We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Customer Service, Many Ants!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad El Sagaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad El Sagaya
Ranked #242 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service, Many Ants!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Upon arrival, my girls & I were not impressed at where this Riad was located. Never the less inside is lovely. Every room is different, but our rooms in particular were nice and spacious. I was not impressed by the fact that our bathroom had no door, which meant when showering/using the toilet one could be seen.

Our room upstairs was contaminated with Ants & 1 morning I woke up to see Ants taking over my friends’ bed. Due to this we ended up changings Riads. (Although I must say that when we reported this to Yassen, he informed the cleaners who spent 3 hours thoroughly cleaning our rooms).

The customer service was exceptional (Yassen in particular is very funny, caring, and down to Earth), however the Hotel manager Yussef is useless, and even took his holiday without informing us. In fact, I could go as far as to say that he leaves Yassen to sort all issues out, instead of fulfilling his managerial roles.

If you’re looking for cheap & cheerful (and don’t mind Ants) Riad then this is for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBoansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    65
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
76
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very friendly staff, great location, amazing atmosphere! The roof terrace is perfect to chill out. The room and bathroom were okay value for the money.
Good tajines (although we got a different one than we had ordered).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The riad was a lovely peaceful oasis near the edge of the medina. Yassine the host was absolutely fantastic, pleasant and friendly with a great sense of humour. He had good local knowledge and organised some wonderful trips for us including an amazing one to the desert which was very good value. The other staff were also excellent and we had a couple of lovely meals in the riad. We had a large suite and there was a small pool, a lovely rooftop terrace and a cute little tortoise . Had a great time Marrakesh is a mad but fascinating city.

Room Tip: We booked the Douria suite for four adults which was lovely and very spacious with two bedrooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenobern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We really liked our stay at this riad until we were about to go on our desert trip. We had asked to stay another night once we got back extending our total stay from 4 nights to 5 nights. We were given a verbal yes but a couple of hours later that was changed to a no. We ended up being told that we were being kicked out of the room because he had received a request for someone to stay a further 3 nights and he had to 'protect his business'. We understood that entirely and said we would be happy to change rooms - he could put us in bunks if needed, to which we were told that he was completely full! Then when checked on hostelworld later there was still rooms available! Weird.
Also just so you know.... The tea they offer to make you isn't free and neither is the water they give you. And the overnight desert trip was 600dh when booked from the riad but everyone else on our bus only paid 500dh.
Otherwise a really nice riad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The manager of the riad was welcoming as soon as we arrived, offering us mint tea and conversation (even though he seemed tired-as we had arrived quite late at night). When we declined the mint tea he graciously offered up an apple and we sat around the table discussing sites that we could see the following day- and most importantly how to get to them! Marrakesh is a complex and intense city for first timers and it helps to have a local tell you the do's and don'ts! The riad itself is beautiful, with its internal courtyard which opens out onto the sky. We stayed in the Saliha Double Room which was great- large bed and sofa as well as central air conditioning provided! We had a nice time laughing and joking with Yassine and we appreciated that he did not try to sell/con us into buying some sort of desert package deal (as we had previously experienced). Thanks for the great service and laughs- wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank reeds_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Absolutely gorgeous hotel!! Yassine was such a lovely host and so much fun! We had the best time! If you're looking for a no fuss home away from home this is the place! The only reason that I gave the hotel 'very good' instead of 'excellent' was that there were a few ants in the room... but this was a minor point! Generally the room was very clean!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at Riad El Sagaya for a week, from the 17th March. It's only a 20min drive from the airport which was a great start, as we were tired from the late flight. We were greeted by Yassine who was happy to see us despite the late arrival time, he explained everything to us that we needed to know and made us some fresh mint tea (Moroccan speciality - but you will soon find that Yassine makes the best tea!).

Our room (no.3) was perfect for us; very clean, a double bed, sofa (which we just used for our suitcase etc), a traditional style bathroom with open shower, and a padlock for the door. The Riad itself is a little oasis compared to the mental streets of Marrakech! Once you walk inside the noise disappears and the courtyard is peaceful. The roof terrace was great too, we had a couple of days just relaxing, reading and feeding Carolina the resident tortoise!

The location of the Riad we felt was also perfect, because it's centered in the middle of some famous attractions such as the Majorelle Gardens, Hotel Mamounia and Jemaa el Fna (main square) so everywhere is within 15mins walking distance. There is also a large supermarket just outside the Medina (5mins walk).

Breakfast at the Riad was simple but really tasty - we had pancakes with apricot jam, french bread, fresh Moroccan coffee (ask Yassine to pour it the first time - we did it with only a dash of milk like we are used to in the UK, but its stronger and they serve the milk hot too so its different but delicious) and freshly squeezed orange juice. The oranges in Marrakech are really tasty, they are sweeter and not very acidic.

The service at Riad El Sagaya was brilliant. Yassine always kept us happy, we had to use the telephone a few times to arrange pick up times for trips, he made us tea and coffee upon request, and we had a few nights in with him eating pizza and chatting. His English is great and we've made a friend for life =)
The girls who make breakfast and clean the rooms are also brilliant, very friendly and do a very good job.

We would certainly recommend this as a place to stay in Marrakech. It is within the Medina (old town) so you get to see all the things typical of Moroccan life. Hotels in the Gueliz (new town) looked luxurious but they lack character - you could be anywhere in the world in one of those.
It's also in a good location, and Yassine does a brilliant job working every day of the week non stop!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter - we had a room which had windows to the front - the street gets noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndrewEllis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#227 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#99 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#332 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#200 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#298 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#260 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Property: Riad El Sagaya
Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#153 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Sagaya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing