We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful and charming”
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #43 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2011

After reading all the reviews, it was still such a wonderful surprise turning up at riad Karmela and seeing how lovely it is for myself. I would not stay anywhere else in Marrakech after discovering this riad. The location is perfect for exploring the heart and soul of old Marrakech.
Everything is set up for you to relax and enjoy all the various lounge areas of the riad.
We enjoyed a lovely home made meal on our first night. The staff were always very helpful and friendly.
My only regret was I did not have a chance to try out their spa treatments.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed here for five days and couldn't have asked for more.

The setting was lovely (and we particularly enjoyed the turtles) and the rooms and roof terrace were great, but what really made the place was the attentive staff - they lit fires for us, organised trips and brought us endless food, wine and snacks. Not only that, but you're pretty much in the centre of the Medina...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We just came back from Marrakech where we stayed at Riad Karmela and Riad el Nour. Both Riads are beautiful and have a perfect location close to the Medersha and Zouks, but above all I would like to emphasize that it's owner Joel, was most kind , that service was great an food excelent. We´ll go back as soon as possible

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank MIRYAMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

RIad Karmela is a wonderfully chilled out traditional Riad in the old centre of Marrakech.
It's somewhat disconcerting going through the (what it's fair to call) dirty narrow streets on foot with motorbikes whizzing past you to go through what we named the 'Hobbit door'
to the sound of trickling water in a beautifully, traditionally decorated Riad...Orange trees around a traditional mosaic tiled fountain, tortoises 'tearing' around the marble floors, storks flying overhead the open courtyard.......Wonderful food served by cheerful, relaxed staff. They were very helpful with any request for a recommendation and travel arrangements, you felt very taken care of which felt reassuring as it's a labyrinth outside and easy to feel lost!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colefax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This is an extremely nice place to stay, where you can retreat form the hussel and bussel of the historic Medina of Marrakech. The place is full of ambiance and character, the staff were also especially helpful and couldn't be more obliging. We arrived for two nights to take in the sights of the old part of town and enjoyed the peace and tranquility of this friendly Riad. The roof gardens with amazing views over the rooftops were delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alib30000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

My wife and I returned to "Sunny Aberdeen" on Saturday after 1 week in the Riad Karmela.
This beautiful Riad is right in the middle of the medina so DO take advantage of the pick-up service. You will never find it otherwise, even the petit taxis struggle to find this place.

After driving through alleyways barely wide enough for the vehicle to pass through, the driver told us "this is as far as we can take the car, we must complete the journey on foot".
A further 100-150 yds on foot down ever narrower alleys, and wondering what we had let ourselves in for, we arrived at a large wooden door in the alley wall. We entered through a smaller door set into the bigger door and into a different world of calm cool serenity.

We were immediately welcomed by the owner, Joel, who provided us with refreshing mint tea, tips and advice and a very handy map with recommended sights. We were then taken on a short orientation tour of the riad and then to the lovely Room Fatima which like all the rooms is individually furnished in Moroccan style.

We were slightly worried that because the rooms are all arranged around a central courtyard there might be some noise from guests returning to their rooms at night. But this was never a problem.

Not exactly being in the first flush of youth my wife and I were usually back in our room by 10.30-11pm most nights ( with the exception of the night we agreed to guide two Liverpudlian girls, who were unsure of the way back to the Karmela, and were duly led astray.......you know who you are) and our sleep was only disturbed by lovely birdsong in the mornings.

On leaving the riad you are immediately plunged into the hustle and bustle of the medina and it's accompanying exotic sights and sounds but we never felt in the slightest way threatened. But beware! You WILL get lost the first time you try to make your way back to your accommodation for the first time!! But when you do arrive back there is a very picturesque roof terrace complete with splash pool/jacuzzi and views over the rooftops of Marrakech to the High Atlas mountains beyond and you can relax with a glass or two of the house rose.

Joel has mastered the art of always being on hand for advice and at the same time remaining unobtrusive. We would recommend this little gem to anyone contemplating a trip to Marrakech.

My wife and I have traveled extensively and I must say we can level no criticism towards Riad Karmela without being extremely picky.
One suggestion Joel....a sign warning of speeding tortoises!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

An excellent stay at the Riad El Nour for four Rotarians on a visit to see their Marrakech counterparts. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff could not have been more helpful and Said, especially, was the star of the visit. He was constantly cheery and smiling and assisted us with all kinds of advice and information. Highly recommended, but, as previous visitors have said, you MUST get the Riad to organise your transport from the airport as it would be impossible to find on your own! Overall, an excellent trip!

Room Tip: Junior Suite at the Riad El Nour - excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RotaryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 501 in Marrakech
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#32 of 501 in Marrakech
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.5 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#60 of 501 in Marrakech
1,490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 501 in Marrakech
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Karmela 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing