We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Riad of my dreams!”
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Sebban
Ranked #70 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Riad of my dreams!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just back from five nights at Palais Sebban. It is beautifull! Every room is very different in both size and decoration. Breakfast was included and was great. Location is perfect. As close to souks and the main square but away from all the noise. Highly recommend it. Sat on roof terrace at night to watch the stars. A lot of stairs and small risers if walking or mobility an issue. We looked at a lot of Riads and many were pretty dodgy looking but Sebban is a winner!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maumau3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    136
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
98
312
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is one of the most beautiful hotels/riads I have ever stayed in, the hotel decor is stunning and such fine attention to detail has been paid to all the furnishings. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially with our 6 year old son who is a wheelchair user. Our room (Tichka) was bright and airy and also had a roof terrace just above which was great for sunbathing, sunset and star watching. The room itself was over two levels with a kingsize bed on the upper level and a childs single on the lower. The hotel also has a plunge pool and a lounge with wifi access.
The breakfast provided is fantastic with lots of choice and pastries/bread made daily by the hotel chef. We also often ate dinner and lunch in the hotel, the food is a little more expensive than if you were to venture out but it's well worth it if you are in the mood to stay within the tranquillity of the hotel. The New Years Eve celebration at the hotel was also well worth it, great fun.
The location was perfect, a 5 minute walk to the main square Jemma El Fna & the souks, we also had no problem finding our way back to the hotel even thought its down some winding side streets. We also found the walk to some of the nearby sites outside the old town walls quite easy, even with a wheelchair and inside the old town everything is fairly close by.
All in all a very enjoyable stay, we would definitely stay there again and we are still overcome by the beauty of the Palais Sebban itself.

Room Tip: In some rooms the toilet, shower and whole bathroom area are open plan with no doors at all which fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazyhazyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

A spectacular place to stay. Excellent location and a wonderful cultural experience. We rented two luxurious rooms for a family of 4. Staff were friendly, happy and helpful. No trouble with the food. You have to be a little tolerant on plumbing, electrical and privacy, as it is 100s of years old and a heritage experience, but it was very clean and we would gladly go there again. My only complaint is with the WIFI, which was up and down a bit and limited to one public area.

As with most Riads, the outside is unkept and one has anxieties as one approaches the property, but once inside it is like Dr Who's Tardis and is a wonderful
Oasis in the Medina.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littondoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Highly recommended. A tranquil place away from the hustle and bustle of wonderful Marrakech. Friendly staff always willing to help. Enjoy the calling from the mosques from the roof terrace

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skiboywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We visited this Hotel on the 7th Decmber 2011 until the 12th December, we were greeted by the traditional Mint tea, and the staff were very friendly, we were immeadiately upgraded as the hotel did not seem to be busy due to approaching off season j( Jan - March) but that suited us fine, its a wonderful place, does not feel like a hotel, more like a big mansion, on site massage available, they will cook the food the way you would like, 2 workers spoke basic english which was good enough, this hotel is literally in the old town area, when you are inside you do not hear any noise, as soon as you step out and walk onto the main street it is manic, its literally a 5minute walk to the Famous El fana square, where it is extremely busy, taxis are available outside the hotel, although be sure to arrange a price before getting in, 50 dirhums is ok, however if there are more people in our case 6 we had to get two taxis and they charged us 100-150 dirhums ( £4-12) its best to find a driver before you go, we found one whilst out there and he took us to all the places we wanted to go to, the clubs are on the new town side which is approximately 5 mins away in taxi... overall a fantastic hotel, for me i just wished it was in the new town area, as i didnt like the busy roads and the hussle and bussle.. i would stay there again as the staff were excellent and the food was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h20_nav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My boyfriend and I just got back from a 5 night stay at this beautiful riad and miss it already!! I booked it based on the reviews from this site and was not a bit disappointed! Every inch of this riad has been beautifully designed and furnished and leaves you in a spin with its swirls of mosaic, stunning decor and hints of jasmine which are burned at every corner.

The staff were fantastic, especially the reception staff who are always on hand to help and ask about your day, and they went so far to make the 5 days memorable for us. They even went and found us Imodium after an unfortunate night at one of the stalls, and got a huge bunch of roses delivered to our room for my birthday!

The riad is a 5 minute walk from the jemaa el fna and main mosque but is so lovely and quiet in comparison. It is located down a few dimly lit walkways, which slightly worried us at the beginning, as they seemed very remote and a bit eerie, but after a night or two we realised how amazingly atmospheric they were, as the lights cast shadows across the next forked walkway, and often spent ages on our way home at night taking photos and exploring!

If you are wanting to visit Marrakech and don't want to stay in one of the hotels on the outskirts (I wouldnt, having seen them-I don't see how you could possible experience the real Marrakech by staying in one), book this riad, I just don't see how it could be beaten!!

Room Tip: We got a free upgrade to Tichka room as it was my birthday, which was very grand-on three tiers with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My fiancé booked a 4 night stay at the Palais Sebban for my 30th birthday, and as it was our first time in Morocco we were super excited about the whole thing!

The journey to the riad itself was a little scary at first as it is down quite a few winding streets - but we later learned EVERYWHERE is like that - location and outside appearance seem to have very little impact on what a place is like once you step foot through the door! So don't be put off by first impressions!

The definition of a ‘Riad’ is basically a central courtyard with rooms stacked high around it – there is usually a terrace on top too – we were told that we should stay at a riad for a more traditional experience in terms of cuisine and lodgings. We were not disappointed!

The Palais Sebban is like some sort of perfect paradise - from the mind blowing beauty of the mosaic tiling, to the delicately perfumed air of jasmine, to the labyrinthine terraces for exploring....pure heaven! Especially after a hard day haggling in the souks, this place has a magical ability to instantly relax and calm the mind and body...

We stayed in the ‘Telouet’ room which has a private terrace above the pool area – overlooking the main courtyard. It is perfectly decorated in green polished plaster, orange mosaics, intricately painted wooden doors, and beaten brass fittings. We had everything we could possibly need, including fluffy bath robes, a giant bed, and a safe for all our travel documents and spare cash (not that there was any of THAT left by the end of the trip!) I am absolutely in love with the ‘Telouet’ room and would definitely ask for it again!

The riad staff were attentive and well mannered – they all went to any length to make our stay special... and we can both recommend the onsite restaurant, bar, and mini-spa! I had henna designs drawn on my hands and feet and they were absolutely gorgeous - I chose to have this done at the spa rather than cheaper on the street, as I have heard that the black henna the street vendors use contains chemicals - being a sensitive sort I stayed on the side of caution! We ate breakfast each day at the riad which was wonderful - lots of ham, cheese, fruit, and a selection of crepes - I recommend the savoury Moroccan crepes with lashings of spready cheese and a sweet hot chocolate... yum! We tried many of the tagines on the evening menu too - including a speciality version that had to be ordered 48 hours in advance so it could be cooked slowly in a bakers oven in the medina...it was pure heaven to eat - the meat simply fell off the bone...truly delish and heavily recommended!

Basically I could rant about our trip all day long, so in short - we visited many of the sights in Marrakesh and did most of the ‘recommended activities’ all of which were a dream – if like us you are just two Brits in search of a ‘different’ place to visit I cannot recommend the Palais Sebban and Marrakesh enough – we most definitely be back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: The 'Telouet' room has a private terrace on top of the pool building and overlooks the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 66Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#68 of 500 in Marrakech
1,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 500 in Marrakech
1,219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#56 of 500 in Marrakech
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#69 of 500 in Marrakech
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Property: Palais Sebban
Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing