We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #49 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Yes. Everything that's been said before. Very well run and very nice hotel. Great staff, food, location, organisation, help when you need it. And very relaxed in the hotel, you can just help yourself to all sorts of beautiful areas inside, in the courtyards, on the roof.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    284
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
213
510
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Even before we arrived Joel was a wonderful help in promptly answering any questions I had. He arranged the airport transfer and on our arrival and throughout our stay he was patient, thoughtful and a great help to us. He assisted us with our plans for each day, booking great restaurants, tour guides, transport, horse & carriage trips, Hammans and Massages etc etc. He went out of his way to make it a wonderful stay. (There were 10 of us so, that's a lot of people to satisfy...which he did ...with ease!)
We stayed in the Petite Karmela which was just perfect for our group, with our own little courtyard to sit, chat, sip wine or mint tea and discuss the day's adventures amongst friends! The airport transfer (arranged by Joel) was efficient and the driver (Mohammed) very knowledgeable and friendly. The food and wine at the Riad was great (Also lovely touch of a birthday cake for desert!).
We had fun exploring and did not struggle too much with finding our way around....Joel explains this very well and the map is sufficient. I believe the location is just right and could not fault it. We adored your Riad Karmela!
Thank you Joel and staff for making our trip to Marrakech so very special and making it a 50th Birthday to cherish!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendystlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We arrived in the warm sunshine at Marrakech Airport. We were collected by the transport provided by the Riad Karmela. After a short journey to the Riad we offloaded our luggage onto a cart and were escorted to the Riad through the bustling streets. There were many sights to see on our journey but these only added to the cultural experience of Marrakech.

When we arrived at the Riad were we given a warm welcome - along with mint tea! Joel took time to explain how we could get the best out of our stay and was able to recommend some excellent restaurants. We had our first meal in the Riad itself. The dining room area was very tranquil in keeping with the rest of the accomodation. The interior was beautiful with lots of different things to look at- including the tortoises! All of the staff were very welcoming and we really enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast time. The Riad was very clean.

When going out on to the streets it does take a little time to adjust to the hustle and bustle but once you become used to it you realise that it s part of the culture that makes Marrakech.

We would definitely stay at the Riad Karmela should we return to Marrakech.

The weather was also fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Trying to choose accommodation in Marrakech was proving a challenge - we followed a friend's recommendation and booked Riad Karmela, a great choice. Comfortable and traditional, helpful friendly staff, great location - everything we were looking for. In January the weather was pleasant and we also enjoyed the warmth and peacefulness of the roof-top furnished with comfy sun loungers. The staff share their local knowledge. Highly recommend the airport transport service, especially on arrival. We walked to all the recommended tourist attractions including the New City following the map provided by Joel, the owner, on our arrival.

Room Tip: email the riad direct with questions and you'll received helpful, efficient response from Joel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperia, Italy
Level Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

It started with a pick-up at the airport, a friendly welcome and off we went to the riad.
Nicely tucked in the medina, the riad is really gorgeous: beautiful furniture, accents and plants, cozy sitting areas, amazing roof top, and luxury rooms in the Moroccan style.
Joel was really friendly and sat with us to show us eveything to do on the map of Marrakech. That was a great gesture.
The staff is extremely friendly and Badr was our best friend throughout the stay. The owners of the riad should be grateful to have so friendly and enthusiastic staff.
The breakfast was the best throughout our stay in the country with a nice spread of breads, jams, yoghurt, egg dish, and more.
Thank you for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurentCL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We are three girls who go away each year for a long weekend break somewhere interesting and nowhere quite compares to Marrakech! We were lucky to find and book the Riad Karmela and would definitely stay there again. Joel the owner and his staff were very friendly and helpful. The Riad has a lovely courtyard/dining area with a fountain and 2 little tortoises wandering around and colourful bids fluttering amongst the orange trees. The breakfasts were great and the evening meals absolutely delicious. The wine was among the best we had ever tasted. There are lots of little nooks and crannies with comfy sofas where you can sit and have a glass of wine or just to sit and chat or read. The rooftop terrace was spacious with different seated sections where you can relax and it had great views to the Atlas mountains. All rooms are different sizes and designs. The Riad is tucked away in a little maze of alleys but once you get a map it is very easy to find your way around to the Medina and other local places of interest. Taxis can be ordered to pick you up just around the corner if you want to go further afield. Nothing was too much trouble and the restaurants we were recommended to try out were amazing. I would definitely recommend the Karmela to anyone who wants good service and a peaceful location to stay which is close to the Medina. The only downside for me was that someone picked up my favourite black jacket that I had left on a chair maybe not knowing who to return it to - so if that person is reading this I would be so grateful if you could return it to me, I truly would and I will happily pay the costs. Thankyou x

Room Tip: All rooms are different sizes and designs. You can view them online. Lower down rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We were a family of six (age 19 to 55), and we all enjoyed our stay in Riad Karmela. All staff was very friendly and helpful, never experienced anything like this! If we go back to Marrakech, we know where to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisbethR321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#57 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#87 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#67 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#64 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Property: Riad Karmela
Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing