We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like princesses 3/4 of the time.”
Review of Palais Sebban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais Sebban
Ranked #68 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We booked our three days through Classic Collections and were upgraded to top floor suites because of this. Unfortunately one king bed couldn't be separated so I got to sleep on a single behind a column but this was organised efficiently and our room (the Bebere) was fantastic. The private courtyard lovely.

Desk staff were great and the cleanliness superb and our arrival porter a delight.

Our only niggle was the restaurant staff who were unresponsive and uncommunicative. When you ask for a bottle of wine you do not expect to watch two tables laid before the bar is visited. In general, if sitting around the pool one would think someone would ask if they could get you anything. Not here.

That aside, Palais Sebban is a traditional riad located very centrally. It has gravitas and is walking distance to the souk, the main square and many wonderful restaurants.

Room Tip: Berbere wonderful for a couple. I did see into another lovely premier room on the first floor. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wahine010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Eight of us stayed here for three nights for a weekend break, what a fabulous building a real palace hidden behind a door off a winding alley way near the wall of the Medina. I recommend taking advantage of the hotel transfer, for 200 Drm for a couple and 250 Drm for six of us we were met at the airport and driven to the Medina. As we arrived the concierge was there to take our bags and lead us into the walled Medina the 400 yards to the hotel. Without this it would have been difficult the first time as I could not get my EE GPS to work so no maps app!!

The hotel is truly an amazing oasis of mosaic tiling and carved stucco,the reception area is lit directly from the sky as is much of the hotel using high galleries to provide natural daylight to the ground floor. The ground floor opens out onto an internal terrace where the small pool, bar, hamam (masseuse) and restaurant are located. The pool is naturally heated i.e. not, so be ready for a refreshing dip but worth it just for the bemused looks from the staff.

I had paid for a premium room and the hotel upgraded this to a suite on the rooftop terrace which was truly magnificent, our own private terrace, shaded seating area with fountain, huge room and fabulous bathroom with its Star Wars shower.

We ate in the hotel on the first night which was ok but there is so much more to be enjoyed in the city that we decided to try elsewhere and were rewarded for doing so through the weekend.
The hotel staff were courteous, polite and nothing was too much trouble. They provided a guide for half a day to take us to the Souk and I recommend this as the Souk is a maze of narrow alleyways. Without the guide we would have seen much less and it can be daunting unless you are used to Middle Eastern haggling.The guide is independent and charges but the knowledge and history make the fee well worth it.The hotel also allowed us to use their concierge to walk us to a restaurant across the other side of the Medina. Without him we would have taxied but walking in Marrakech in the evening was quite magical and should be done.

Several of the party used the hamam (masseuse) which was very enjoyable and good value. You need to remember to book if you want a massage.

This is a family and couples on tour hotel, there is no late bar and after 11pm the Medina tends to close down.

I have nothing but praise for the Palais Sebban, the staff were brilliant, the building incredible with it's intricate carvings multiple terraces and sun traps all with cushioned loungers, tables and shade if needed. Our room was lovely, the premium rooms taken by others of our party were great and the basic room small but perfectly good. The service was friendly and always delivered with a smile. So good we are already looking to go back next Spring, thank you to the team at the Palais Sebban for a fabulous weekend in exotic Marrakech.

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade to a premium room it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were looking for decent food (which sadly is lacking in Marrakech) & stumbled across this place with the help of a local. It is that hidden away we would have walked past it 1000 times without noticing. Well, what an amazing find it was... like stepping into a different world! The riad was absolutely beautiful and breathtaking.

We sat outside and, as it was a little cool that evening, used one of outdoor heaters. The menu was a little limited (we had also arrived late so they had sold out on a couple of items) but overall it was by far the best meal of our of 4 day stay. That said, it was also the most expensive. The service was equally as good and they allowed us to stay a long time after everyone else had left.

I cannot comment on the rooms, but if our experience with the restaurant and scenery are anything to go by, then I'm sure they will be first class too.

Very impressed overall and a must see. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

this Riad is being refurbished and our room was off the temporary reception, no natural light and sometimes noisy as the huge door had wide cracks as there was no door frame.The en suite bathroom had no door and openplan toilet. Breakfast service was hit and miss, no offer of hot food till I asked next day, tables half laid up, odd china, fresh fruit wasnt the best ( we bought better off a stall near the riad ). We had dinner one night, drinks were expensive, tagine wasnt reheated up to correct temperature. The pool is very small and as we had thunderstorms the water quality was suspect. Different reception and front of house staff everyday and no evidence of management. The building itself was beautiful and only 5 mins from the Medina. Hence the price.

Room Tip: ask for a room higher up and with natural light, some rooms are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed for 5 nights towards the end of February to catch a little sun and culture. When arriving at the hotel, what a lovely surprise once you get through the crazy busy centre and narrow streets to get to the hotel. It felt quite magical if you like something different. We were greeted immediately which made our holiday begin straight away. We were told that they would be upgrading our room the next day so we didn't unpack just quickly changed and went to explore. It is only a few minutes walk from the main square and on route there is a cash point. If you walk the opposite way it's about 20 minutes to the new town which has more modern shops and restaurants rather than the traditional souks on your doorstep. The breakfast was fine, they sometimes fetched out pancakes there was always a selection of meats, cheese, eggs etc plus some form of cakes, I drank fruit tea and on the 3rd day we learnt they did omelettes which were very tasty. The rooftop had sun beds and chairs which we made the most of as we had lovely weather. We had 3 rooms in 5 nights... We began in a bright cheerful room in a small courtyard behind the pool which was tranquil, we then had 3 nights in our upgraded room which was large, cold and in the main courtyard right by reception making this room rather noisy, as people just talking could keep you awake as you could hear every word. Our 3rd room was on the roof it had a shower in the actual room, unusual but it worked. I have to say I would have been happy with the first room but we just went with it and absorbed the experience. There was a small pool in the courtyard, more of a plunge pool than a swimming pool. The reception and waiting staff were efficient and pleasant and we did tab all of our food and drink. We kept a record and it was pretty accurate when we paid on departure. I will say that they burn candles which agitated my nose and eyes, I wished for antihistamine so a warning to you fellow sufferers. In summary I would recommend this hotel to those who like something different who would appreciate the quirkiness, it has a good location with helpful staff and individuality in each room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chipsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Have just returned from here with friends....marvellous place. All the staff were lovely, the rooms and food great, couldn't fault it and want to return. Its only a 10 min walk to the main square where all the action is. We wanted to go camel riding and the guy on reception organised a guide to collect us from the Riad and take us to our camels where we dressed like traditional Berbers and trecked through the palms and dunes. I would say that for the money we paid it offered us a great experience and we had an action packed stay from the moment we landed. Thank you to all the staff at the riad 10 out of 10!!.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very large. I really liked the decor. The room doors and windows are not sealed. So some cold air came in. If you stay in warmer months this would be a good thing. We were warm enough with the extra blankets they provided. The bathrobe in the bathroom was nice too.
The location was good. Close to many things. But it was hard to find at first. I would request that they update the map location.
The hotel staff is nice. I was practicing my French the entire time. (Of course they speak English too). The breakfast is good and the outdoor areas are beautiful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kungfukristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#71 of 501 in Marrakech
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#60 of 501 in Marrakech
1,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#26 of 501 in Marrakech
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sebban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sebban

Address: 43 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hsseine | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#99 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £69 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Sebban 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner and former king in Sebban give his name to his beautiful Palace that has been care fully ma intained by his family for over a centery.In 2006 and efter 4 years of renovationand restoration, it became a Moroccan Andalusian architecture jewel. (Zellige,Marbre,carved plaster ,Berber carved wooden, ceilings and original ceilings (Glaoui period),Marbled fontaine ....Everything in this palace of a thousand and one night makes you dreaming and soak up the Oriental culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Prestigia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Palais Sebban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Sebban Marrakech
Palais Sebban Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing