We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect refuge from the hustle and bustle of the medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Ariha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Ariha
Ranked #118 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
bermuda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect refuge from the hustle and bustle of the medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

My two daughters and I spent several delightful days at this exceptional Riad. It was a perfect retreat from the heat , noise and of course, fun of the medina. The staff were gacious and kind and the room ( Jasmine) was perfect for the three of us. The bathroom was spacious and elegant and squeeky clean. The air conditioning was a joy in July and provided a relaxed night's sleep, which encouraged us to get up , enjoy a delicious breakfast in the courtyard and then head off for a day of adventure. At the end of our stay, we were dying to explore more of Morocco .The staff introduced us to "Mr.Mohamed " He devised a splendid round trip tour for us, over the High Atlas mountains , out to the desert , down through the south and up the Atlantic coast. We had the time of our lives! We can't wait to come back!
My only piece of advice to other guests, would be to order a meal in the Riad on the evening that you arrive. We ventured out into the Ja El Fna to eat .Trying to find our way back home again through the back streets that night was stressful....save that experience for daylight hours!
That being said, whenever I feel stressed in my daily life, I will visualise myself back in the candle-lit courtyard of the Riad Ariah, sipping mint tea and dipping my toes in the pool..... bliss!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    60
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
183
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

My wife and I spent only a few nights here but found it to be an amazing place. Marrakech is such a wonderful city and Riad Ariha is right in the old city. The streets reminded us of Venice where you can just wander for hours and get totally lost but not be concerned at all.

We arrived in Marrakech by train from Casablanca but didn't have the instructions with us from the owner Barbara which I now realise are so helpful. We ended up paying more than we should have for the taxi to the Riad but what's a few dollars. When we were first taken to the Riad we wondered how we would ever find it again but after coming and going a few times we did get our bearings. Found it was always harder coming back.

When we were there it was school holidays so there were an abundance of young children willing to show you the way to the markets or your Riad. All of the boys that we met were very friendly but they always want some dirhams for helping you, sometimes it's definitely worth it...especially if you're lost!

The actual Riad is beautiful with only a handful of rooms. The room we stayed in is the smallest but it is definitely large enough for two and has everything you need including air conditioning - very good in summer!! The two owners are extremely nice and friendly and are all too willing to assist with places to go and things to see.

The night time meals available within the Riad are amazing. You start with a soup and bread and then we had the vegetarian tajine, both were extremely tasty and the servings are huge! For dessert we had beautiful fresh honey dew which was so sweet, much nicer than the honey dew we get in Australia.

Overall we had a wonderful time and were very sad we couldn't spend longer. We definitely plan to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
düsseldorf
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

i travelled with my mother to marrakech and we booked the riads without knowing what we could expect. riad ariha and riad indigo belong to the same owners, a friendly, interesting and international couple. both places have a wonderful architecture and are best situated in the medina of marrakech. everything is unbelievable clean and comfortable. in riad ariha we had the best tajine of marrakech. every guest should try it!!!!! riad indigo is pretty new and an oasis in white with beds which make you feel like sleeping in heaven. in both places you find silence and relaxation and you can hide for a while from the noisy city of marrakech. the staff is very, very friendly, helpful and attentive. if anyone plans to travel to marrakech go to one of these two riads and you will have a perfect time for sure! thank you again for the wonderful time we had with you, dear riad crew!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karibik321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, 10 July 2009
Thank you for this lovely review. Just one point that these reviewers were unaware of - namely, that we have been obliged to change the name of Riad Indigo - and it is now known as Riad Chi-Chi, www.riadchichi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

This was a very special riad, with the most helpful and friendly staff. Amina was just wonderful and she even rode with us to the airport to make sure we had no problems,
The cook, the waiter, and the maid were all sweethearts.
When you arrive it can be hard to find and even a litlle scary as you walk down the alleys, but after a day or so you'll know the way and realize you need not have any fears. Pay no attention to the boys who say the road is closed or will show you the way. I always told them I knew the way and that they could pay me. It made it fun We met lovely people at the Riad from Germany and all went places together. It became a delightful adventure and a placet to make friends. Ask Amina anything and she will be very helpful. I truly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurersyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympia, wa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

We had the pleasure of staying our entire 5 days in Morocco at the Riad Ariha. After searching and finding many options we chose this riad and it was a great choice. The room (Oleander) was lovely and had a private staircase for entry, a shower and safe. The view of the courtyard was accompanied by aromas from the kitchen that invited our apetites to many scrumptuous meals. Location was quiet and in the old medina, a short walk from everything yet away from the bustle and noise---easy to retreat and rest in safety and security. A terrace and rooftop plus a hamman are available to complete any travelers' needs. But by far and away the stay was highlighted by a most attentive staff. Our hospitable greeting and first mint tea followed an airport pickup and the cart wheeling through a maze of passages, all assisted in arrangements by the owners at the time of our reservation. We had WONDERFUL meals, bottled water on request, and assistance in planning our daytrips and exploration. There was always something just a little more than we ever expected, from the rose petals, to the lighting, to the help rendered by staff and ownership. This was genuine personal care and it made our Moroccan experience outstanding. Beyond the smiles, the service, and the hospitality, we left with hugs and warmth in our hearts. Thank you to the staff and Alshallah...

Helpful?
Thank willieronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

My brother and I stayed at Riad Ariha for 4 nights in feb 09, and I can honestly say its the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in... we arrived to a smiling face (Amina) and mint tea in the courtyard.. the room was clean, quiet, stylish and well equipped, but the nicest part was the friendly service, advice and help with where to go (from which food stall in the square to an atlas mountain trip) Bader, the owner really made the trip for us, with his interesting conversation and help. We were shown around his newly purchased 'Riad Indigo', which looked stunning, and undoubtably will offer the same excellent level of service as Ariha. I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyhoneyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

Many pluses:
Beautiful interior.
Great hosts. Great cook and concierge-level service.
Quiet street.

One choice you have to make is whether you want to be next to the main market (noisier) or farther away, like this is riad is, for a 10-minute walk. If you have to be next to the market, this is not the spot.

If you have the size party/money to rent the entire riad, do so. Riads have central courtyards so any noise will translate.

We thought the food and service was great. The food was better than what he at restaurants (and more convenient). From dealing with Royal Maroc (good luck!) to hiking guides, the hosts could not be more helpful. When we left at 4 am they both made us a breakfast and woke to help us.

  • Liked — Service.
  • Disliked — Distance of walk to market
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whsy82seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#57 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#235 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#48 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#70 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#158 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#119 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ariha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ariha

Property: Riad Ariha
Address: 90, Derb Ahmed Elborj - Sidi Ben | Slimane, Kaa Sour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ariha 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience another way of living—without forsaking modern comforts. Riad Ariha, a boutique hotel run as a maison d’hôte/B&B, situated in a residential quarter of the old city/medina of Marrakech offers individually decorated rooms, a soothing sanctuary after the tumult and colours of the souks. You are greeted with a friendly smile, Moroccan mint tea and pastries and lots of other goodies.Riad Ariha has five bedrooms, each with its own bathroom with shower. Your room also has a complimentary private safe, individually-controlled air conditioning and heating. There is a bottle of mineral water provided in your room upon your arrival. Free WiFi/high-speed internet on the premises. Freshly prepared breakfast every day, included in the room price.You will enjoy the organic toiletries by Nectarôme – wafting the aromas of the orient as you bathe: orange blossom, lavender, rose, lemon verbena.Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy our spa facilities, perhaps a relaxing hammam, massage or beauty treatment . Savour Moroccan dishes, including vegetarian dishes, freshly prepared by Khatija.Plunge pool in the courtyard.24-hour reception. We are flexible about early check-ins and late check-outs. Luggage can be left for those taking short side trips.Ideal for family reunions or getting together with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Ariha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ariha Marrakech
Riad Ariha Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing