We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“positive and negative on the balance”
Review of Riad El Sagaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad El Sagaya
Ranked #260 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

If you are looking for a fair price as well as a good place to stay this riad looks a good option.In fact, the riad is really nice. When we booked our room we specified a clean room and actually the room was really clean,and spacious. The riad and its rooms have a traditional moroccon style, so it looks really fascinating. The owner was a nice and kind man and he offered us something to drink when we arrived. We have spent just one night over there and we did not have any breakfast because we left the room very early in the morning. The room was provided of hot water and we managed to have a warm shower (trust me, this is very rare for cheap riads in morocco!); a set of towels ,with different size (another treat that not all the riads reserve to the costumers, according to my experience); soap and pantene shampoo and conditioner (absolutely a rarety!!!). There were a couple of things which i considered unfair: firstly, the riad is located 40 minutes walking from djemaa el-fna, the main square! and the area is not good...however, there are taxis and buses just round the corner. Secondly, we asked to the man at the reception to book for us a taxi at 4.30! and he charged us 100 DH (10 euros) for a very short distance, plus i did not understand why we had to pay at the hotel and not the taxi driver himself, instead.
I guess they planned for a fifty-fifty! Anyway, if compared to our taxi tarifs and also, by considering the time he picked up us, i do not mind. Finally, the room was cold! Unfortunatly, the riads do not have heatings but they only use air-conditioning and even if it was already set to 30 degrees, the temperature in the room was never so warm as a real 30 degrees. however, we managed to sleep by using a big covert. In the room there was also a space to sit with a little table. I suppose it was for people who wish to relax and have their dinner or breakfast in the room. The riad was silent and safe. they give you the look of your door which is the traditional padlock used in morocco. The riad is located close to some little shops. If you need something to drink such as water, yogurt, fruit juice or coca cola (very popular) or some snack, they have a variety. I suggest to ask for the dinner the day before or in the early morning because apparently, they need the guests to book the dinner. We arrived in the evening and we demanded for something to eat but they said the kitchen was closed. this rule must be the same for any riad. Also, there's a possibility to book long trips and excursions at the riad. I marked this riad a 3 score just for the unfair position and the cold, but if you don't mind walking and manage to find a solution for the room, the holiday will be really comfortable at the resort.

Room Tip: As I suggested in my review, demand for a clean and warm room-shower. Always, book the day before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossella91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Youssif and Bushra were kind and thoughful hosts. We had the family suite which was worth the extra. The breakfast was light but OK. This riad is central to everything but is an oasis of calm and quiet when required. We really wish we were not leaving.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidjmortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at Riad El Sagaya with a friend and we love it so much that we continued to go back during our time in Morocco. The riad is a slice of calm amongst the hustle and bustle of the streets of Marrakech, there is a beautiful courtyard with a small pool and a lovely roof terrace. Chambre 5 which came to be known as our room was nice and clean but the real feature was the shower...
The staff are really what made this guest house so nice to stay in. They were so friendly and helpful. We booked our excursion to Merzouga at a bargain price through the riad, they picked us up and dropped us back at the airport and held our luggage whilst we visited other parts of the country.
The riad is right at the Bab Doukalla entrance to the city, a stones thrown from the bus station and within walking distance of the Jardin De Majorelle. It is a 20 minute walk to Djeema El Fna which is just far enough away to get away from the noise but close enough to walk.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondeonamission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Finding tranquility is a challenge in Marrakech, but your ears pop once you enter this Riad. Youssef and his team welcome you with Moroccan tea, even the dog comes to say hi. Youssef's unique design upgrades gives you all the charms of the stylish past with the comforts of modern conveniences (wifi, solar hot water, etc). The terrace is large and perfect for groups to socialize or for the lone reader to hide. There's even a private hammam if you need a good scrub!
Breakfast is provided with the room, and you can also partake in a lovely candle-lit dinner in the courtyard if you ask (menus in the room). The location is scooter-chaotic typical, but close enough to the medina wall that if you turn left you can easily walk a block and escape it all by taxi, or turn right and snake into the souks and the past.
I stayed here a few weeks, so got to know the goings-on, including watching as he prepares for new paint and renovations...stay tuned.

Room Tip: upstairs in the courtyard give you a bit more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaketravelsabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We (3 of us) rented the apartment suite upstairs. It has a master bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and shower. The living room / bedroom had 2 single beds, and 3 sofas. The room was enormous. We were thrilled with this accommodation. This riad is clean and comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast ( and more importantly coffee) was very good. I recommend this place if staying in the medina is what you want. My only word of caution is that it is difficult to find. Local teenagers will offer to take you there for a price, but they just walk you in circles so you'll pay them more when you finally arrive. Its best to bring the address with you and ask a local businessman.

Room Tip: If there are 3 or more staying, ask for the apartment suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Had a most pleasant experience staying in this lovely riad on a recent visit to Marrakech. The staff are so helpful and obliging, nothing is too much trouble for them. Youssef is fluent in English and French and will organise transport, give advice, whatever your requirements happen to be, there is a general feeling that they want your stay to be as good as they can make it. Very happy to recommend this establishment and would definitely stay again on any future visits, the location makes it a good base to be able to walk to the main square, the souks and other 'must see' places but is far enough away from the main areas to get a real feel of general everyday life in Marrakech. As you walk through the very unassuming door from the hustle and bustle of the streets there is an instant feeling of peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: All 9 rooms are individual, some have windows onto the street, some onto the inner courtyard, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulyn_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Spent 3 nights with friends on our first trip to Morroco where we went to find a place that was independent, authentic and well priced. El Sagaya is all that and more as Youssef and his team provide an oasis of calm and an easy transition onto the hurly burly of life in the alleys of closely packed shops and souks full of colour that form the Medina the old part of Marrakech. Each evening we enjoyed coming back and chilling around the pool or on the terrace.

Happy to recommend, would easily go back to El Sagaya for more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipoCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#458 of 501 in Marrakech
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#135 of 501 in Marrakech
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#243 of 501 in Marrakech
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#149 of 501 in Marrakech
345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £27 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Sagaya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing