We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“SVG” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #49 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SVG”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were looking for accomodation in a Riad to get away from the usual hotel vacation. Riad Karmela was the answer. Bouchra's assistance from the moment I booked our room was amazing. I made numerous changes to our reservations which were taken care of without a hitch. She organised 2 tours for us, one of the city and the other to Essouaria. Both guides were professional and knowledgeable. The transfer from the airport to the hotel went smoothly and we were well received. Upon our arrival at the Riad, Joel checked us in and provided us with information on the Riad, visiting the city, and overall advice.
The staff at Riad Karmela were welcoming, friendly, helpful.
We dined at the Riad twice (amazing food). the location was perfect as we were close to most sites.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were really touched by the personal attention given by the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    284
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
209
502
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

If Youare looking for a an authentic eperience this would be a good Riad I had researched quite the thoroughly .but unfortunately I had a very bad experience one night at 1230 am at night early morning I was on the rooms at the the back just by the courtyard some one entered the room , my room was not bolted from inside . I looked up there was a young morel an 26 ysr old or so with a big machete knife in his hand I g turned the light on and tsrtled the man I shouted and jumped up straight away screamed that there us a thief startled the guy my young daughter was also inn the room she screamed I chased the man out of my room through the courtyard and through another courtyard shooting top of my voice for help ...my daughter was scera,ing Dad stop I stopped as e had a machete he could have done anything he eventually ran out of a back door .

The man looked drugged .. I was shaken there was no one form the hotel any where one young was asleep near the kitchen I went woke hihim up .. He called the the owner
Nxt MRI ing eve one had heard from screams

Joel the owner said I should not tell any one as jot would be bad for business
I asked him to report to police he said they would nit do anything

I waited next day and now few months have passed no letter received no follow up

I am very disappointed that the manager did nit follow up and tell me what he has done
As much the riad was. Beautiful bt I was disappointed by the management stance on security and did nit seem ti care or make amends .

So especially for ladies travelling alone I would advise make sure your rooms are locked

Also I noised that there were young kids 12-18 ae urn the riad soliciting for sex

A great holiday ruined by the worst experience

I have travelled trough out the world and this was the first time such thing has happened to me

Thank god nothing worse happened it could have been much worse

I would never go back there again mr akhtar from London

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank PareXcellence2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Mister Akhtar, I understand that you both have been very stressed about the situation during your stay in January. I took the situation seriously as it was reported to the Police and the man HAS BEEN arrested and is now in jail for 3 years...As explained during your stay, this was a exceptional situation. We did talk about it several times and you mentionned you were pleased about the follow up before you left the country? It took some time for the investigation but the men has been arrested and went through court. We have also reviewed the control to close the terasse doors ( which was the way he came in) and added cameras. Once again I understand that this is not what you expect and I am very sorry about it. I am also sure that you will understand that it was an one off situation. I must also say that ALL bedrooms have inside locks and all guests have the option to close the bedroom from the inside Best regards Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Nice riad, very well decorated, and located close to the action, but not too close.

Had to call the riad when we arrived at the airport as our pre-arranged transfer was no where to be seen after waiting 15 minutes... rather than standing with a sign of some sort at Arrivals, the riad's driver was sat 30 meters away chatting to his buddies. Little bit more professionalism needed there, but not the end of the world, so we let that one slide.

Only had dinner at the riad on one occasion, and no complaints. Breakfast we also only had once, and even then we were a little late, so the limited selection may've been down to our lateness - so it wouldn't be fair of me to criticise.

Our room was nice - light colour scheme, well decorated, clean, and the free wifi was an added bonus.

The owners - Bouchra seemed very nice, always smiling and quite bubbly. The gentleman (he never actually introduced himself, but from reading other reviews on here, I'm assuming his name was Joel). During our five day stay he only ever said "hello", except on one occasion when we approached him for directions to a restaurant. In my opinion, he definitely should've been more talkative and friendly as he is not only running a business reliant on good customer service, but is also a host and therefore should not be so distant from his guests. Interesting that another recent reviewer has said the same thing.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dav_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Like the 1000 and 1 night fairy tale. Location is perfect in the hart of the medina 10 min walk from big square and very friendly staff. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Loved the location. Totally immersed in the local life

The good:
Location
Staff. Especially the tall one (sorr cant remember the name) usually serving In public space
Wifi free and very decent speed

The not so good:
Room had a funny smell
Manager not as hospitable as described by other travelers. Stayed there a few days and spent a lot of time in the riad. Saw the manager around many times but he never bothered to start a conversation
Missed my early morning departure. Had to make a lot of noise to wake up some staff
Breakfast average

Would I stay there again? No as I felt ignored somehow

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidDiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Have wanted to visit Marrakech for sometime now! We deliberated long and hard on which Riad to choose. Based on great reviews we decided on Karmela. It was perfect! Karmela is an oasis in the middle of the throng of Marrakech. We were greeted by the owner Joel who provided us with information and our first mint tea. The riad is tastefully decorated and has lots of relaxing areas to chill and sunbath. The staff are a friendly bunch and nothing was to much trouble. I can't wait to return with my husband & kids.

Room Tip: Hassan room ground floor very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly2012-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had a very relaxing the stay in the riad which is in the middle of Marrakech. The atmosphere is very friendly and the staff were extremly helpful from the moment we arrived giving us all the information we needed to help us make the most out of our short break. The Riad has plenty of places to sit or lay in peace and enjoy the sun. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times which was very pleasant in the morroccan warm evening sunshine. Brouchra also recommend a restuarant to us called Foundouk Which was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#66 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#78 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#55 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Property: Riad Karmela
Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing