waited on us for the rest of the stay, ensuring that we were perfectly looked after.
The breakfasts were served on the roof with a view of the main Koutoubia mineret and were big enough to set us up for the whole day (although it is near impossible not to graze on nuts and olives as you go around the souks).
Our room was well appointed with an excellent shower room, the only interruption was the morning Adhan that reminded us that we had some more sleep to do!
We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to any who ask.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VandATruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

i stayed 6 nights with my husband at Dar Attajmil We arrived there in the middle of the night At first glance, we were afraid because the street of Dar Attajmil was little dark and small but next day We discovered that the place is very safe. , very close to the mosque el Fna Square There are many shops and super markets around Dar Attajmil , Moroccan decor was beautiful, the furniture was very comfortable ,staff was very Friendly , Nice and helpful ,food was amazing we really enjoyed thank you Lucrezia for this such a wonderful place :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakech you won't find better than Riad Dar Attajmil, we absolutely loved it. It was the ideal oasis in this mad mad city. There are only four rooms, so very intimate atmosphere. Lucrezia and her staff, Ibrahim, Hassan, and the totally amazing cooks couldn't have been more friendly and eager to make sure that we were as comfortable as possible.. The rooms are smallish but very clean with fluffy towels and an array of exotic lotions and potions to use in the shower. Much of the action takes place on the roof terrace where you can eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, or simply relax with a drink and a good book. Notice the word 'drink', it's not that easy to find alcohol in this moslem country but the 'Dar' will always provide you with a cold local beer or a glass of very nice Moroccan wine.
On our last night it was a bit chilly outside so Ibrahim laid out our dinner in one of the small rooms downstairs, he lit the fire and put out scented candles and then served the most wonderful last meal for us. Yum, those artichoke hearts !
As for the city itself, we expected to haggle but we didn't expect to be constantly hassled. We ended up hardly buying anything because even just browsing was such an unpleasant experience. No one will leave you alone and everyone demands money. Don't ask anyone the way or even dare to take anyones photograph because they will ask for money and get quite shirty if they think you haven't given them enough. I know it's a different culture, just takes getting used to I guess.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Emberiza Sahari
Riad Emberiza Sahari
#15 of 499 in Marrakech
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Danka
Riad Danka
#22 of 499 in Marrakech
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 499 in Marrakech
607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#23 of 499 in Marrakech
839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 499 in Marrakech
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Attajmil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Attajmil

Address: 23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#133 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £82 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad right in the heart of old Marrakech. 4 rooms only and a large garden terrace with hammam. Excellent location, central, safe and easy access. Cosy feel and special mentions for the way it's cared for and the surprising cuisine. Last, but not least, the excellent price for what it has to offer. The riad offers an interesting cooking experience with its chef, with shopping in the old food market of Bab Doukkala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar Attajmil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Attajmil Marrakech
Riad Dar Attajmil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing