We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet”
Review of Riad Daria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Daria
Ranked #220 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We spent one night at this beautiful Marrakech Riad with the bedrooms facing inwards towards the lemon trees in the central courtyard - an oasis of calm and coolness in the frenetic last night of Ramadan in Morocco.

Room Tip: One room we looked at had what seemed a rather small double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

This is a beautiful example of a restored authentic Riad. The rooms are positioned around the central and majestic courtyard, shaded by fragrant orange trees. All the rooms are individually designed in traditional Moroccan colours and textiles, and ours had the most incredible stone fireplace. The Riad is conveniently close enough to Djamaa El Fna to walk to, but far enough away to escape the noise. It's also far enough away so that you can lose yourself for an hour in the narrow lanes of the city, whether intentional or not!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed for four nights, very welcoming and accomodating. You do need to be prepared to walk for 15 -20 minutes up to the main centre of the Medina. Though through small thoroughfares that are part of the Medina anyway we did not feel in the slightest unsafe.
Good breakfast that were available at anytime to suit our needs and not theirs, even were able to sample the Moroccan wine, which we would recommend anyone to try.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

This is a lovely Riad with friendly staff, BUT it is a long 25 minute walk to the main part of Marrakech through a very poor district with virtually no other tourists. This walk did not feel safe at night.

The inner courtyard of the Riad was covered with plastic sheeting which really impacted on the ambience of the central courtyard and roof terrace. The pool mentioned on their website is very small, in the reception area and purely for show.

As an alternative, I would strongly recommend staying at one of the large tourist hotels just outside the city walls and get the "Riad experience" by booking a traditional dinner in one of the many Riads near the centre. I think most travellors would welcome a dip in a swimming pool and chilling out round a hotel bar after a day in the dust and hussle of Marrakech. Price wise the large hotels are often cheaper than this Riad, and closer to most of the tourist attractions.

Apologies to the manager and staff at Riad Daria but we would really have appreciated such information prior to planning our trip. I hope this helps others in planning their trip to Marrakech.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank B16kly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This was the first stop during on our Morocco holiday. We had a huge room - a suite in fact - that was reasonably priced given how well-appointed and handsome it was. It included its own little courtyard with a wrought-iron trellis / cupola through which you could stargaze of an evening.

The building is very handsome indeed - quite plain from the outside but beautifully designed and laid out around a central courtyard containing two gorgeous mature orange trees. Fantastically authentic North African style!

The hotel staff were helpful, informative, well-trained and friendly. The food, although not necessarily cheap, was simply excellent and the entertainment during the 'Royal Couscous' evening was great fun.

The location is a bit surprising - very much in the Medina, surrounded by a maze of tiny streets and some quite run-down areas. This is, however, Marrakech, not Chelsea.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

A beautiful riad with excellent service and food. The rooms (at least our suite) was so romantic. And breakfast on the rooftop is amazing. Definitely a must for a romantic sejour in Marrakech. Only drawback, it is a good 20 minutes walk from the "sights" of Marrakech.
They do give good advice for restaurants and shows though.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank le_fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Riad Daria is situated in a little side street in the Medina, or old part of Marrakesh. As the other reviews all state, it is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our room was superb - it opened out on to the enclosed ground floor terrace and was large, comfortable and cool. The one slight problem was that the water did not drain away quickly enugh in the shower and therefore we had to keep turning the shower on and off to avoid a mini flood. The staff were very unobtrusive but friendly and helpful and placed great emphasis on the fact that the riad was our home, we could do what we liked when we liked and they were there to facilitate this.

The breakfasts were fine and as we expected to eat in Morocco. We did have dinner there on two nights and were not particularly impressed with it. Both times soup was served as a starter which was fine but the main meal was not very good. I realised that the day staff prepared the tagines and the person on night duty re-heated them. On both occasions, the meat was quite tough and not falling to pieces as it should in a tagine. Desserts were also non descript. (The three course meal was approx. £20.00 per person). However, the pleasure of eating in a beautiful candlelit courtyard surrounded by orange trees more than made up for this!
We did have a problem as neither credit or debit cards are accepted at the riad and we had the annoyance of having to try and work out our final bill and make sure we had enough cash to pay for it. The nearest cashpoint was about a 25minute walk away. It also meant that we took too much cash out to make sure we covered ourselves and then had the inconvenience of trying to change it back at the airport.
I would describe the Riad Daria as a real haven in the middle of the hustle,noise and dirt of Marrakesh. My over riding memory of it was standing on the beautiful top terrace early one evening and watching the storks fly back to their nests.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MallonEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#175 of 499 in Marrakech
268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#183 of 499 in Marrakech
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#252 of 499 in Marrakech
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Carllian
Riad Carllian
#240 of 499 in Marrakech
196 reviews
0 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
1.8 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#177 of 499 in Marrakech
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Daria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Daria

Address: 186, derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £48 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Daria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Daria is a very charming guest house the heart of the Kasbah in a quiet neighbourhood. Originally an old palace owned by the King's family, it has been lovingly renovated in the traditional Hispano-Moresque style of architectural, retaining many of its authentic features and is now a luxurious riad with five rooms and two suites, and is easily accessed by car. Accommodation 2 suites of 65m2 with chimney place, small dressing room and private patio, 3 spacious rooms of 22m2, each with room for an extra single bed, 2 rooms of 12m2. Riad Daria has two floors: The Ground floor patio-garden with: - A large and light lounge, - A dining room which can be converted into a meeting room, - Two large rooms and a suite with four-poster bed -Two patios, one with splash pool, the other with a fountain and shaded by orange-trees. The first floor with: - Three delightful rooms, two of which are inter-connecting, - A large sunny suite with an open-air cupola, which is covered in the winter, - A television lounge with satellite TV. A very large terrace with orange trees and flowers, and some private spaces, where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views of the Atlas Mountains and the Koutoubia mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Daria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Daria Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing