We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palais Sebban
Ranked #64 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
KINGSTON Upon HULL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here in september for our honeymoon, we were allocated the Berbere Room and it was breath taking. We had our own private garden with waterfall feature which was a great little place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the medina.

It is ideally located 5 mins walk from jemna el fna the main square and the souks.

The staff where great and always extremely helpful, the hotel had free wifi and the food was lovely.

I would certainly recommend the massage and spa treatments at a very reasonable cost.

Overall this was a great place to stay, very quirky which is what we like and the inside is beautiful.

Would 100% recommend you stay here if you visit marrakesh!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    129
    35
    15
    6
See reviews for
95
300
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just returned from 4 nights break in this beautiful old Riad. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. It is a real haven and only a short 10 minute walk away from the madness of the centre. Mint tea served in the traditional way on arrival really set the scene for us. A beautiful pool / patio area. Candles and lanterns were lit at night. Free Wifi was available, (although not in all rooms.) Rather than staying in a modern hotel, the Palais Sabban really added to an authentic feel of life in Marrakech. A very atmospheric experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NM12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This place is truly stunning and feels absolutely authentic; it really is jaw droppingly beautiful. However one gets the impression that the owners are relying on the building's beauty too much and are forgetting about everything else. Our stay would have been even better if the pool on the roof was usable; It was half full with the electric light fitting floating in the water, still attached to the mains! No warning signs, not cordonned off but clearly unusable. When we asked the surly receptionist if it was under repair and when would be able to use it we simply got the standard shoulder shrug. The food was appalling. We ate in twice and it was bland and tasteless and the service was the worst I have ever experienced, anywhere (I've had better in the local restaurants in Gambia!!) To be fair it wasn't entirely the poor waiter's fault, he was always on his own & just couldn't cope. The breakfast in a a road side cafe would be better than the basic offering (covered in flies) that was served up here. The beds were uncomfortable and both my husband and I ended up with aching backs. I would still recommend the place as it ias a tourist attractin in itself, you just need to be prepared to accept the poor management and service. The staff seem to be extremely overworked and try to be as helpful as possible (apart from the receptionist, a rude and unhelpful French girl) so you can't blame them and feel you can't complain as it's not their fault.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cammo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maylis A, Responsable commercial at Palais Sebban, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your visit to our palace.
As you have reported all the staff is very involved to make your holiday run as smoothly as possible.
you criticize the fact that we don t maintain the jewels yet every day you could even people s bustling its maintenance.
you criticize the pool is not yet open to the public, we are actually doing the test.
It is clear that the staff of the reception you have said that the place was not open n not understand your insistence to know when traveaux completed.
and unfortunately you have reached their patience;
it is a pity that the food you did not like it.
it is unfortunate that we have failed no satisfy you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This beautiful riad is a welcome escape from the hustle and bustle of the souks and main square in Marrakech, the helpful and friendly staff make you feel instantly welcome with mint tea and Moroccan pastries and an abundance of indoor and outdoor chill out areas, including the stunning courtyard, pool and roof terrace. It is situated down a typical alley (derb) which is well lit at night, it is not accessible for cars. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and quiet, and the shower was great too. We ate breakfast at the riad every day and particularly enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice each morning. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this as a great place to stay for location, atmosphere and fantastic service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The first thing that strikes you when arriving at the Palais Sebban is the sheer beauty of the place. It's beautiful reception area leads onto a breathtaking courtyard complex with the most amazing architecture and plants. The room we stayed in was fairly small, but very comfortable. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you.
We ate breakfast at the hotel every day.... An extremely tasty array of different breads and pancakes, yoghurt, fruit salads and honey. The restaurant had a small but very tasty menu and comes highly recommended. The only thing to bear in mind is that all the food is freshly cooked to order, so waiting times are a little longer than you might expect (but when it comes the food is very good!).
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this delightful riad to anyone. I for one would definitely stay here again. The one piece of advice I would give is to arrange a transfer from the airport to the hotel before travelling.... It's not the easiest place to find, but when you do, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary6719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bursledon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Upon entering the old walled city, you walk through a windy alley, and I must admit, 'Blurghhh, where have I come to' goes through your mind. That is until you enter the thick wooden door of Palais Sebban.... Oh..My..God! What an enchanting and beautiful place. The first thing that hits you is the perfume that permeates throughout the building. The intricate and ornate craftsmanship of the décor is simply outstanding. Our suite was beautiful and perfectly appointed. There is a small courtyard with trailing Azaleas surrounding a plunge pool, and steps that lead up to a roof terrace - which is private and secluded, and perfect for a spot of sunbathing.
We had breakfast there, which was quite limited, but certainly enough to start off the day.

Making your way to the main square, is a little confusing to start with - there are a myriad of alleyways, but follow the crowd and you won't go far wrong.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Dont be put off by the alleys you have to go through to get to hotel, it is worth it!

Great room in tranquil garden that was very near Medina but far enough away to relax. Close to Kosybar and restaurants, very handy for shopping and all sights.

Bit perturbed as to why the fly attraction table is put out a breakfast? Pretty grim to have a million flying objects eating sugar beside you!

All in all. Superb accommodation, good staff and a restful experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rubedoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#54 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#59 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#98 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#69 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#67 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Property: Palais Sebban
Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing