We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In Marrakech did Kubla Khan/ A stately pleasure dome decree?”
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palais Sebban
Ranked #71 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“In Marrakech did Kubla Khan/ A stately pleasure dome decree?”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

History does not record whether the ancient warrior reached as far west as Marrakech, but the exquisite Palais Sebban captures Coleridge's laudanum-fuelled vision more surely than any of the tourist attractions in the red Moorish city. This riad has been developed from a former minister's residence. It has been lovingly restored, as a proud welcoming receptionist showed us on our arrival. It is a rambling building full of half-hidden staircases and delightful tranquil chambers and courtyards. Exquisite mosaics give way to exotic tooled plasterwork and huge carved double doors behind pillared archways. There are tinkling marble fountains and carousing doves and song thrushes. Fragrant trees and flowers scent the air. This is a peaceful sanctuary from the dusty noisy bustling chaos that is Marrakech. Truly a Palais.

Palais Sebban, in characteristic Marrakech style, is hidden behind a nondescript arched door in a dusty winding unmarked alleyway in the bustling Medina. You are led to it by a smiling uniformed porter, who pushes your luggage along in a handcart. Through the arched doorway a dimly lit corridor leads to another grander door, behind which is your Xanadu.

Each of the nineteen rooms is different in shape, size, décor and facilities. We peered into several of them during our four night stay, and each was lovelier than the one before. It is difficult to distinguish the original from the restored and the new, so faithful is the workmanship. Rooms are all atmospherically underlit, but have all the expected facilities, including air-conditioning. Plumbing is adequate, but don’t expect power showers. Everything is sparkling clean, and uniformed staff brandishing cleaning cloths discreetly keep everything up to standard. Staff are cheerful and welcoming. They want to help, though a basic knowledge of French makes communication simpler.

There is a plunge pool set in an elaborate open courtyard, and extensive roof terraces with assorted seating. You can whistle up mint tea and delicious home-made Moroccan biscuits as you relax in the shade of large parasols.

Breakfast contains all the necessary options, including fruit, cheese, yoghurt, omelettes, but does not have the lavishness that the surroundings seem to demand. The black coffee is ok, but don’t expect a cappuccino – there is no machine. The restaurant has a standard Moroccan menu with pleasant service but no culinary high spots.

Palas Sebban is a memorable and luxurious experience that is the equivalent of staying in a stately castle. There are plenty of plastic hotels in the French quarter of Marrakech, but if you want authenticity with your luxury, this is where you’ll go.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    135
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
98
310
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We did not stay at Palais Sebban, but but very much enjoyed two dinners there during our one week trip to Marrakech in late May. In addition to delicious meals and wonderful service, we loved eating on the patio near their planted pool area. The Palais is very atmospheric, supported by graciousness of everyone who works there. The lamb and chicken tagines were excellent. We will certainly dine there again on our next visit!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank twothereandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

A beautifully decorated riad not far from Jemaa al-Fna. The rooms were spotless and nicely decorated and proportioned. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful. As you'll see from the photos a lovely place to stay and nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We have just returned from a very nice 3 night break at Palais Sebban. The Accomodation was lovely, very comfortable and relaxing. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The location was great - just 5 mins walk from the main square and souk markets, but tucked away in a quiet area free from noise. I would definitely recommend the lamb tagine, it was very good!

There were only one minor thing which stopped me from rating excellent. One was the sun beds, they weren't adjustable so you could only bathe in one position. Luckily we didnt sunbathe much as we only came for 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurphysTravels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here last week for 3 nights, as expected (from reading previous reviews!), the taxi we pre-arranged over the phone with the riad was not waiting for us at the airport, we called them and they sent another, no big deal. The riad is stunning in all areas, you really couldn't wish for more, lots of beautiful communal spaces, inside and out, it's probably one of the best in the Medina. We booked a standard room (Mamounia) which was small but fine, we didn't spend much time in the room with the rest of the riad to enjoy, the only downside was the noise from the staff first thing in the morning, they talk really loudly! The waiting staff we found to be friendly and efficient, we couldn't fault them, the office staff are as good as useless and seem to have a bit of an attitude....the management need to address this, they are letting the side down.

Despite the small negatives, this really is an outstandingly beautiful place to stay and we would definitely go back.

ps: don't email them, they don't reply!

Room Tip: Mamounia is lovely but small, and over the front door, so may be a little noisier than others, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joanna345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maylis A, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Customer,

We want to thank you for sharing your opinions when your stay at the Palais Sebban.

It is our pleasure to see you enjoyed our hotel

Regarding the attitude of our team, please believe that we have taken note and all the staff made ​​an effort in this direction.

We hope to see you soon so you can benefit from our improvements.

Sincerely,

Maylis albi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENEVA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Riad is just beautiful, the decor is stunning and the garden and courtyard well kept with lovely plants and flowers.
Staff very helpful and polite.
Did not eat in the restaurant, but breakfast was fine, though nothing amazing.
The only draw back is that the Riad is very noisy in the mornings, can here entrance bell, staff, guests and the early hour of the morning, am room was located over the main entrance hall way so you could here people leaving and returning at late hours, also the ' call for pray' on the loud speakers around the city can be heard at 4am

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ButlerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Overall it's the solitude and peaceful charm, contrasted against the total bedlam and chaos of Marrakesh that wins one over in this beautifully restored and historic palace just minutes away from the thriving city center.

Our trip started off a bit bumpy, having cleared customs only to find that our private pick-up service was not prepared to meet us. We walked the masses of sign-holding airport pick-up agents with our own "Palais Sebban" sign for 45 minutes, only to resign to a somewhat harrowing taxi to a busy street corner inside the Medina. Note - you'll pay their rate; save the haggling for the Souks. We were met by a friendly porter and whisked through alleyways to a nondescript doorway where we were at last calmed.

The entrance was well choreographed and stunning. Our greeting of mint tea ("Moroccan Whiskey") and our initial booking was pleasant and uncomplicated. In the meantime, one can't help but look at the details; high carved frescoes, inlaid woodwork, mosaic tiles, & lamps to name a but few of the eye-catching details. We were then taken to our first room, "Tishka" and left to appreciate the views of the courtyard and rooftops in peace. A word on the Tischka - bathroom doors seem to be optional. If this bit of privacy is important (as it was to my wife,) don't be afraid to ask for a different room.

Dinner at he Palais Sebban was pricey compared to equally exquisite fare in the surrounding restaurants, street corners and tents. Service was good but not great, and they always seemed to be just slightly understaffed for the number of people dining. Again, it's ambiance atmosphere that makes dining at the Palais pleasant.

Comparatively, we enjoyed breakfast over the evening meal. Beginning at 0800, the waitstaff laid out a nice mix of fruit, cakes, cereals, and hot offerings along with fresh orange juice, teas and delicious coffee. They'll make omelets to order and replenish the coffee and juices as quickly as one can go through them.

After our first night, we requested a room change from the Tischka to a room with a bathroom door. We were given the Oudaya room, just above the entrance lobby and were moved without fuss. The wife and I were split on the rooms; she preferred the closing door of the Oudaya while I the light and loftiness of the Tischka. Both have very firm beds that don't do well for backpain, but the Oudaya wins out for decor.

Speaking of backpain, the Hammam was wonderful. She attended to my lower back and my wife's nail/beauty needs par excellence. Don't be afraid to take advantage of this in-hotel service as it really is splendid. It costs a bit more than the many Spa treatments available about the town, but the convenience of falling out of the Hammam and into a poolside lounger with a fresh mint Mojito is priceless.

Checkout was painless and uncomplicated. The hotel staff ensured we knew our pick-up time (even though the airport service once again got it wrong) and allowed us to store our bags while we enjoyed one last day in the market. Leaving the beauty and tranquility of this Palais for the chaos of taxi travel was bittersweet.

Overall, a wonderful stay. We weren't as enamored with the couple who run the Riad as other reviewers, but conversely, we didn't seek the company. The waitstaff was nice, and would likely have been nicer with more generous tips. The cleaning staff took extra care, folding our clothes and working quietly. The check-in/out staff and concierge services were good.

Room Tip: If bathroom doors are a must, request a room other than the Tishka. Street noise and an occasional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Netwerknerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#69 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#52 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#53 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#36 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.8 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Property: Palais Sebban
Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing