We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #41 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

You couldn't ask for more. Staff, accommodation, service, location are all superb. It's a short walk to the main square, the riad staff are great at guiding you to places of interest. Breakfast under lemon trees

Room Tip: Our suite had its own private roof terrace - slept 5 room 1 I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighcheri7768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Waiting to leave this great riad for flight home after 3 night stay and wishing we could stay longer. From the collection at the airport, arranged in advance by email which went so smoothly to the checkout, the whole stay has been excellent. All the staff are friendly, welcoming, professional and nothing is too much trouble.
We ate in the first night which was very pleasant with decent food and wine. The tranquility of the riad has been the perfect respite from the chaos of the medina.
Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend this wonderful spot.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our first visit to Morocco and we wanted to stay in a traditional road in the centre of the city. The riad arranged the pick up from the airport (necessary due to the otherwise very difficult task of locating the road when you first arrive). The drive itself was an experience of its own through alleys and streets barely wide enough for the car, let alone the people walking and trading in them. Our welcome was comprehensive and friendly and our room comfortable. If you choose to eat there then the meals are excellent. We also enjoyed a traditional Hammam, scrub and massage there, again with very friendly staff. Overall a very enjoyable stay and a place we would happily recommend to others. Great location for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Having read others' reviews, I emailed the hotel - just the day before travelling - to ask for their taxi to meet us at the airport. They replied instantly: good service, we thought. The pick-up did not work perfectly, as the taxi-driver was not there to meet us: fortunately I was able to email them from my phone. Again the hotel responded instantly and all was well. I very much doubt if we would ever have found the hotel without their driver's services, as it is very well concealed. But when he arrived, and for the rest of our stay, the driver was immensely helpful, as was everyone at the Riad. On entering it we were settled down, offered excellent mint tea and given a full and efficient briefing on Marrakech, what to see and where to find it by Joel, our host. We relied heavily on his advice during our stay and all his restaurant recommendations turned out well; though even with the benefit of his useful maps, in 3 days we never learnt to navigate infallibly through the souks.

Like the Tardis, the Riad Karmela is much bigger inside than looks possible from the outside. It is, as everyone says, really beautiful and peaceful, with 3 interior courtyards, a wonderful roof terrace with many, many places to sit and relax, and delightful decor. Our spacious room was charming and everything worked, once we realised that certain lights had to be turned on for power points to function. We loved the main courtyard with its central pool and tables for breakfast and dinner and tortoises roaming around (need to watch where you're putting your feet!) The breakfasts and the one dinner we ate in the hotel were nice without being exceptional. At breakfast there is always a very good egg dish, but you have to watch out for its appearance if you want to eat it while it's hot.

A delightful hotel that I would recommend and go back to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We visited Marrakech for the first time in October 2013 and absolutely loved it with all it's extremes. We stayed 4 nights in Riad Karmela and have been recommending this lovely riad to everyone since our return back home.

We found our room beautifully decorated, clean, safe (with lock on door and a safe) and more importantly it truly is a calm oasis from all the hustle and bustle from the city with beautiful courtyards with comfortable sofa, tortoises, fountains and trees. The roof terrace is also huge and peaceful place to relax with a glass of wine and due to its size you never feel you're on top of any of the other guests.

The staff we were wonderful; we felt very well taken care of and help was always available in matters big or small. Before arriving we had e-mailed to arrange airport transfer, meal at the riad due to our late arrival and twin beds. I got quick response and confirmation for all requests and all matters were taken care of on our arrival.

During our stay the staff also provided us with great induction to the city. We got great induction our first morning with instructions and a map how to find our way back to the riad, as well as great tips on how to manage the hassle on the streets of the Medina and how much to expect to pay for things like local taxis. All very useful things for two females travelling together.

When you stay make sure you arrange to eat at the riad in the evening as one of the best meals we had in Marrakech was actually made by the Riad Karmela chef. We can also highly recommend the trips they arrange. We went on the day trip to Imlil on the mountains and had an amazing time - this was a genuinely authentic experience with a local guide, enjoying the amazing scenery of the Atlas mountains and all this was crowned by lunch at the Berber village - it was incredible.

We can't wait to visit Marrakech again and will most certainly be staying at this Riad!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ms_Susanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed in the 5 person apartment for 4 nights with my family and fiancé. We really enjoyed our time here. We arranged the airport transfer through the Riad after reading the reviews here which was a very good idea. The taxi cannot go straight to the entrance as the Riad is off a small alleyway so it drops you as close as possible and a man greets you with a cart for your bags and takes you to the front door. If you have not been to Marrakech before, it can be a bit daunting as there are lots of small shops and locals lining the streets, it's hot, dusty and noisy.

Once you step into the Riad it is like a whole different world! There is a beautiful central courtyard where you are invited to sit down, given mint tea and biscuits whilst you are checked in. Joel the owner was very nice and talked us through a map of the city. He was very helpful with recommending local restaurants and making reservations if we needed.

The room itself was lovely and clean. It had plenty of character with lots of Moroccan trinkets on the shelves, rugs on the floor and a pretty private terrace outside. You could also access the terrace where breakfast is served from here which is convenient.

Breakfast is continental - a variety of local pastries, jams, cheese, cereal, fresh orange juice, yoghurt and fruit. There is also an omelette that is flavoured differently each day e.g. Cheese, tomato, onion. I thought there was enough not to get bored for the few days we stayed although there have been varying opinions of this. Unfortunately the ladies serving the breakfast are not the most charismatic of people and sometimes I felt like I was bothering them if something had run out and I was asking if there was more. This is not how it should be.

The terrace upstairs is lovely - lots of hidden areas for you to relax and unwind. It is so quiet despite being in the middle of so many buildings. One evening we were too tired to go out so we sat on the sofas, shared a few cheese sandwiches from the bar menu (only other food choice is a tuna sandwich!), had some drinks and it was wonderful. The Riad also offers dinner (3 courses for 25 euros) but you have to tell them in advance. We did not eat there as we wanted to try other places.

Fantastic location - 10 minute walk to the main square Jemma El Fna. Took a day to get our bearings but then felt we knew where we were going!

Highly recommended to all travellers!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodie_SO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Karmela for two nights at the end of September and i must say it beat our expectations in every way. The Riad itself is beautiful and the staff extremely helpful expecially Jamal. I would recommend this Riad to anybody and would most definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.8 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#37 of 500 in Marrakech
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 500 in Marrakech
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,350 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £52 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Karmela 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing