We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful Retreat!”
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Sebban
Ranked #70 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Blissful Retreat!”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My fiancé booked a 4 night stay at the Palais Sebban for my 30th birthday, and as it was our first time in Morocco we were super excited about the whole thing!

The journey to the riad itself was a little scary at first as it is down quite a few winding streets - but we later learned EVERYWHERE is like that - location and outside appearance seem to have very little impact on what a place is like once you step foot through the door! So don't be put off by first impressions!

The definition of a ‘Riad’ is basically a central courtyard with rooms stacked high around it – there is usually a terrace on top too – we were told that we should stay at a riad for a more traditional experience in terms of cuisine and lodgings. We were not disappointed!

The Palais Sebban is like some sort of perfect paradise - from the mind blowing beauty of the mosaic tiling, to the delicately perfumed air of jasmine, to the labyrinthine terraces for exploring....pure heaven! Especially after a hard day haggling in the souks, this place has a magical ability to instantly relax and calm the mind and body...

We stayed in the ‘Telouet’ room which has a private terrace above the pool area – overlooking the main courtyard. It is perfectly decorated in green polished plaster, orange mosaics, intricately painted wooden doors, and beaten brass fittings. We had everything we could possibly need, including fluffy bath robes, a giant bed, and a safe for all our travel documents and spare cash (not that there was any of THAT left by the end of the trip!) I am absolutely in love with the ‘Telouet’ room and would definitely ask for it again!

The riad staff were attentive and well mannered – they all went to any length to make our stay special... and we can both recommend the onsite restaurant, bar, and mini-spa! I had henna designs drawn on my hands and feet and they were absolutely gorgeous - I chose to have this done at the spa rather than cheaper on the street, as I have heard that the black henna the street vendors use contains chemicals - being a sensitive sort I stayed on the side of caution! We ate breakfast each day at the riad which was wonderful - lots of ham, cheese, fruit, and a selection of crepes - I recommend the savoury Moroccan crepes with lashings of spready cheese and a sweet hot chocolate... yum! We tried many of the tagines on the evening menu too - including a speciality version that had to be ordered 48 hours in advance so it could be cooked slowly in a bakers oven in the medina...it was pure heaven to eat - the meat simply fell off the bone...truly delish and heavily recommended!

Basically I could rant about our trip all day long, so in short - we visited many of the sights in Marrakesh and did most of the ‘recommended activities’ all of which were a dream – if like us you are just two Brits in search of a ‘different’ place to visit I cannot recommend the Palais Sebban and Marrakesh enough – we most definitely be back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: The 'Telouet' room has a private terrace on top of the pool building and overlooks the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 66Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    136
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
98
312
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had a suite which was lovely - only issue was it overlooked the main courtyard which is where the resturant is, the windows to the rooms are not that tight fitting so you could hear the music and chatter etc until every one had gone home..... the same problem in the morning from, 6am staff are setting up breakfast. So kept awake until late, then the next morning woken up agian. Otherwise a nice place, with good service and very nice food (we ate in the resturant 2 evenings) Breakfast was okay nothing special and there were quite a lot of insects buzzing around whilst you are eating (but that maybe the time of year ?).
The best thing about this Riad is if you want to relax during the afternoon it is really peacful and perfect setting.

Room Tip: Don't book around the main courtyard as too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNewell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in October and would highly recommend it to anyone/everyone.

Room: we stayed in one of the standard rooms (Imilchil) which was absolutely lovely. If you want to spoil yourself, go for a more expensive room/suite but you won't be disappointed by the standard rooms. Very comfy bed, lovely furniture, small mini fridge, decent enough hairdryer, aircon, quiet (although you could hear people walking past the internal window if they were talking), safe (with key lock), enough wardrobe space etc. Small toilet and shower room which was very clean. Shower was fine (and better than I expected in terms of water pressure but not very strong).

Riad: Very very very clean! The team started cleaning in the morning and didn't finish until the evening - they cleaned it from top to bottom every single day! Also, stunningly beautiful. Check out the pictures on the website but believe that they don't do it justice. The furniture is all gorgeous and I wanted to take it all home. There is a resident cat and tortoise!

Food: Breakfast was great - lots of pancakes (different styles), fruit, bread, eggs (hard boiled/fried/omelette), yoghurt and the most amazing fresh orange juice ever. Constantly re-stocked during breakfast hours so it didn't matter what time you got out of bed.

Lunch/dinner/drinks: We're both vegetarian and there were a couple of veggie dishes that were very tasty (veg cous cous, veg pasta with argan oil, and a starter of moroccan salad which is several chopped spiced veg dishes on one plate and quite filling). Drinks - good choice. We had a very nice moroccan red wine (Medallion I think it was called) and Casablanca beer (lager) was good.

Staff: brilliant. Very friendly and helpful but not at all overbearing. Reception staff helped us to book a day trip to the Atlas mountains (more later). Waiting staff were just lovely and happy to chat.

Top tip: Go up on the terrace at night to look at the stars and also at dusk to listen to the call to prayer from all angles. Magical!

General Marrakech stuff:
- vegetarians - it's very tricky but we enjoyed a very cheap pizza at Venezia Pizza (now called something else and part of a hotel) on Mohammed V ave. (views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the noise of the cars on Mohammed V), Earth Cafe (venue not v nice but food was excellent and cheap), and Narwama (Thai, Moroccan and European food, good veggie choice, expensive, brilliant decor).

- pay £40 and spend a day at the Mamounia hotel poolside and be treated like a rock star (take your own lunch as it's v expensive to eat/drink there). We spent the day in the pool and then got showered and changed (they have lovely showers with soap/shampoo and hairdryers/mirrors) and went for cocktails in the Churchill bar (gorgeous but £25 a cocktail!!!)

- if you go on a visit to the waterfalls in the Atlas mountains be warned that you pay extra on top of your trip cost to be guided to the waterfalls. It's totally unnecessary but our guide (Mustafa) was lovely and pulled me up and down the rocks when I was wearing stupid shoes so we didn't mind too much.

- all the rest is in the guide books.....

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Imilchil is a standard room but was perfect for a couple. No need to spend a lot of time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My fiancé proposed on the roof terrace of palais sebban on the night we arrived on our holiday. We were made to feel so special and looked after so beautifully. Everyday we came back with beautiful flowers and rose petal on our bed. The room was very stylish and clean, the service was so friendly. The riad itself is soooooo beautiful, calm and stylish. The pool area is outside with loungers where we could relax, swim and sunbathe, with staff available at all time. The food we had there was delicious and breakfast goes on forever. Easy to find, central and only 5 minutes from the main square. A must to anyone who requires a quiet haven in Marrakesh. Palais Sebban is now so special in our hearts and memories.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magalie_billaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We did a lot of research on Morocco before comitting us to a trip and knew I wanted to stay in a Riad. We booked with Cadogan who were excellent and arranged for us to be collected at the Airport and walk us to the Palais Sebban, once in the medina.
At first, like others we were a little concerned and were led down a narrow alley way to be confronted by a heavy studded door. It felt as though we were walking in to someones house but once inside, we were greeted by cool air and a spicy smell of incense. The staff were very welcoming and made us peppermint tea.
The Palais Sebban is utterly beautiful - a real haven like no other. The pictures do it no justice. It really does blow your mind.
There is a small plunge pool in the centre of the court yard, and tables and chairs inside of the tall walls with exotic flowers everywhere you look. The restaurant looks over the pool but we chose to eat under the stars.
The food was excellent - very traditional with superb staff who were more than attentive. Breakfast was our favourite meal here, with a huge selection.
The Palais Sebban is a 10 minute walk from the main square - we spent most of our first day lost in the Souks but that's all part of the experience. Turn left when you leave the hotel to take you to the square - we turned right and were completely lost for hours.
From the roof terrace there is a wonderful view of the city so we spent a lot of time taking photographs etc.
We stayed in a standard room which was rather noisy but this can be forgiven for the sheer beauty of the place.
We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TillymintG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I booked this hotel as the second part of my honeymoon in Morocco and having seen the reviews on trip advisor I was really looking forward to my stay. Unfortunately my expectations were not met.

Before we set off on our honeymoon I contacted the hotel through their website, asking if I could arrange a transfer with them as we were coming from Essaouria however they never responded, then on arrival, while being harassed by two boys demanding more money off us for ‘showing us the way’ I was told by the gentleman who met us at the door that we should have got in touch with them to sort the journey. I mentioned that I had but I never got a response and didn’t even get so much of an apology from him.

I will say that Palais Sebban was certainly very tranquil in contrast to the busy streets of the medina they have also done a very good job at making the roof terrace a pleasant place to sit having looked around from the terrace we certainly couldn’t see any adjacent riads with anything similar.

When we booked the hotel we paid for what we were told was a deluxe room, but what we were shown to was a very dark small bedroom with small shower room. The bed was also twin beds kept together by a sheet, which meant if we wanted to lie next to each other one of us had to endure the uncomfortable crack. We also had a problem with our air conditioning which in the end meant we couldn’t put it on for more than a couple of minutes without lots of water pouring out all over the floor, luckily when we mentioned this to reception they were kind enough to move us.
The room we moved to was much better, lighter and with a double bed, however I would still not call it deluxe certainly not compared to some of the other rooms we managed to have a peak into and might I add were empty, also I must mention that in this bedroom the bathroom door was not a solid door. So anyone in the room could see quite clearly into the bathroom even with it closed.

I must mention that the housekeeping staff certainly do an outstanding job, each day the sheets and towels were changed with any clothes that may have been left out being folded away or even refolded neater, It did make me feel a little guilty at times.

Breakfast was good doing freshly cooked omelettes, crepes, along with a buffet of bread cold meats and fruit as well as freshly squeezed orange juice. The two waiters were certainly very pleasant especially the gentleman with the glasses (he never told us his name), who went out of his way to attend to our needs.

On check out we were charged for a bottle of water we never had, I can only assume that house keeping got confused as we had been keeping our own water in the fridges

Overall it is a nice place but unfortunately it was not that something special that I had hoped for our honeymoon.

Room Tip: ask for a room around the pool or adjacent court yard they seemed to have bigger windows and would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This place is stunning. I travel all over the world and have been lucky enough to stay at some of the best and this place rivals all of them. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room was like something out of a fairly tale. The walls were all hand carved stone and the rest of the room was full of beautiful appointments. Wonderful location, short walk to the main square.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oinkerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#68 of 500 in Marrakech
1,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 500 in Marrakech
1,219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#56 of 500 in Marrakech
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#69 of 500 in Marrakech
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Property: Palais Sebban
Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing