We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good jumping-off point to explore the Medina!”
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #46 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very good jumping-off point to explore the Medina!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice, cosy and recommendable riad to explore the Medina of Marrakech. Most interesting locations and highlights are within walking distance. Safe neighborhood at night, creepy only for the unskilled and unexperienced travelers ;-)
Professional service and courteous help in any situation. Room (Hassan) not too big (for three persons) but clean and as described, daylight in the room depends on location. Window(s) to the patio. That's just the way it is. It's a riad... ;-) Public areas like chimney, patio and roof are really inviting! Extras like Moroccan wine, beer, juice etc. are not overcharged. Local tea and different mini-snacks served with the drinks are tasty and even for free!
We've booked the Christmas diner. It was a convivial evening with drinks, local musicians, a nice down-home menu and a very warm service.
Breakfast only till ten o'clock. Late risers never know the true promise of the whole buffet. Breakfast variety is ok but more standard than great experience. To serve thirty guests every morning is a hard job, so the staff is very busy an snugness is affected...
All in all upper average, cosy, central and quite recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freibildzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    291
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
222
526
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Riad Karmela was the highlight of our trip to Morocco. Whether it was the great breakfast on the rooftop overlooking the city, the incredible staff that went above and beyond to accommodate us, the great pools in the tranquil courtyards, or the beautifully renovated rooms, this place was an absolute gem! In the middle of summer the mayhem of the souks can become a bit full on, so retreating to this Riad to relax during the hottest part of the day was a great relief. I would highly recommend Riad Karmela!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zubrowka75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We, a Swedish family with children now aged 20,19,17 years, spent 5 days at Riad Karmela in 2011 and were quite happy to return again, this second time in November 2013. The service is excellent, and so is the location. Next time we go back to Marrakech, we will stay at Riad Karmela again! Unfortunately our oldest girl had to stay home because of stadies.
Breakfast is very good.
Willy + Ingela, with Frida and André

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerbaulet5110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Riad Karmela for 4 nights over Christmas and had a wonderful time. The staff are all lovely and always ready to help. We had the Zorah suite which has two separate rooms, with a comfortable single daybed in one room with the ensuite off and a double bed in the main bedroom. I was dubious about how good the plumbing etc would be in this old building but it was fine, with a great shower. We booked for the special Christmas Eve dinner which was a brilliant evening with local musicians and dancers and a fantastic banquet. The food is excellent, including the very good continental style breakfast buffet.
I definitely recommend you arrange your airport transfer via the hotel. It is not possible to get any vehicle close up to the hotel but their drivers know where to go and will ring the hotel to send someone to escort you and bring your luggage up the narrow alleyways and tunnel entrance - and once you stoop down to go through the tiny entrance door you find a hidden paradise of beautiful courtyards topped by the amazing roof terraces.
This place is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues or for people who want to stay up late being noisy- the hotel staff are keen to maintain the atmosphere of tranquility from 10pm to 10am.
The location is great - right in the middle of the Medina, an easy stroll through the souks to the main square. But there isn't much in the immediate vicinity if you just wanted to pop out for a snack or a drink in the evening and as two females we would feel a bit uncomfortable walking back late at night.

Room Tip: Rooms off the second courtyard will be quieter than those off the first one where meals are served
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipnEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hidden in the warren of the Marrakesch medina is this quiet and beautifully appointed riad. Knowledgeable staff helped organize dessert trip and transport to Essaoiura at busy time. We were up- graded to lovely suite and had a comfortable bed with quiet nights. Nice breakfast and friendly staff- nothing was too much trouble. Would not hesitate to stay again

Room Tip: Select rooms on second floor and away from dining area for quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

After the hotel we had booked weeks ago let us down, we had to quickly find a replacement. a blessing in disguise as the sister hotel to Riad Karmela - Riad Hergoughi was sublime! Arrival into Marrakech was a bit of an unorganised affair after it took over two hours for a driver to take us to the Riad but once we did arrive, Siad made us feel at home.

Riad Heroughi is across an alley way from the Karmela but we were able to use the facilities at Karmela at any time. This included wifi in the courtyard and breakfast. Wifi at the Herougui would have been good. The young man looking after we at our Riad was very attentive and helpful.

Really great location. Away from the chaos but close enough to walk everywhere.

We felt like we had the entire Riad to ourselves so it felt extra special!

The breakfast was okay, just a bit repetitive. We stayed for 4 days.

Overall, I recommend this Riad! We were in the Indian inspired room - and we had a look at couple of the other 'suites'...I think ours was the best!

Room Tip: We were in the Indian inspired room - and we had a look at couple of the other 'suites'...I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamodedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was not a 5 star experience, but is full of character and the best way to experience Marrakech! So full of atmosphere, and the owner was always helpful and honest about the surroundings.. we couldn't have survived without him! The hotel evening food was very good quality, particularly the fish, but they were not so well set up for breakfast and lunch.

We went as two young females on a city break; we were slightly out of our depth in Marrakech and were completely intimidated by our surroundings! We found the haggling quite aggressive and were shocked at the high prices.

We did go out one night to the newer part of Marrakech with large commercial hotels; we were much more relaxed in this area but there isn't an ounce of culture. We joined a larger group of women and it became a completely different experience - I would suggest visiting with a group of friends as we could not relax outside of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel but probably wouldn't return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-in-Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 499 in Marrakech
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#68 of 499 in Marrakech
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#37 of 499 in Marrakech
1,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#19 of 499 in Marrakech
857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#42 of 499 in Marrakech
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Property: Riad Karmela
Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Karmela 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing