We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful taste of Marrakech and the Kasbah”
Review of Riad Daria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Daria
Ranked #207 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed for four nights, very welcoming and accomodating. You do need to be prepared to walk for 15 -20 minutes up to the main centre of the Medina. Though through small thoroughfares that are part of the Medina anyway we did not feel in the slightest unsafe.
Good breakfast that were available at anytime to suit our needs and not theirs, even were able to sample the Moroccan wine, which we would recommend anyone to try.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2009

This is a lovely Riad with friendly staff, BUT it is a long 25 minute walk to the main part of Marrakech through a very poor district with virtually no other tourists. This walk did not feel safe at night.

The inner courtyard of the Riad was covered with plastic sheeting which really impacted on the ambience of the central courtyard and roof terrace. The pool mentioned on their website is very small, in the reception area and purely for show.

As an alternative, I would strongly recommend staying at one of the large tourist hotels just outside the city walls and get the "Riad experience" by booking a traditional dinner in one of the many Riads near the centre. I think most travellors would welcome a dip in a swimming pool and chilling out round a hotel bar after a day in the dust and hussle of Marrakech. Price wise the large hotels are often cheaper than this Riad, and closer to most of the tourist attractions.

Apologies to the manager and staff at Riad Daria but we would really have appreciated such information prior to planning our trip. I hope this helps others in planning their trip to Marrakech.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank B16kly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This was the first stop during on our Morocco holiday. We had a huge room - a suite in fact - that was reasonably priced given how well-appointed and handsome it was. It included its own little courtyard with a wrought-iron trellis / cupola through which you could stargaze of an evening.

The building is very handsome indeed - quite plain from the outside but beautifully designed and laid out around a central courtyard containing two gorgeous mature orange trees. Fantastically authentic North African style!

The hotel staff were helpful, informative, well-trained and friendly. The food, although not necessarily cheap, was simply excellent and the entertainment during the 'Royal Couscous' evening was great fun.

The location is a bit surprising - very much in the Medina, surrounded by a maze of tiny streets and some quite run-down areas. This is, however, Marrakech, not Chelsea.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

A beautiful riad with excellent service and food. The rooms (at least our suite) was so romantic. And breakfast on the rooftop is amazing. Definitely a must for a romantic sejour in Marrakech. Only drawback, it is a good 20 minutes walk from the "sights" of Marrakech.
They do give good advice for restaurants and shows though.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank le_fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Riad Daria is situated in a little side street in the Medina, or old part of Marrakesh. As the other reviews all state, it is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our room was superb - it opened out on to the enclosed ground floor terrace and was large, comfortable and cool. The one slight problem was that the water did not drain away quickly enugh in the shower and therefore we had to keep turning the shower on and off to avoid a mini flood. The staff were very unobtrusive but friendly and helpful and placed great emphasis on the fact that the riad was our home, we could do what we liked when we liked and they were there to facilitate this.

The breakfasts were fine and as we expected to eat in Morocco. We did have dinner there on two nights and were not particularly impressed with it. Both times soup was served as a starter which was fine but the main meal was not very good. I realised that the day staff prepared the tagines and the person on night duty re-heated them. On both occasions, the meat was quite tough and not falling to pieces as it should in a tagine. Desserts were also non descript. (The three course meal was approx. £20.00 per person). However, the pleasure of eating in a beautiful candlelit courtyard surrounded by orange trees more than made up for this!
We did have a problem as neither credit or debit cards are accepted at the riad and we had the annoyance of having to try and work out our final bill and make sure we had enough cash to pay for it. The nearest cashpoint was about a 25minute walk away. It also meant that we took too much cash out to make sure we covered ourselves and then had the inconvenience of trying to change it back at the airport.
I would describe the Riad Daria as a real haven in the middle of the hustle,noise and dirt of Marrakesh. My over riding memory of it was standing on the beautiful top terrace early one evening and watching the storks fly back to their nests.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MallonEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

What a fabulous Riad. WE went with a big group and took the Riad over (Simpsons Travel Charlie!!) for a friends 50th celebration. From start to finish the stay was brilliantly organised and the staff couldn't do enough for us especially Sobha, Rashid and Khaled. My son had an asthma attack in the early hours one morning and Sobda pulled out all the stops to get him seen by a paediatrician. She was not only lovely but organised our outings eg Atlas Mountains, Nikki Beach, day at a Hotel Pool etc with utmost precision. The lunches that were laid on were delicious as were the evening 'Tagines' and all very reasonably priced. The Riad itself was beautiful - everything worked including the airconditioning which was imperative in the extreme heat (46 degrees C and 80% humidity - do not go in July!!!). All in all a great time made better by the staff. Would definitely recommend to anyone...

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mollyblack57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

the riad was beautiful with the rooms centred around a courtyard with orange trees, a tiled floor and a small fountain. There's multiple places to sit and relax including a small plunge pool area, the courtyard, a TV room, a roof top terrace with loungers, a sitting room and another terrace surrounding the courtyard. The different areas were very good because they meant you could pick a temperature to be at - essential in marrakech in June. We used all the areas at different times.

We had two rooms - the superio room and the privilege suite. Both rooms were nicely decorated, had air conditioning and were very comfortable. The decoration is traditional moroccan without being being too over the top. The privilege suite was larger and had it's own little courtyard / terrace with a table and chairs.

The whole riad was incredibly quiet and relaxing after the noise and bustle of the streets. We could occasionally hear the call to prayer but none of the street noise penetrated into the riad.

The breakfasts were served on the terrace and included bread, fresh orange juice, coffee, dairylee cheese triangles, 3 types of jam, honey, one of three kinds of pancake and cake or yoghurt. Nice substantial breakfast to set you up for the day but you don't get any choice and there's no english tea (although this is the same most places in morocco - go to the jardins majorelle if you really need tea).

The riad was about twenty minutes walk from the centre which was fine the first few days but got a bit boring by the third day by when I wanted to see some different roads on the way. It is close to the saadien tombs and the El-Badi palace though both of which were worth the visit although they were 1-2 hour visits rather than whole day trips.

The service was good, they arranged anything we wanted including taxis, coffee and mint tea at any time of the day. They also offered to arrange excursions but we didn't stay long enough to want to leave marrakech and so didn't use this facility. The staff worked hard and were fairly friendly but were more unobtrusive and efficient - not really a place to make friends with the locals but perfect to make your stay relaxing.

All in all it was good value for money although we did haggle over the price of the room and got a discount. I would definately recommend it.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank chq02lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#171 of 499 in Marrakech
268 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Les Ambassadeurs
Hotel Les Ambassadeurs
#325 of 499 in Marrakech
32 reviews
0 mi away
Palm Menara Hotel Marrakech
Palm Menara Hotel Marrakech
#328 of 499 in Marrakech
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#248 of 499 in Marrakech
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#72 of 499 in Marrakech
223 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#192 of 499 in Marrakech
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Daria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Daria

Address: 186, derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#136 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Daria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Daria is a very charming guest house the heart of the Kasbah in a quiet neighbourhood. Originally an old palace owned by the King's family, it has been lovingly renovated in the traditional Hispano-Moresque style of architectural, retaining many of its authentic features and is now a luxurious riad with five rooms and two suites, and is easily accessed by car. Accommodation 2 suites of 65m2 with chimney place, small dressing room and private patio, 3 spacious rooms of 22m2, each with room for an extra single bed, 2 rooms of 12m2. Riad Daria has two floors: The Ground floor patio-garden with: - A large and light lounge, - A dining room which can be converted into a meeting room, - Two large rooms and a suite with four-poster bed -Two patios, one with splash pool, the other with a fountain and shaded by orange-trees. The first floor with: - Three delightful rooms, two of which are inter-connecting, - A large sunny suite with an open-air cupola, which is covered in the winter, - A television lounge with satellite TV. A very large terrace with orange trees and flowers, and some private spaces, where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views of the Atlas Mountains and the Koutoubia mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Daria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Daria Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing