We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Restaurant Riad Douzi - CLOSED

Restaurant Riad Douzi
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Moroccan, Portuguese
Description: Restaurant Douzi est la reference de la gastronomie traditionnelle marocaine. Notre grand choix de plats, nos saveurs variees et notre service au feminin dans un cadre raffine, vous charmeront. Wifi Accee internet Gratuit. Riad Douzi a Marrakech Situe a cinq Minutes a pied de la place jamaa Elfna Riad Douzi vous offre un sejour de charme inoubliable. Animation - Dance de ventre - Soiree avec Gnawa. Salon de the Berbere: Degustez le celebre the a la menthe et une calme de paix.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant Douzi est la reference de la gastronomie traditionnelle marocaine. Notre grand choix de plats, nos saveurs variees et notre service au feminin dans un cadre raffine, vous charmeront. Wifi Accee internet Gratuit. Riad Douzi a Marrakech Situe a cinq Minutes a pied de la place jamaa Elfna Riad Douzi vous offre un sejour de charme inoubliable. Animation - Dance de ventre - Soiree avec Gnawa. Salon de the Berbere: Degustez le celebre the a la menthe et une calme de paix.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a light evening dinner at this restaurant.

Cougrette soup, some Moroccan salad, vegetable tagine and mint tea with sweets.

Everything was delicious. They have all the traditional Moroccan food choices and REALLY good prices.
The restaurant was very clean, service was quick.
We sat on the roof terrace by a big table which was very comfortable.
I would highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amia-kandil, General Manager at Restaurant Riad Douzi, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for your positive comment very glad that you like our restaurant,hope to see you next time,with all my regards,thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food; Friendly Service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stopped here to eat several times while in Marrakech and also had takeout. The food was always hot and delicious and priced well. We came in with our 10 month old daughter and all the staff were so friendly that we really felt welcomed. Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo_Traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amia-kandil, General Manager at Restaurant Riad Douzi, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
thank you and hope to see you next time best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“Great veggie meal”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Really friendly staff and the food was delicious. I would whole hearted lay recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank North S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon through the madness of the Souks!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely little Restaurant. First of all the prices are very very reasonable and you can get three courses for as little as 60 MAD (when compared to other "cafes" in the square this is cheap). We ate here twice once for a light lunch and once for dinner. I can recommend the Haria soup and the vegetable birouttes these were very tasty. The service was very good,quick and efficient. One of the waiters/maybe the owner? Was very funny and we enjoyed a little bit of banter with him.
All said a very nice restaurant with very reasonable prices!!!

Helpful?
Thank stokiecarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Could Try Harder”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had walked past this place a number of times, noticing a huge banner in english & a rather unprepossessing entrance down a small side road.

The positives were that the interior of the building was a very pleasant surprise, it was obviously a restored older building, beautifully done & with a very nice, almost "hippie" vibe - lots of large floor cushions, laid back, not too intrusive music; a cat fast asleep on a chair....

The welcome was very friendly and personal, all of the waiters seemed to speak pretty good english, which is not the norm, and we really felt we had made a good choice.

The negatives, however, started when we went up to the rooftop floor to sit outside. This area had nothing to recommend it whatsoever; unlike downstairs, the space had all the charm of a works canteen - no decent lighting, flooring, objets d'art, views: you name it, it didn't have it!

Prices seemed relatively reasonable & I opted for a vegetable pastilla, with my friend having meat kebabs.He also had a beer, the waiters having whispered to him in the manner of a 'speakeasy' that they did serve alcohol - although there was absolutely no mention of it on the menu.

When my pastilla arrive, it was exactly that; a slightly overcooked pastry outer, containing vegetables whose flavours were completely drowned by the overuse of rosemary, resulting in a rather unpleasant astringent taste. The pastilla filled the small dinner plate on which it was delivered and had no accompaniments whatever.

My friend's plate contained the measliest plate of meat kebabs & rice that I have ever seen in Morocco. Normally such skewers are filled with large juicy chunks of flavourful beef or lamb; these had shrunk away to almost nothing & as for the rice, this appeared to have been served from an upended teacup as it had retained both its shape & size. Again, there were no accompaniments, such as a small side salad.

Then a fairly unpleasant surprise: again, completely unadvertised on the menu, sisha pipes were available, and the couple next to us, quite apart from blowing all of the smoke in our direction, nearly had a choking fit at one stage - not pleasant whilst one is eating...

We left not long after finishing our meal, as there was no reason to linger & were again struck by the contrast between the two floors. I think both of us still felt hungry as we came out, which is a pretty unusual experience in the Medina.

Also, the final bill, which contained quite a steep cost for the beer, actually ended up feeling really quite expensive given the portion sizes & doubtful quality of the cooking. There is so much choice in Marrakech, that, despite the fact that it was close to our riad, I think it unlikely that we will be returning any time soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flekkygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Riad Douzi also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing