We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation in Marrakech”
Review of Darhani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Darhani
Ranked #249 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is a dream of a place. It was our first stay in Marrakech and were wondering where we were being led though winding alleyways by our chariot man who had met us from our taxi and was carrying our bags to our Riad. As soon as we arrived it was like an oasis. Beautiful house and the staff are very accommodating. There is a swimming pool and also a roof top terrace. Parking isnt required as it is placed within the souks. A few minutes walk to the main square. No
hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

Wonderful, friendly stay, taxi waiting for us at bus park and man with cart to take our luggage to the Riad organised by Omar. Close to the heart of the Madina.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Darhani is a beautifully tranquil, clean space from which to venture into the visceral experience that is Marrakesh. Everywhere you look there is beauty, amazing lights, plants, and artwork. We stayed in the mistress room where the staff sprinkled rose petals on our bed ( which was very comfortable with really soft Egyptian cotton sheets) and the shower was boiling hot with fab pressure...these things amtter after a day in the Souks! We ate once at the Riad and the meal was gorgeous. I think the whole place is made extra special by the men and women who work there. We really enjoyed hearing about life in Morrocco from them and they were so helpful and warm it was really like staying with friends We were so well looked after and the breakfast was so sumtuous that we didn't really need lunch. Darhani is really in the middle of it all so rather than feeling like a tourist we got to feel what it would be like to live there. A really amazing experience . The roof terrace is especially fab for relaxing with a book and listening to the call to prayer. Its like being in a film!

Room Tip: The Mistress room is the biggest and has a fabulous bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucinda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We arrived at Darhani on Christmas Eve for 6 nights and were met by Omar and a couple of the ladies. As said in many previous reviews the communication from the day we booked our stay was excellent and did not falter all the way through. The ladies who cooked, cleaned and generally ran the house were lovely and very accommodating to our late rising. The Riad is immaculately clean. You think you will get lost the minute you step out of the Riad but you don't. We ventured out on our first night in the dark and were absolutely fine. Having the Riad's phone number in case you do get lost is a comfort. If I were to be very critical I would probably say that Darhani is quite basic. The Riad has incredible potential and with some touches such as using the gorgeous fabrics, tie backs and design touches widely seen in Marrakech, this place could be something really special. It is the people who make this place and I cannot praise them highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Walnut Room... go for the Honeymoon Suite if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryDollnStinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We spent a very enjoyable weekend in Marrakech as a family of 7 and had the entire house to ourselves which was lovely. Omar and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. They had sent a minibus so we all travelled together and then we were met at the city wall by a man with a chariot for our luggage and a 5 minute walk to Darhani. When you first arrive at the house you feel like you will never be able to find it on your own - but don't panic, you can't go too far wrong and you're on holiday, so relax! The Medina area is pretty full-on, so it is great to be able to retreat for a while to the house - all the rooms are very comfortable, and the various sitting areas (including the wonderful roof terrace where we ate one night) are beautiful. The breakfast was very nice and the dinner we had the night we arrived was good too. They can arrange wine if you ask (we had done this in advance just to be sure!).

Room Tip: take earplugs if you think the call to prayer will be a problem at 5am - our adult kids and their fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minkantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed in the Dar Hani in early october and had a wonderful time. The Riad itself is beautiful, very clean and traditional with a modern feel, the staff couldnt do enough for you and Omar (who spoke very good english and was very friendly) was a great help when it came to directions and infomation, especially in such a diverse Country. Our room (the courtyard room) was cosy but spacious, with a beautiful en suite with a copper shower and basin encased in a tradtitional morrocan clay. Marrakech itself is amazing and would recommend visiting. The Riad's location was the perfect to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, within the souks, a short 10 minute walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa square, but offered peace and tranquility. The breakfast was a delicious array european and traditional morrocan cuisine, especially the "flat, holey, morrocan pancake thing"!
We also enjoyed a lovely evening meal at the Riad including a beef and apricot tangine which was fantastic. The smells coming from the kitchen throughout the day were very appertising and made us appericiate the whole day was taken to prepare and cook our meal, giving it a very personal feel. The Plunge pool was just what the doctor ordered after sitting on the roof terrace in 30 degrees. The Bedouin style tent offered the perfect place to relax in the shade. We would highly recommend anyone to stay here again we cant praise the staff enough for their welcoming hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyAndDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My self and my husband have just return from a "2nd Honeymoon" in Marrakech staying at this wonderful Riad! The communication from the start was fantastic. Information sent by email on where to change your money at the airport, where the cashpoints were, if you wanted to prebook your first meal, arrange taxi pick from airport etc..... Then a map and lists of contacts should you require them. We decided to use to pre arranged taxi transfer and our taxi driver was waiting, name on board ready for us.....although he did seem a little annoyed as our plane was 1hr delayed.....not our fault really but off we trotted. Were were told by the Riad our taxi fare would be 100 or 150 dhs depending the size of party. As there were just two of us I
assumed it would be 100 but it wasn't it was 150 and as we only had 200 notes ... He claimed he had no change!!! ( I later heard a lot of other tourists claiming they had same problem elsewhere so make sure when you change your money you get some 50's!! ) Anyway as cars cannot go right through the Medina a man with a cart met us to carry our luggage and guide us to the Riad. This is paid for by the Riad. A 5 min walk down winding, shaded streets led us to the cool oasis of Riad Darhani. (some were quite dark but we were pre warned in a email not to be alarmed by this) We were met by Omar and some lovely mint tea while we sorted out paperwork. He explained some information about the area and the way back through to the main square ( glad I had hubby with me my sense of direction is horrific!) now my only one very tiny grumble that was not really a problem at all, we had returned an email stating the meal we wanted prepared for the first evening and unfortunately they hadn't received it.....but it made us go out and I'm glad we did......we ate at a street stall in the square and it was
fantastic!
Our room was the Mistress Room. I would definitely recommend paying the extra for this room as it was considerably larger than the others and amazing! Breakfast was different every morning and you could take it wherever you wanted, courtyard, roof terrace..... Lovely! The splash pool was cold but after sunbathing on the roof terrace in 36 degree heat it's very welcoming! The whole Riad was pristine, cleaned and tidied everyday! The staff were fantastic couldn't do enough for you if you asked, but left you to your own devices otherwise. Although you are right in the Medina it's so quiet! Even the 5 am call for prayer was no issue for us. You could hear it ...... But that's Morroco! Beautiful! Will I be going back?.....YES. Will we stay here? YES!

Room Tip: Mistress Room for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayaholic-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#201 of 500 in Marrakech
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 500 in Marrakech
2,112 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,315 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#268 of 500 in Marrakech
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darhani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darhani

Address: 32 Derb Waihah | Qtr Sidi Abdel Aziz, Marrakech 46001, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £59 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant riad in the heart of Marrakech Medina. Centrally located. Air conditioned, en-suite bathrooms, Vegetarian and traditional Moroccan cuisine. Courtyard pool, amazing terrace, afternoon tea and cake. English and French speaking manager. Excellent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Darhani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darhani Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing