We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely calm and tradition Riad.”
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #46 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely calm and tradition Riad.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Firstly, if you're thinking of going to Marrakech, don't hesitate. Yes, it's dirty, and yes, people drive like maniacs, and yes, you may see the odd drowned cat in a bin, but it's such a bustling place with the most incredible atmosphere. I've never been anywhere else in the world where there is so much stimulation for the senses.

But it is daunting, and very busy. The Riad Karmela was the perfect oasis of calm. As other reviewers have said it is hard to find, but if you arrange a trasnfer you'll be walked straight to the door and it's not hard finding your way after the first couple of times.

We were greeted with traditional pastries, mint tea, a map of the city (not brilliant but probably the best you can get for a city with such an intricate layout). The Riad is absolutely stunning, especially the roof terrace, which we had all to ourselves when we went. For those who are very particular about cleanliness it may fall short, but it was perfectly adequate. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated.

We had one meal in the Riad and the food was excellent. They fully catered for me as a vegetarian and we were not charged extra for the wine, which is locally produced and is surprisingly good. We also took an excursion to the mountain which was very well organised, great value for money and an amazing experience.

If I go back to Marrakech, I will stay there for sure.



  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcg295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    291
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
223
533
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Riad Karmela really is a haven when you step through their gates out of the hustle & bustle of arriving into Marrakech!
Our family spent the first 2 nights here & couldn't have been happier.
The staff - ESP Joel, were extremely helpful & caring. Nothing was ever a problem. The rooms were clean & adequate. We had dinner there the first night & was grateful after a tough day traveling not to be thinking about trying to find our way to eat somewhere else. Plus the food was excellent, the beers cold & service expedient. Breakfast was also terrific & a great selection.
Location to the main square & Souks very handy.
We certainly recommend this Riad to fellow travelers for value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacqMD3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

found a great Riad to stay in Marrakech, arrived New Years Eve morning, greeted by Mine host Joel who showed us a map of the city and routes from the riad, recommended places to eat and to visit, all this over mint tea and sweets. Our room was the Hasna, great room, high ceiling, huge bathroom. New years eve dinner was a fabulous affair, and cabaret to see in the new year,
we stayed 4 wonderfull nights, and thanks to all the staff for making our visit a great one.
I thoroughly recommend this Riad and hosts Joel and Bouchra.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A lovely riad, which was ideal to escape the busy medinas. Our stay here was peaceful, our room was great and we were upgraded so our stay was great value. Staff were always helpful and on hand to give advice, we had no issues with airport transfers. Breakfast provided a decent selection of options and was served on the roof terrace. Would stay here again as the location was ideal, very quiet but still near to everything we wanted to experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lwsy1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice, cosy and recommendable riad to explore the Medina of Marrakech. Most interesting locations and highlights are within walking distance. Safe neighborhood at night, creepy only for the unskilled and unexperienced travelers ;-)
Professional service and courteous help in any situation. Room (Hassan) not too big (for three persons) but clean and as described, daylight in the room depends on location. Window(s) to the patio. That's just the way it is. It's a riad... ;-) Public areas like chimney, patio and roof are really inviting! Extras like Moroccan wine, beer, juice etc. are not overcharged. Local tea and different mini-snacks served with the drinks are tasty and even for free!
We've booked the Christmas diner. It was a convivial evening with drinks, local musicians, a nice down-home menu and a very warm service.
Breakfast only till ten o'clock. Late risers never know the true promise of the whole buffet. Breakfast variety is ok but more standard than great experience. To serve thirty guests every morning is a hard job, so the staff is very busy an snugness is affected...
All in all upper average, cosy, central and quite recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freibildzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Riad Karmela was the highlight of our trip to Morocco. Whether it was the great breakfast on the rooftop overlooking the city, the incredible staff that went above and beyond to accommodate us, the great pools in the tranquil courtyards, or the beautifully renovated rooms, this place was an absolute gem! In the middle of summer the mayhem of the souks can become a bit full on, so retreating to this Riad to relax during the hottest part of the day was a great relief. I would highly recommend Riad Karmela!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zubrowka75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We, a Swedish family with children now aged 20,19,17 years, spent 5 days at Riad Karmela in 2011 and were quite happy to return again, this second time in November 2013. The service is excellent, and so is the location. Next time we go back to Marrakech, we will stay at Riad Karmela again! Unfortunately our oldest girl had to stay home because of stadies.
Breakfast is very good.
Willy + Ingela, with Frida and André

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerbaulet5110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 499 in Marrakech
936 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#68 of 499 in Marrakech
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#36 of 499 in Marrakech
1,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#69 of 499 in Marrakech
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Property: Riad Karmela
Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Karmela 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing