We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Riad Dar Khmissa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar Khmissa
Ranked #128 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“fantastic”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

a truly wonderful stay. the riad was clean, and the staff was superb. from a timely airport pick-up, to a free upgrade on our room (our first night we were the only guests staying at the riad, so they bumped us up to a suite without any additional charge), to an unexpected but delightful guided tour through marrakech upon our arrival-from vincent the main host. vincent was helpful in pointing out best places to eat in the square, as well as getting us oriented to a city that is easy to get lost in. isham (the evening/overnight host) and layla (kitchen assistant) were extremely personable and kind. and beiga (sp?) the dada and resident chef was fabulous - our first meal, (four courses: two soups, salads, featuring a delicious chicken and olive tagine as the entree, followed by a delightful orange and strawberry iced dessert) was one of the best we had during our two-week stay in morocco.

great location. luxurious rooms. beautiful rooftop terrace. free laundry upon request. tasty food. free wifi. great board games (scrabble!). all in all, a wonderful place to stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerielanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    33
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
45
117
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We just got back from our stay at Riad Dar Khmissa. It was a lovely stay, it was clean, comfortable and they certainly made us feel welcome. The dinner although a tad expensive was delightful. Breakfast is fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Riad was so clean and tidy and in a really fabulous location. It could not be better really safe area and literally 3mins walk to the square. The only downsides are that I booked this thinking there was a swimming pool- there wasnt and that the door bell can wake you up during the night/in the morning. Aside from that I would recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nztolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martignac
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Spectacular experience! Exceeded our highest expectations! A romantic oasis of tranquility, beauty and care in a high-paced city. A real surprise. The perfect location--down a quiet alley, 3 minutes walk to Jemaa, the centre of Marrakesh and 100s of market shops. The management and staff were warm, anticipatory, funny and perfectionist, an amazing combination. The other guests were all enjoyable. Superb decor, excellent meals including lunch and dinner options. Mellow rooftop lounges to read, eat, drink, chat with other guests and snooze.And inexpensive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogergale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This riad was the most helpful hotel I've ever stayed at. It made our trip. The staff is so friendly and helpful, I felt like I was staying with family. They are very accommodating and helpful. Their breakfasts and dinners are delicious and well worth the price. If I ever get a chance to go back to Morocco, I will surely be staying here again. I've recommended it to all of my friends. Also, a great location in the old city.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We had a lovely stay with Vincent and his staff who looked after us really well with tips and suggestions for Marrakech. Great food too if you want an easy evening in rather than facing the crowds which we did on our first night. They even stored after our bags for us as a favour after we checked out when we went off trekking for three days which was a life saver!

The room was lovely, clean and cosy and good value for money. The riad was like an oasis of calm after the hectic streets and in a great location close to the Djemaa, the Bathia Palace and the Saadian tombs. Walking around from here, even at night, was no hassle and there are plenty of areas in the building to relax and have a tea or watch the sunset from the balcony.

The only slight downside was the bathroom in terms of the toilet smelling a bit but as we learnt, this is a problem even in the most expensive of Riads - its Moroccan plumbing!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evansesat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The decor was beautiful. The staff and owners were very helful. The location was great. The price was very reasonable. I could not have asked for more

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This riad is absolutely lovely. The staff is utterly fabulous! Very friendly and fun people with high service managment skills. After a long walk in the burning sun, this riad offers a fresh and quiet "resort", where you can cool yourself off and chat with the staff - or not. This riad completely fulfilled my expectations on romantic and mysterious interior Marrakech style. Each room was individually and chic decorated. Unlike other riad in the same price range, Dar Khmissa offered fresh and clean rooms. The riad is rather intimate and visitors sensitive of sound coming from neighbouring rooms might want to consider staying here. But this is also the only sound you will hear. There is no noize coming in from the streets or market. It´s totally worth it! We liked it so much that we stayed longer and even came back. The price is good, the staff is excellent and it´s 100 m from Djemma el Fna. Unfortunately the nightguard Hassan has moved on and started working in riad Badi. But I think this riad will turn out to be just as lovely as Dar Khmissa.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3TTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#168 of 500 in Marrakech
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#30 of 500 in Marrakech
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Nasreen
Riad Nasreen
#87 of 1,139 in Marrakech
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Slitine
Riad Slitine
#75 of 1,139 in Marrakech
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Choumissa
Dar Choumissa
#647 of 1,139 in Marrakech
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Karama
Riad Al Karama
#90 of 1,139 in Marrakech
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Khmissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Khmissa

Property: Riad Dar Khmissa
Address: 166 Derb Jemaa Lakbira | Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Khmissa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Khmissa will seduce you with its freshness and calme. In the heart of the Medina, close to the famous Jemaa El Fna square, in a neighborhood that is the most authentic and warm Marrakech. You will see the top of his extensive garden terrace throughout the year, the heads of historical work of art marocain. In Riad Dar Khmissa, the art of living is obvious, as well as the art of giving the right to receive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Dar Khmissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Khmissa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing