We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'd need a good reason to go anywhere else...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Nimbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Nimbus
Ranked #174 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wendover, UK
2 reviews
“You'd need a good reason to go anywhere else...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

I needed an economical but comfortable place for me and 2 children - 9 & 10 to give a base for our first soiree into Marrakech - indeed into Morocco, so figured this to be a fair choice: Good price (64 euro's/night), nice sounding people who responded quickly to my e-mail queries and inside the medina - whaterver that was!
The answer to that question, we found, is 'bedlam without cars' as we were dropped off 'somewhere' and some guy grabbed our bag and said 'come'. 4 minutes into the labrynth, we were in 'Dar Nimbus' being greeted warmly by Karim and his staff of cooks and porter. Shown to our uncluttered and comfy room, suddenly 3 strangers in a strange land felt right at home. A great meal was waiting, followed by an OK bed (I retail waterbeds so nothing else quite compares, regardless!)
Our stay was short yet our trip complicated but Karim was just great - checking other riad's in Fez by phone for us, guiding us to places and recommending restaurants - even accompanying us to a fantastic one we'd never have found otherwise.
Ali, the porter was at pains - even though non-English speaking, to ensure we knew our way back to the riad from the local 'town centre' by way of a 5 minute walking lecture. VERY helpful, I assure you.
There are no TV dancing girls, expanses of marble floor, chauffer driven donkeys or insipid corporate pattern repeat rooms here; just nice people who will make you at home in their home. Great terrace on the roof too. Colourful, cool and comfortable. Go check it out! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrioWendover_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    70
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
71
99
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

The riad itself is tasteful and comfortable, but what really makes Dar Nimbus a great place to stay is the amazing staff. It's like staying with loving friends. And the food is excellent! We chose to always have breakfast and dinner at the Riad.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Surrounding streets pourly lit at night
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marcatbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2007

Dar Nimbus was a great experience. I paid 40 Euro for 1 night - value for money - you cant beat. It is very hard to find, but the hotel manager Karim will help you get here.
Here are the tips for Marrakech that I wish I would have read!
1. DONT BUY ANYTHING YOUR FIRST DAY. They are better negitotators than you are and will rip you off. I way over paid for a carpet that I could have got for 1/2 price.
2. EVERYONE will ask you for money. Here is what I started to say "You pay me" - they will ask why? I say because you got to practice your english. Granted I know it is a little snobbish - but it is one way to get them off your back. It gets a little ridicules after a while.
3. negoitate everything in the medina down at least 50%. I mean EVERYTHING (except the food).

It is an awesome place to visit - just be prepared (mentally) for the challenge.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hwje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2007

If you can find this Riad on your own you deserve a gold medal! We reached the Bab Tazgout gate and asked a local to take us to the Riad
for a few coins. Once there tho, the owner does a very good job of directing you back to the gate using lots of local markers (the flower and the hand on the wall, past the 3 small palms, left at the coke sign..!) and we never lost our way after that.

It's in the north of the Medina but it's an easy (fairly direct) 15 minutes walk to the Souks and square. Good points about the riad were the friendly owner, the cleanliness and decor of the Riad, nice terrace and comfy lounge downstairs. The rooms were large and clean.
Bad points, our double bed was 2 singles pushed together so i didnt see my boyfriend during the night! the private bathroom is nice and big but outside the room (so no midnight wee's!) and the shower was a pathetic dribble. It also lacked atmosphere. It's a nice enough place, but it just lacks something. Good value for money, but i doent think i'd stay there again.

  • Liked — Nice large rooms, very quiet too.
  • Disliked — Maybe a bit too quiet. Lacked atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miffy3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2006

One word of warning - the place is hard to find! We got a taxi to the nearest taxi rank in the area, but from then on we had to ask locals for directions, and not many people had heard of it! We were lucky to find someone who knew the owner and took us to the door, which is down a very narrow winding passageway. It might be an idea to ask the guy who owns it to come and meet you somewhere, or give you a good map! Once we found it though it was quite easy to find again, and we walked into the souks and D'Jemma El Fna, which took around 20 minutes - this Riad isnt that close to the centre of the city, but I presume this is what makes the price lower, as everything else was immaculate.

As soon as you go through the heavy wooden door the noise and bustle of the city simply disappears. This is actually two riads joined together, so there are two courtyards with a plunge pool in one and a waterfall thing in the other. There are several salon areas in which to relax, with lots of books in french and some in english, and a cd player etc. The spacious roof terraces are lovely, with shady areas to sit and relax, tables for eating breakfast, and sunloungers for sun-lovers. Its great to get nice and hot then go for a plunge in the icy pool afterwards!

Our room was on the second floor overlooking one of the courtyards. It was very clean and well furnished. We had a private bathroom, although it was outside of our room so you had to walk round to it. More expensive rooms had ensuite bathrooms.

Its a shame that lunch and dinner aren't offered here. Breakfast was lovely though, with a choice of moroccan mint or english tea, with moroccan crepes, bread and jams.

I would definately reccommend this place... the only things letting it down are the distance from the town centre (not massive, but there are lots of places closer) and that they dont do evening food. I'm thinking of a return visit already!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank reindeergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Riad Bayti Marrakech
Riad Bayti Marrakech
#118 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.0 mi away
DadaMouss
DadaMouss
#218 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#102 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aubrac
Riad Aubrac
#190 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#51 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nimbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nimbus

Property: Riad Dar Nimbus
Address: Bab Taghzout - 40 Diour Jdad | Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 24000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nimbus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rooftop terrace and panoramic views of Marrakech’s Old Medina and the Atlas Mountains, this riad features an authentic Moroccan design. Guests can relax in the hammam or in the Spa or cool off in the plunge pool in the patio.The air-conditioned guest rooms at Riad Dar Nimbus are traditionally decorated with colourful Zellige tiles. All rooms have free Wi-Fi and an en suite bathroom, and some include a TV and a fireplace.Moroccan cuisine can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the terrace, and a continental breakfast is served daily. The riad can organise on-site massages, babysitting and visits of the surrounding area.The property is 1.6 km from the Majorelle Garden and 4 km from Bahia Palace. Marrakech – Menara Airport is a 15-minute drive away and an airport shuttle service is available upon demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Nimbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Nimbus Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing