We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find, reasonable price but everything you could want”
Review of Riad Dar Nimbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Nimbus
Ranked #209 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We booked this Riad on the basis of tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The riad is on the outskirts of the medina, but only a 15 min walk to the centre (or a 5 min cab ride for £2 to bab tagzout, which all the cab drivers know) We chose that option mostly on the way home as Marrakech is the most confusing place i have ever been. It oozes charm and has lots of comfy seating areas, a rooftop terrace and a hammam(not to be missed at £9) The room we stayed in was very clean, small but big enough and had an en-suite bathroom and seperate toilet and cost £40 per night including breakfast.
The staff are simply amazing. Karim is the manager and looks after guests with great attention. Ali is his right hand man who even waited out for us when we hadnt returned on time. Samira seems to do everything else including the hammam, which is just fab, and Fatima is the cook who prepares good plain food.
If i return to Marrakech i would not hesitate in booking here again. It was great

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillianweatherburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2009

Positives:
1) Very welcoming and friendly staff
2) Away from the hustle of the main square and souks
3) Great value for money
4) Swift and efficient booking confirmation
5) Nice breakfast
6) Peaceful and calm atmosphere with plenty of areas to lounge around in
7) Clean and tidy rooms and communal areas
8) Free Wi-Fi

Negatives:
1) A long walk (about 20 mins if you don't get lost!) from the Jama al Fina

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IshaqD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

When we came with taxi to Bab tagzout Ali met us and followed us to the Riad. The ambience outside the Riad seemed rather chaotic to us, but at once we were inside the riad we felt like we were i an oasis. Karim showed us our room. It was a beautiful room in morrocan/Marrakech style. On the roof there were many terraces with divans, tables and sunchairs. Everything was perfect. Our teenager who likes to read a lot could relax and read without being disturbed by her parents. The first morning Karim, the chief of the Riad, guided us through the narrow streets and alleys so that we could find our way from and to the Riad the next days. He did it in an excellent way. From now on the ambience outside the Riad not seemed chaotic anymore. The location of the Riad, a bit outside the core of the Medina( 10 to 15 minutes walk to Djema el Fna), was for us an extra bonus experience. We felt that we met the authentic everyday life in the Medina.

Every morning Kebira, the cook, prepared an excellent breakfast for us. She also prepared two dinners for us. Don’t miss Kebiras dinners!
Our favourite was her crepes with apples and almonds.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Placed in the heart of the Medina, you will find an oasisin Marrakesh, a site called Dar Nimbus Riad.
In the living space , seated on a voluptuous bench , filled with an abundance of cushions in warm, bright colors, the visitors could share a veritable moments of relaxation and animated conversations ,enjoying themselves the rules of Arabic hospitality. Kabbira , the good cook of the riad, offered to us mint tea , which is poured with a broad gesture in order to release its aroma. She prepared for us delicious typical morocan dishes: cous cous and lemon chicken. She know by heart the most traditional and refined culinary preparations, tasteful recipes passed down from generation to generation.
Our room was upstairs,with the most exquisite gentleness, the drapery, carpets and lamps preserve the reassuring atmosphere of the Muslim home. The furniture and the tones of the walls contribute greatly to this sense of well-being.
The bathroom was made of "tadelakt", its smooth texture allows yourself to be seduced by the comfort and refinement.
The hammam, a short space of rumours, it represents a moment of leisure at the end of a shightseeing day through the bustling town.Shamira will gives to you an ideal parenthesis of calm .
Ali, the faithful receptionist , discreetly oversees the will-being of the guests.
Karim, the manager,who speaks very well my mother language (Spanish), extended to us a very varm wellcome offering to us his help for anything related to our plans in Morocco. Very helpful, kind and polite person.
Finally, Pierre, the owner, in spite he was not here during our stay, had been very kind to us , replying quickly our mails, and resolving all our doubts about our reservation and means of transport.
Definitely Dar Nimbus is a place to consider if you are planning a trip to Marrakesh.
Thanks a lot. Teresa-Balearic Islands-Spain

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neferibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

it was such a great stay in the dar nimbus. a perfect riad to stay in marrakech. the staff was really great. i also can highly recommend to eat at least once in the riad. the dinner was excellent, like mum is cooking at home. and the lady is so kind and you always get what you want, while asking. whole staff is very, very kind. i don't know any other riad in marrakech at this price level, but, when i once come back ... for sure to the dar nimbus. also the location for me was great. just a little bit outside of the souks, but to reach everything in 15 min.

thanx sooooo much for the great week! ;o)

hope to come back one day!
warm regards
brigitte

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We stayed at the Dar Nimbus and its sister Riad in Essaouira, the Dar Latifa, for 7 nights in Feb. 2009. We were very pleased overall with the Dar Nimbus, the bedrooms and commons areas were modest but very tastefully decorated, giving it a highly authentic Moroccan feel. There are many common balconies, terraces and rooms to sit and relax, making it easy to enjoy the atmosphere privately or chat with other guests. Lots of books and magazines in multiple languages were also put at guest's disposal.

Best of all was the riad staff, who were exceptionally warm and accommodating - they did everything to make us feel at home and attend to our needs and requirements. For example, when we noted that our kids were a bit disappointed that the plunge pool was empty (it had been drained for the colder season but the days were getting warmer upon our arrival), Karim the manager immediately called to have it filled and our kids were in it that afternoon. Also, when I mentioned it was our daughter's 10th birthday the following day Karim brought her a beautiful bouquet of flowers and everyone made her feel very special.

Kébira's cooking is excellent - we loved the breakfasts, mint teas and also had a fabulous dinner at the Dar Nimbus one night. We would highly recommend that you have at least one dinner at the riad.

The only downside of the riad is its location - as others have mentioned it is a bit hard to find (when you first arrive be sure to be met at the airport by a taxi organized by the hotel, then met where the taxi drops you off by the hotel porter who guides you through the pedestrian streets - we did this and it made for a hassle-free arrival). While it is not the most savoury part of town we did however find it to be safe, even after dark. If you are up for a bit of an adventure and you like a more intimate setting this riad offers an authentic Moroccan experience for excellent value. Anyways, if you are not up for adventure I would not recommend that you go to Marrakech in the first place.

As for Essaouira, this beautiful little fishing town is worth the trip for a few days if you have the time (about 3 hours drive from Marrakech). Nice beach, much smaller but cleaner and more relaxed than Marrakech. The Dar Latifa is well-located, right off the main pedestrian street. Nice but smaller - not quite the same atmosphere as the Dar Nimbus.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2travel066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

I needed an economical but comfortable place for me and 2 children - 9 & 10 to give a base for our first soiree into Marrakech - indeed into Morocco, so figured this to be a fair choice: Good price (64 euro's/night), nice sounding people who responded quickly to my e-mail queries and inside the medina - whaterver that was!
The answer to that question, we found, is 'bedlam without cars' as we were dropped off 'somewhere' and some guy grabbed our bag and said 'come'. 4 minutes into the labrynth, we were in 'Dar Nimbus' being greeted warmly by Karim and his staff of cooks and porter. Shown to our uncluttered and comfy room, suddenly 3 strangers in a strange land felt right at home. A great meal was waiting, followed by an OK bed (I retail waterbeds so nothing else quite compares, regardless!)
Our stay was short yet our trip complicated but Karim was just great - checking other riad's in Fez by phone for us, guiding us to places and recommending restaurants - even accompanying us to a fantastic one we'd never have found otherwise.
Ali, the porter was at pains - even though non-English speaking, to ensure we knew our way back to the riad from the local 'town centre' by way of a 5 minute walking lecture. VERY helpful, I assure you.
There are no TV dancing girls, expanses of marble floor, chauffer driven donkeys or insipid corporate pattern repeat rooms here; just nice people who will make you at home in their home. Great terrace on the roof too. Colourful, cool and comfortable. Go check it out! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrioWendover_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Riad Shukran
Riad Shukran
#255 of 499 in Marrakech
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#151 of 499 in Marrakech
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 499 in Marrakech
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#269 of 499 in Marrakech
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Plein Sud
Riad Plein Sud
#147 of 1,172 in Marrakech
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nimbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nimbus

Address: Bab Taghzout - 40 Diour Jdad | Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 24000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £27 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nimbus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rooftop terrace and panoramic views of Marrakech’s Old Medina and the Atlas Mountains, this riad features an authentic Moroccan design. Guests can relax in the hammam or in the Spa or cool off in the plunge pool in the patio.The air-conditioned guest rooms at Riad Dar Nimbus are traditionally decorated with colourful Zellige tiles. All rooms have free Wi-Fi and an en suite bathroom, and some include a TV and a fireplace.Moroccan cuisine can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the terrace, and a continental breakfast is served daily. The riad can organise on-site massages, babysitting and visits of the surrounding area.The property is 1.6 km from the Majorelle Garden and 4 km from Bahia Palace. Marrakech – Menara Airport is a 15-minute drive away and an airport shuttle service is available upon demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Dar Nimbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Nimbus Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing