We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly serendipitous experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais Sebban
Ranked #65 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A truly serendipitous experience.”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We found this riad after some research and by scouring the internet and finding the company- "The Best Of Marrakech". I spoke to Eli, who suggested that I have a look at the website of Palais Sebban, whilst he found suitable flights. The pictures/photos were very seductive and so we went ahead with booking.
Sometimes, when you arrive at an hotel, you find that all is not as you expected, and as we walked along the dusty, dark alley, following the man who was carrying our luggage, we were both wondering what we had let ourselves in for. However, behind the alley and the huge wooden door lay this treasure of a riad, which was everything that it had advertised.
We were met with mint tea, by the beautiful pool as the checking in process was happening and then taken to our room. It was cool and shady, decorated in typical Morrocan style with a tiled bathroom containing a copper basin.
We quickly unpacked and set off to explore our riad and to find something to eat. Every twist and turn of the place revealed yet another carved wooden panel, stucco and tiled wall and enchanting courtyard, and the roof terrace was wonderful, with its view across the city rooftops. The roof terrace became our afternoon haunt with its cushioned settees and multi coloured bougainvillea, where we lazed in the sun with a beer.
Although we explored the souks morning, noon and night, we still came back to eat at the Palais Sebban in the evening, as the dining room with its log fire was a real draw. The menu was quite limited but we tried everything and it was all delicious, especially the lamb tagine. As it was early in the season, we didn't brave the pool, but it looked very inviting.
We did, however, try the spa and had a hammam. This was reasonably priced and invigorating as well as relaxing.
The waiters were very attentive but not intrusive and the reception staff very happy to give advice or offer suggestions when requested.
The riad is very near the centre of the bustling city, though you wouldn't know it from inside.
After a day's hard bargaining, it was a real pleasure to step back inside the riad into the calm and soothing atmosphere that settled on us; the only negative was having to leave.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koritsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    130
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
96
303
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

When we arrived at the medina and followed the narrow alley to the Palais Sebban, my husband was afraid that our hotel would not meet his expectations.

And this is somehow true, because it did not meet, but exceed his expectations!

If you haven’t seen the pictures on the internet, you would not believe to find such a wonderful and peaceful place behind the outside walls of the Palais Sebban. Now that we’ve seen it, we can tell that the Palais Sebban is even better than on the pictures.

When we entered the second door, we were astonished by the beautiful courtyard that we found. We checked in at the reception desk and were offered mint tea and sweets. We were then taken for a tour through the hotel to explore the 2nd courtyard and the pool and restaurant area in the 3rd courtyard.

In the meantime our luggage was taken to our room on the first floor.

Everything was just wonderful and we felt as in Arabian Nights. The floor and the walls were covered in mosaic and the ceilings were covered with wood carvings.

Our room was huge. We had a bedroom and a living room and a really big bathroom with shower and tub. The hotel had put different fragrances like orange blossom into oil lamps and the room smelt delicious.

If we ever return to Marrakech, we would definitely return to the Palais Sebban!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CologneTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We spent 3 nights in Marrakech in the fantastic environment of the palais sebban.

Rooms are all different from one another in the typical moroccan style. If you suffer from claustrofobia ask for a room overlooking the swimming pool/external courtyard, as most of the rooms only have internal vindows overlooking internal courtyards, which makes them very fascinating but a bit dark as well.

The staff of the palais was fantastic, especially the cook and the waiters. They cuddled us for the whole stay with great local cuisine adapted to our own wishes and their care for details. The cook explained his recepees to us every evening (upon our request) and astonished us every day with his great plates and fantastic sweets.

The terrace of the Palais, where we spent our last day sunbathing, has a great view on the roofs of the city and on the minaret. The place is walking distance from the main square and the market but is an oasis of silence and quietness.

We strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quelloknnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

My partner, sorry, wife (oops!) booked our honeymoon to Marrakech as a surprise with our haven being Palais Sebban and we weren't disappointed!! The riad lies in the heart of Marrakech, minutes walk from the bustling souks, koutoubia mosque and vibrant djeema el fna square. We were warmly greeted on our arrival with a porter ready to take our cases from the taxi to the riad. The entrance to the riad was unassuming but once inside the splendour of the place was immediately evident, fine architecture, mosaic floors, beautiful funiture and the scent of sweet jasmine in the air. We were again warmly greeted by the staff and offered mint tea and homemade biscuits on the patio by the swimming pool. All the staff at Palais Sebban were so helpful and polite that they made you feel like special guests from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. As we were on our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a superior room, Koutoubia, which was lovely, fresh roses, fresh fruit and more homemade biscuits were waiting for us when we opened the door. It was a large room with stone bath, shower, plenty of storage space, fridge and a lockable safe. The room and the whole riad was spotless and very well maintained. Breakfast offered a vast array of fruits, cereal, cakes, breads, meats and cheeses with omlettes, crepes and eggs cooked to order, perfect for getting energy levels up for exploring the city.
My wife had booked a morrocan cookery lesson with the chefs in the kitchen (Palais Sebban offers a cookery school) and this was the first highlight of our stay, we spent a morning in the working kitchen preparing traditional tagines, salads and fruits which we we served for a delicious lunch on the rooftop gardens. That afternoon we were treated to a full Hammam treatment and massage and this was amazing, the best massage i have ever had and we came out rubbed, scrubbed, deknotted and gleaming.
I cannot speak highly enough of this place, especially the staff, who were absolutely fantastic, my wife couldn't have chosen a better place for us to stay. It was hard to believe you were so close to the centre of the bustling city, a perfect location to escape, unload bargains from the souks and peacefully recharge for a few hours before hitting the sights and sounds once more.
The only negative was having to say goodbye and return home!!!
A truely wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyPWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I booked a 5 day honeymoon for my husband and I and kept the location a secret! The Palais Sebban lived up to all expectations!! What can only be described as a beautiful enchanted oasis was hidden away down a narrow street, away from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Souks. Subtle Jasmin oil fills the air as you walk through the entrance as well as the immediate spectacular architecture delights. As we were honeymooners we were automatically upgraded to a superior room, decorated with a beautiful arrangement of fresh roses, fresh fruit and a selection of traditional biscuits. The room was unique and beautiful as well as comfortable and secure.
The Palais Sebban staff are wonderful – every single one of them! I had booked activities for our stay and the staff discretely confirmed these with me as they knew that these were a surprise for my husband. I have to mention Amine Bettamin as he was an absolute star with helping me coordinate the activities. Amine could usually be found at reception and was always friendly, professional and courteous. Our first activity was a cookery lesson. This took place in the hotel kitchen with a member of reception helping with some translations. We learnt how to make two tagines, a Moroccan salad and a fruit dessert. The cooks were engaging, knowledgeable and great fun. We had a fantastic morning and were rewarded with our efforts which were served to us on the roof terrace. The afternoon was spent indulging in a traditional Hammam session which we thoroughly enjoyed.
The hotel breakfast catered for all tastes and was a mixture of continental and cooked dishes with items cooked to order, if desired. The only reason we didn’t indulge in lunch or dinner in the hotel was because there were so many amazing eateries in Marrakech.
If you are looking for a taste of Marrakech and if you enjoy the hustle and bustle as well as a tranquil Oasis then a stay of the Palais Sebban will not disappoint. We will surely return!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I would highly recommend a stay here, the riad was a pure delight and a tranquil haven from the madness of the souks. An ideal romantic get-away with friendly welcoming staff. We were met on arrival with pastries and mint tea and then given a tour of the riad and taken to our room which was fabulous. The only disappointment was there was no tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast was plentiful and very good, however, the lunch and dinner menu was very limited which is a shame as the surroundings provide a fabulous setting to eat and relax in.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Hidden in a quiet corner of the Medina, this wonderful Riad offers fantastic Moroccan interior design with great attention to detail. Beautiful rooms with fine decor, handcrafted tiles and lavish wooden ceilings. Great and very friendly service and impeccable food. Large rooftop terrace, wonderful court yard with swimmingpool. Stylish, beautiful and quiet, this Riad provides the perfect escape from the busy souks that surround it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#70 of 494 in Marrakech
1,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 494 in Marrakech
895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#61 of 494 in Marrakech
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
1,170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#40 of 494 in Marrakech
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#106 of 494 in Marrakech
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Property: Palais Sebban
Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing