We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Riad but poorly run”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar Nimbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Nimbus
Ranked #195 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Puylaurens
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Riad but poorly run”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

This riad is in the old part of the medieval town and thus offers a real experience of Medina living for the locals. Very interesting but be prepared for choking car and moped fumes and skilful harassment from the local children and young men who will demand money for simply giving information or directions. The riad is two courtyard houses knocked together and quite pretty. Unfortunately the French owners have delegated it to a local manager who is unaware of the importance of first appearances and welcome. We arrived to an absent manager, a dishevelled reception, very sweet and polite but obstructed by mops and laundry. A French family had taken over the central patio and were occupying it totally. The dining room where we were expected to have supper and breakfast was cold dark and very unappealing. We knew that our large "suite" would be unavailable until the next day but we were unprepared for the claustrophobic and poky nature of the double room offered. The suite was indeed nice and large giving on to a terrace but I would have called it a large room not a suite. It also gave on to a pretty warm sitting room which made our stay comfortable but all the arrangements had to be initiated by ourselves. The staff were friendly and the food simple but excellent. It is relatively good value for money and is probably best appreciated when the weather is warmer but it does need much more careful and attentive management. This riad is in the old part of the medieval town and thus offers a real experience of Medina living for the locals. Unfortunately the French owners have delegated it to a local manager who is unaware of the importance of first appearances and welcome. We arrived to an absent manager, a dishevelled reception, very sweet and polite but obstructed by mops and laundry. The rooms were cold. A French family had taken over the central patio and were occupying it totally. The dining room where we were expected to have supper and breakfast was cold dark and very unappealing. We knew that our large "suite" would be unavailable until the next day but we were unprepared for the claustrophobic and poky nature of the double room offered. The suite was indeed nice and large, giving on to a terrace but I would have called it a large room not a suite. It also gave on to a pretty warm sitting room which made our stay comfortable but all the arrangements had to be initiated by ourselves. The staff were friendly and the food simple but excellent. It is relatively good value for money and is probably best appreciated when the weather is warmer but it does need much more careful and attentive management as all your comfort and local information will depend on DIY rather than be offered. Do NOT take up any of the tours proposed by the manager as they are uncomfortable rides in badly sprung jeeps with a miserable night and a short whip round the sand dunes at a high price. Drive to M'Hamid or Merzouga and find your own accommodation there as it is TOO FAR for a one day trip. .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussytraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    70
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
71
99
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rivalta di Torino, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

We spent New Year's eve here with a group of friends. The rooms, staff and location were amazing! Located in the heart of the city, you would never know it once you step inside. It is a charming quiet "villa" style raid that provides comfort and relaxation in the center of busy Marrakesh! I would recommend this location for couples, families or a group of friends.

We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

Just come back from Marrakech having spent two days in this haven. It was the perfect end to my two weeks of travelling around Marocco. Staff were exceptionally friendly and so helpful and couldnt do enough for me. Decor was so tasteful and beautiful. Open fire in my room was just great. Fabulous food and atmosphere. Definitely an address to recommend. Antoinette

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _mooreantoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed in Riad Dar Nimbus with my partner and 15 month old daugher at the end of Sept. It was very hot in Marrakech but the outdoor spaces and small swimming pool made this the perfect oasis in what can be a hectic city. Karim, Samira, Ali & Fatima were all incredibly welcoming, helpful and friendly. Travelling with a toddler, we had to keep an eye on all the steps but we were provided with a travel cot which meant that we could sleep in the knowledge that she wouldn't escape in the night! The house is beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style and is clean and well maintained. Rooms are great value for money and the small pool is fantastic for cooling off in the hot weather. The main square is about a 20 minute walk away but once you get used to finding your way this isn't a problem. Alternatively you can take a taxi. We'd definately stay here again. Thanks to Karim and his staff!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

This review is late in coming - our visit was in March this year (2010).

Having spent a week climbing in the High Atlas, I met my wife, my daughter and her partner and my grand-daughter (then only 9 months) in Marrakech and we spent 7 nights at Dar Nimbus.

We chose Dar Nimbus from the internet because it looked nice and was slightly cheaper than some of the others. It lived up to its billing in every way. It lies a little way from the central tourist area (but still within the inner walled city) and I do recommend getting a good map of Marrakech before you go. I used the "Rough Guide" one. Dar Nimbus is in grid square H2 near the top end of the un-named street running north south. It is in an area of Marrakech that is not orientated around visiting tourists and we felt that we were in the "real" city.

We had wondered, before setting out, if we should take a push chair with us to Morocco, but decided not to bother in the end. We were delighted and grateful when the staff provided us with one at no charge. (See photo). Exploring to the East brought us to places where there was not a tourist in sight. On these occasions we stuck out like sore thumbs of course - dressed in western garb and wheeling a pushchair!! But we never felt uncomfortable. Indeed for sheer hassle you can’t beat the main square.

The Souks lie about 800m to the South of Dar Nimbus - an interesting walk that will give you a good sense of the local economy. The main square (Jemaa El Fna) is next door to the souks on the south side. Leave the square on its south again and you are in the main tourist accommodation area, and in a different world to the one on Dar Nimbus's doorstep.

Dar nimbus itself was just like an oasis. It was quiet and cool and I slept like a baby (and so did the baby). Our rooms were at opposite ends of a quadrangle on the first floor - There was comfy lounger type seating all the way round the wall so we effectively had all that level of the quad to ourselves - very spacious and private; marvellously relaxing after the hassle and bustle of the city.

When we ate in, the food was excellent - we even had an occasional bottle of wine - not easy to come by in Morocco. Our hosts were always friendly and loved the baby. All in all our week at Dar Nimbus was both stimulating and relaxing and comes highly recommended by us.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

great!!!!! i cant say a bad word about it! the staff are amazing Samina is fantastic. the food oh yeh !!!! the riad it self is amazing, its like going into an oasis the mint tea is really good. i would definately stay here over any hotel. You are about 15 min walking distance to the main square provided you dont get lost, which i will put money on it you will. Be aware that if someone shows you the way back you must give them a little some change as sign of thankyou. and ladies it is only common sense to cover up, i just wore trousers and a tishirt everday and that was fine, but if you are going to go out and were short shorts and singlets well then expect to be stared at and comments made to you. dont forget to bargain people down!! Back on to the RIad, you must stay there!!!!i know i will again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisemPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

I've been in two different riads in Marrakesh. Dar Nimbus was the best price and the best service, with lovely pleople. The rooms are typical and the terraces are great. It has a very small pool. Great breakfeast. The only thing is not so good is the location. Is a bit far from Djeema el fna, considering that you have to walk in small street that will look the same after the sun set down... If is not your first time in marrakesh and you dont´t mine feeling lost, that's ok for you. If you don´t want to get lost (at least for the first days), or you stay closer to djeema el fna or you use the cab, wich in fact is cheap.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMPAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Shaden
Riad Shaden
#208 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Bayti Marrakech
Riad Bayti Marrakech
#110 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aubrac
Riad Aubrac
#160 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#4 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#98 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nimbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nimbus

Property: Riad Dar Nimbus
Address: Bab Taghzout - 40 Diour Jdad | Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 24000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nimbus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rooftop terrace and panoramic views of Marrakech’s Old Medina and the Atlas Mountains, this riad features an authentic Moroccan design. Guests can relax in the hammam or in the Spa or cool off in the plunge pool in the patio.The air-conditioned guest rooms at Riad Dar Nimbus are traditionally decorated with colourful Zellige tiles. All rooms have free Wi-Fi and an en suite bathroom, and some include a TV and a fireplace.Moroccan cuisine can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the terrace, and a continental breakfast is served daily. The riad can organise on-site massages, babysitting and visits of the surrounding area.The property is 1.6 km from the Majorelle Garden and 4 km from Bahia Palace. Marrakech – Menara Airport is a 15-minute drive away and an airport shuttle service is available upon demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Riad Dar Nimbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Nimbus Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing