We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Mediocre Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech
Ranked #144 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had heard great reviews about this Riad so had high expectations. The location is amazing and so close to the markets and anything you need. Abdou made the stay - hands down! He was personable, shared a lot about the location, his background and above and beyond to make our stay perfect. On the other hand, it felt like we were imposing on Vincent. We weren't welcomed by him and felt like he was staying out of our way. The rooms were nicely laid out but not 100% clean. My pillow had several hairs (not mine) and stains on it so appeared not to be clean. The breakfast was not great and we were surprised at no jams/honey on the table. Very basic bread, some sliced cheese, grilled bread and whole oranges. I wouldn't necessarily go back but simply for the location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krukker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaddarkhmissa, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hello Kate,
We just read your comment on trip advisor .
We are saddened that the problems you had during your stay in our house.
I can assure you that this is a mistake and not a fact customary .
All elements of the rooms (sheets, pillowcases , towels etc) are changed after each ride.
I agree that it is unacceptable to have a pillowcase stained even if it is clean , steps were taken to summer
I am surprised that you put 2 for the quality of the bedding , in fact we have changed all our bedsteads and mattresses there are less than three weeks.
I want to tell you that I had a lot of fun to have you in my house , I do not think you have given the opposite impression .
Especially since you Judy had recommended our house.
Regarding the breakfast it is true that lacked jams, as it is manufactured by us , we may rarely be out , this is unfortunately what happened that morning.
By cons there were three kinds of Moroccan pancakes , fresh bread , cheese , ham, butter, fruit juice.
I hope that if you have the opportunity to return to Marrakech you will be our pleasure to come back to us so that we can delete this sad impression.
Plair to hear from you.
Cordially.
Vincent .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

A great find for our accommodation before and after a trek in the Atlas Mountains. Really helpful and friendly staff and the best night's sleep I've had in months (very quiet rooms despite being walking distance from the main square). I hope to visit again one day...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliverd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaddarkhmissa, Gérant at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre message sur TripAdvisor, nous sommes heureux que vous ayez aimés la maison, ainsi que des moments partagés avec vous.
Tout le personnel se joint à mes remerciements
A bientôt de vous revoir.
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

An absolutely stunningly designed and decorated place that is most comfortable and a perfect location. The staff is very friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. We had a beautiful triple room on the ground floor that was the most comfortable nights sleep I had in a week. It opened up into the cozy main room that has several seating nooks and a lovely fire in the fireplace. The roof terrace is fabulous, the breakfast plentiful and delicious. It is situated in the medina far enough off the main drag and the circus of Jemaa el Fna that it is quite and restful. If I ever get back to Marrakech, this is exactly where I'll stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaddarkhmissa, Gérant at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour
Merci infiniment pour ce très gentil commentaire qui nous fait à moi et à toute l'équipe du riad vraiment très plaisir.
Nous continuons à travailler pour améliorer ce qui peux l’être.
Amicalement
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed at the Riad Dar Khmissa for 3 nights the last week of November. This trip was a treat to myself for my birthday and a treat indeed it was.
The lovely Vincent picked me up at the airport and as others have mentioned its well worth it. Vincent pointed out some sites on the drive to the property. I was given a lovely large room which was fantastic. The Riad has a chic but at the same time traditional, comfortable and cosy feel with a log fire(at night).
Not thing was too much for them when I was settle on arrival Vincent sat down and went through the map with me, I'd asking for places I could book a cooking class not knowing they did it at the Riad and instantly it was set up for the next day with Beata who works at the Raid, there was a slight language barrier but it didn't stop us understanding each other . I felt really special, having a private cooking class, the proper traditional way, I was taken to the markets to get all the ingredients then ate what I cooked for dinner which I shared with a lovely couple that was at the Riad at the time pot. I even learned how to make the delicious breakfast pancakes. I also wanted to get a tagine pot and Beata personally took me to a shop to get a really good one away for the tourist traps. Youssef was great as well, always friendly ,having little chats and translating for me.
As others mentioned the Riad is minutes walk away from the main square but without the noise. I had a peaceful night sleep ever night.
I'm female and as mentioned I travelled on my own and I felt safe even when walking back to the Riad at night. I just had the best time. So thank you to Vincent , Michel and his team for making my stay so special, already thinking about coming back later this year :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauricio f, Gérant at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hi Anuska,
Thank you for your review.
The team riad glad you loved stay in our house.
We hope you were able to practice your cooking courses and you have made and some of Morocco in London.
Your joy and good humor we put the sun in the riad.
You review will be a joy for us.
Friendships entire team.
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Agree with the previous reviews - lovely Riad. Close enough to the action of the square, but far enough away to not feel like you're in tourist city.

The staff was very helpful despite our lack of French speaking skills. We had some items we were looking to ship home and they went out of the way to help us wrap them and package them.

Also, the transfer to/from the airport is well worth it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent166, Owner at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Many thanks for your nice comments. We where so glad To have you home. And it was our pleasure to help you throughout your journey with us. Hope To see you back sometime soon.
Many Thanks from michel and the Riad Khmissa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here back in feburary and can't recommend it enough. Sure it is a little tricky to find but you quickly get a feel for the back alleys (that seem to sprawl across Marrakech). Vincent our host was great, helped out get our plans in shape, picked us up from the airport (well worth the fee) and made sure we had a comfortable stay. The location is great just a few minutes walk from the main square. Loved the pancake breakfast and the spread of jams ... try the carrot one!! Honestly, it tasted amazing!! The interior is great, traditional and unique. Great, roof terrace as well, amazing to kick back on whilst sipping mint tea. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Anthony763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaddarkhmissa, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015
Google Translation

Merci infiniment
je suis très content que ce lieux aux milles promesses vous est plu et qu'il est pu contribué à vous faire découvrir cette magnifique ville
Merci pour ce très gentil commentaire qui nous aide sincèrement dans notre travail de tous les jours
Milles mercis
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The level of service we experienced at this riad (courtesy of Youssef) marked it out as an excellent choice - nothing was too much trouble, and the home-cooked meal at the end of our stay was a highlight of our trip to Morocco. Rooms are comfortable, if slightly dark, and we had a slight problem with overflow from the shower, but the excellent service from the staff more than compensated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLEE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaddarkhmissa, Gérant at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2015
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre message sur TripAdvisor, nous sommes heureux que vous ayez aimés la maison, Toute l'équipe du riad vous remercie pour vos compliments et vous transmettent leurs meilleurs souvenirs.
A bientôt de vous revoir.
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#100 of 502 in Marrakech
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#66 of 502 in Marrakech
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Choumissa
Dar Choumissa
#657 of 1,167 in Marrakech
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,167 in Marrakech
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad El Zohar
Riad El Zohar
#14 of 1,167 in Marrakech
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Benbrahim
Dar Benbrahim
#119 of 1,167 in Marrakech
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech

Address: 166 Derb Jemaa Lakbira | Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £60 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Khmissa will seduce you with its freshness and calme. In the heart of the Medina, close to the famous Jemaa El Fna square, in a neighborhood that is the most authentic and warm Marrakech. You will see the top of his extensive garden terrace throughout the year, the heads of historical work of art marocain. In Riad Dar Khmissa, the art of living is obvious, as well as the art of giving the right to receive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Khmissa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing