We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll love it.”
Review of Riad Ariha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Ariha
Ranked #128 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You'll love it.”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This was a very special riad, with the most helpful and friendly staff. Amina was just wonderful and she even rode with us to the airport to make sure we had no problems,
The cook, the waiter, and the maid were all sweethearts.
When you arrive it can be hard to find and even a litlle scary as you walk down the alleys, but after a day or so you'll know the way and realize you need not have any fears. Pay no attention to the boys who say the road is closed or will show you the way. I always told them I knew the way and that they could pay me. It made it fun We met lovely people at the Riad from Germany and all went places together. It became a delightful adventure and a placet to make friends. Ask Amina anything and she will be very helpful. I truly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurersyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    60
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
184
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
olympia, wa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We had the pleasure of staying our entire 5 days in Morocco at the Riad Ariha. After searching and finding many options we chose this riad and it was a great choice. The room (Oleander) was lovely and had a private staircase for entry, a shower and safe. The view of the courtyard was accompanied by aromas from the kitchen that invited our apetites to many scrumptuous meals. Location was quiet and in the old medina, a short walk from everything yet away from the bustle and noise---easy to retreat and rest in safety and security. A terrace and rooftop plus a hamman are available to complete any travelers' needs. But by far and away the stay was highlighted by a most attentive staff. Our hospitable greeting and first mint tea followed an airport pickup and the cart wheeling through a maze of passages, all assisted in arrangements by the owners at the time of our reservation. We had WONDERFUL meals, bottled water on request, and assistance in planning our daytrips and exploration. There was always something just a little more than we ever expected, from the rose petals, to the lighting, to the help rendered by staff and ownership. This was genuine personal care and it made our Moroccan experience outstanding. Beyond the smiles, the service, and the hospitality, we left with hugs and warmth in our hearts. Thank you to the staff and Alshallah...

Helpful?
Thank willieronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2009

My brother and I stayed at Riad Ariha for 4 nights in feb 09, and I can honestly say its the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in... we arrived to a smiling face (Amina) and mint tea in the courtyard.. the room was clean, quiet, stylish and well equipped, but the nicest part was the friendly service, advice and help with where to go (from which food stall in the square to an atlas mountain trip) Bader, the owner really made the trip for us, with his interesting conversation and help. We were shown around his newly purchased 'Riad Indigo', which looked stunning, and undoubtably will offer the same excellent level of service as Ariha. I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyhoneyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Many pluses:
Beautiful interior.
Great hosts. Great cook and concierge-level service.
Quiet street.

One choice you have to make is whether you want to be next to the main market (noisier) or farther away, like this is riad is, for a 10-minute walk. If you have to be next to the market, this is not the spot.

If you have the size party/money to rent the entire riad, do so. Riads have central courtyards so any noise will translate.

We thought the food and service was great. The food was better than what he at restaurants (and more convenient). From dealing with Royal Maroc (good luck!) to hiking guides, the hosts could not be more helpful. When we left at 4 am they both made us a breakfast and woke to help us.

  • Liked — Service.
  • Disliked — Distance of walk to market
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whsy82seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

This riad is in the medina, but is not right next to the Djemaa El Fna, or the souks. This suited us fine as it is quieter, though it is a longer walk, you can follow the roads quite easily and we started recognising roads and routes pretty well after our first day. It is about 15mins to the main square, through the crazy streets of Marrakesh - dodge donkeys, motorbikes, bicycles, taxis, cars and pedestrians!

We had a taxi arranged for us to and from the airport, and a porter guided us to the door the night we arrived. The riad is lovely; beautifully restored (tadelakt surfaces in the bathroom!) and very peaceful. There is a nice view of the Atlas Mountains and the Koutobia from the terrace, where you can have breakfast in the mornings.

Dinner was at the riad the night we arrived. The portions are absolutely *huge* and it was all delicious. In fact, the food in Marrakech was good generally through our 4 day stay there. The managers were always smiling and cheerful, though I found Amina more helpful than Abdul wrt suggestions, maps, plans, etc. They were both lovely, and very nice - nothing was too much trouble. There was always prompt response to my email requests and questions, and they also helped us confirm our bookings at the hammam and restaurant on Christmas Day. Amina also helped my partner brush up on his Moroccan, giving him a few useful sentences to use in the souqs.

Our room was Oleander, up a private stair case in the corner of the riad. The furnishings are plain, but the overall aesthetic is very pleasing, and calming, with a glass lantern throwing light and shadows everywhere, cool white walls and a tall ceiling. There was a safe in our room, which we made use of, especially as the room to our door could only be secured by a simple bolt. The riad provides towels, though if you are picky you might want to bring your own - they were quite rough and ready. Bring your own toiletries as well, and if you use soap, utilise the soap dishes provided so you don't destroy the delicate plaster in the bathroom.

The winding alleys of the medina did not feel dangerous at all in the daytime; two boys playing in the street in front of the riad spoke to us in French one morning but as we didn't understand him, he swore at us in English instead. We just ignored him. The shopkeepers will start saying hello after awhile, which is nice as well; an "asalaam-muleykum" in return was greeted with delighted surprise.

Late at night it can be a little more intimidating - we saw a youth concealing two knives behind his back walking in front of us one night after coming back from dinner. There were still some men hanging around the streets, so we were not alone and I am given to understand that plains clothes policemen patrol the medina regularly.

In terms of lushness, there are other places more luxurious but Riad Ariha had a good balance of value, quality, service and location overall.

  • Liked — Away from the main tourist area; lovely roof terrace
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank silverwolf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

This riad is absolutely beautiful, I loved it!
It is cozy and clean and there are only 5 rooms, all are beautiful, with private bathrooms and good showers with hot water.
There is a hang out area (sofas) on 2nd floor and on the top terrace - perfect for relaxation. Breakfast is served outside - whenever you get up - and overall the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
You can easily walk down to the main square - Djerma el fna - in about 15 minutes - where tons of restaurants are located as well as the souks and nightly entertainment.
The taxis will drop you off approx. 5-10 minutes walk from the riad - and there are porters that can help with luggage for a small tip - the labyrint to the hotel is something I really love about Marrakesh, and the people soon started recognizing and greeting us on the narrow streets - it was like walking into a fairytale.
Taxi from airport to riad costs 100 MAD, tip for porters should be 10-20 MAD. We stayed 2 nights at the riad and had a 4 star hotel booked in Gueliz the last night - and I can assure you that the old town/medina is the place to stay (where Riad Ariha is located) - and riad is thee type of accommodation you should go for in Marrakesh - it is a unique experience and just as high standard as the hotels.

  • Liked — The athmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing here not to like
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeinthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

The turn by turn direction given to the riad were excellent. Upon walking in we were amazed by how clean this place was. When we first arrived we were greeted by owner Barbara and her husband, and they spent over half an hour explaining to us the location and how to get around to different places (such as the supermarket) over tea and sweets. After they learned that we were interested in taking a cooking class but was not able to find a space, they managed to arranged one for us in the riad itself. And the food there was the best we've had in Morocco.

Besides being quiet and clean, one big draw for us staying in a riad like this is the personal touch you get. The riad only has 6 rooms, so you really get to know the staff and other guests.

  • Liked — personal attention
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bokchoi503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#60 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#240 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#48 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#70 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#164 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#120 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ariha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ariha

Property: Riad Ariha
Address: 90, Derb Ahmed Elborj - Sidi Ben | Slimane, Kaa Sour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ariha 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience another way of living—without forsaking modern comforts. Riad Ariha, a boutique hotel run as a maison d’hôte/B&B, situated in a residential quarter of the old city/medina of Marrakech offers individually decorated rooms, a soothing sanctuary after the tumult and colours of the souks. You are greeted with a friendly smile, Moroccan mint tea and pastries and lots of other goodies.Riad Ariha has five bedrooms, each with its own bathroom with shower. Your room also has a complimentary private safe, individually-controlled air conditioning and heating. There is a bottle of mineral water provided in your room upon your arrival. Free WiFi/high-speed internet on the premises. Freshly prepared breakfast every day, included in the room price.You will enjoy the organic toiletries by Nectarôme – wafting the aromas of the orient as you bathe: orange blossom, lavender, rose, lemon verbena.Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy our spa facilities, perhaps a relaxing hammam, massage or beauty treatment . Savour Moroccan dishes, including vegetarian dishes, freshly prepared by Khatija.Plunge pool in the courtyard.24-hour reception. We are flexible about early check-ins and late check-outs. Luggage can be left for those taking short side trips.Ideal for family reunions or getting together with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Ariha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ariha Marrakech
Riad Ariha Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing