We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service & solace in manic Marrakech”
Review of Riad Dar Anika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Dar Anika
Ranked #12 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service & solace in manic Marrakech”
Reviewed 13 August 2008

The riad was recommended to us by a friend, and first impressions were good when we were upgraded to the suite when we informed them that we were on our honeymoon. We were collected from the airport and upon our arrival, we were welcomed by Di and Nigel, the English couple that run the riad, with mint tea and pastries.

Throughout, Di & Nigel were very helpful, giving us advice and suggestions to anything we asked them - they even offered to buy some lamps on our behalf and get them shipped to us in the UK.

Our room was beautifully prepared and furnished. Despite its central location, we found the riad pretty quiet. We had a plentiful breakfast on the terrace every day (up to midday if we wanted) and this along with the pool make the riad a very comfortable place to stay.

Di and Nigel go out of their way to ensure their guests' comfort and we would highly recommend this riad to all.

  • Liked — Di & Nigel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rhino1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    53
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
232
661
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2008

My best friend and I were looking for a week away from the pollution, traffic and stress of London and found Marrakech to be the perfect destination and the Riad Dar Anika the perfect location to explore its beauty.

We were looking for a holiday that was not a million miles flight away but offered us more than just a sun-lounger by a pool. Thankfully we found the Riad Dar Anika...

Amongst the hustle and bustle of the vibrant Marrakech sits the gem that is the Riad Dar Anika. There are many pleasant Riads in Marrakech but this Riad truly takes your breath away. You enter into a cool tranquillity, with friendly and very helpful staff and hosts, Diane and Nigel that leave you feeling like a member of the family!!

Diane and Nigel are never too busy to take time out to point you in the direction of the best Tagine around, organise a hire car, and discuss bargaining etiquette in the souks...

No stay is complete without a "Hamman", the fully body scrub in the Riads own beautiful marble steam room leaves you feeling refreshed and de-toxed. Topped off with mint tea, has to be one of the best ways to scrub the London pollution off of you!!

I would go back to the Riad Dar Anika in a heartbeat and have recommended it to all of my friends and family. The hosts Diane and Nigel made our stay so memorable that no other Riad will do!

  • Liked — The hosts, Diane and Nigel and the perfect location
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HarrietPetzold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

This was our return trip to Riad Dar Anika and we had planned it as a chance to go back to a tried and trusted place for relaxation and fun. However, my lovely other half had no idea i had planned to use the trip and the location to propose marriage, which i duly did on an amazing evening during dinner on the Riad roof terrace!! This place will now be forever etched in our memory as will the hotels amazing hosts, Di and Nigel who i am now happy to call friends. Thanx for the time of our lives and you know you will be seeing us again very soon.

  • Liked — absolutely everything!!!
  • Disliked — leaving it!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank villafan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocar982
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Like a scene in a movie, the big double wooden doors open from the Riad Dar Anika, and you step into the heart of Marrakesh. The Riad Dar Anika is run by a down to earth English couple, and the staff including the managers are Morrocan who are attentive, friendly and helpful. The service is first rate. We recommend staying Riad Dar Anika and would definitely stay again.
The Riad Dar Anika is located on a direct shopping alley leading to the main square the Jemaa el Fna where all the action is. If you want to get see, smell, taste, hear Marrakesh, stay inside the Medina (old city) vs. outside in a big resort.
The Riad Dar Anika has all the comfort and atmosphere to feel you are in your own palace.
The Riad Dar Anika has a beautiful white tile/marble open courtyard and is decorated in African/Moroccan style with stain glass windows and candle lanterns everywhere.
We ate the complimentary breakfast every morning on the terrace decorated with big comfortable chairs and tables in the big canvass tent or with big shaded umbrellas. We watch the action outside from our bathroom window. We also ate dinner the first evening even after I ask pass the courtesy deadline. (Since this a small place, they want you let them know early.) The manager, Noreddine, called the local chef who came during a hugh storm!! This dinner was service in the lounge where a private table with candles was set up just for us. The food was excellent and service was courteous.
Complimentary amentiies include free wireless, bottle water, breakfast, pick up/drop off car service.

Thank you Riad Dar Anika, Bob and Carol

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, friendliness, service, decor
  • Disliked — Can't drink the tab water!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ocar982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Never been to Marrakech before and read an article in my local paper about a couple who had upsticks and gone to run a riad in Marrakech. The article read well and as they were from the same county, I thought I would give it a whirl. Glad I did. They are a very friendly, helpful, happy, knowledgable pair who go that extra mile. Excellent food and friendly service from the local staff.

  • Liked — Peaceful apart from birdsong
  • Disliked — A little dark
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-east
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Extremely comfortable, excellent service and food. Could not wish for better. Will come again, without hesitation! *****

  • Liked — Airy and comfortable
  • Disliked — Can't fault it!
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Macjazzsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

the riad dar anika has a good location to the main square ,
and all local sights ,nice decor,small pool,

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank montechester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,685 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
2,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,250 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 500 in Marrakech
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Anika

Property: Riad Dar Anika
Address: Riad Zitoun Kedim No 112 | Madina, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Anika 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar anika welcomes you to Morocco, a luxurious and intimate boutique riad situated at the entrance to the old souk and close to the Djemma el Fna.With 12 rooms, individually styled with flair and imagination, a swimming pool and hammam, we believe we offer a truly personal experience, a home away from home where guests can relax in an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside.From the very moment you step through the heavily carved door of Riad dar Anika our staff are on hand to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Every fine detail has been thoughtfully considered from the crisp bed linen and fresh flowers to our authentic Moroccan cuisine. Our roof terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the sun or evening drinks, affording total privacy and stunning views over the surrounding city and Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Dar Anika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Anika Marrakech
Riad Dar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing