We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly lovely and memorable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #50 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A truly lovely and memorable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

Bouchra, Joel and their team were the most attentive hosts from the moment when we made our first e-mail enquiry to the point of our arrival. We could not have been made to feel more welcome. We were greeted at the airport by our pre-booked taxi to arrive in the centre of Marrakech - to the magical sights sounds and smells of everyday life. We were led down a very narrow alleyway to what we can only descibe as "a little haven" away from the hustle and bustle. The decor, ambience and service was flawless, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the room Aicha - this was gorgeous. The roof terrace was a lovely place to relax and sip mint tea, whilst hearing the call to prayer. The meals were delicious, even down to the extra detail of rose petals being sprinkled on the tables. I could go on but I think anyone reading this will get the picture that my Husband and I had a wonderful 5 days here, and would definately return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    284
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
213
508
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

I took my husband for his 40th Birthday and we had a wonderful time. The Riad Karmela is a perfect retreat. The staff are very attentive and extremely friendly and helpful. The Riad itself is very pretty with it's orange trees growing in the courtyard. Despite our trip being in December we still enjoyed a couple of drinks on the roof terrace in the evenings.

The Riad offers evening meals which I would highly recommend for atleast one of your dinners. They also recommended a couple of restaurants nearby - both of which were also very good.

The staff were more than happy to arrange restaurants, excursions and offer advice - we could not fault their willingness to help us settle in and navigate ourselves around.

I have already recommended Riad Karmela to some of my friends and should we ever have the opportunity to visit Marrakech again, I will be staying in the same place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

A hotel staff member picked us up at the airport as planned. When we arrived at the riad we were given detailed information on how to best navigate the alleys of the Medina to the markets and the main square, Jemaa El Fna. I cannot stress how helpful this was. Our room was fine - spacious and clean, with a safe. The courtyards and terraces were beautifully decorated. The staff were friendly and very professional. The dinner served at the riad is somewhat expensive, but it was delicious!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnZeeEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

stayed 2 nights with 5 persons. Perfect location for a quick trip in this special city.
We used the taxi service which garanteed an fast arrival in the riad.
Good diner and breakfast. Beautiful appartment

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nitaaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

After reading all the TripAdvisor reviews, we thought this hotel would be great once we found it. And we were right.

Riad Karmela is a beautiful place--the rooms are large (we stayed in one of the triples), and there are touches of luxury everywhere, from the beautiful bed coverings to the thick, absorbent towels. The public seating areas are as beautiful and welcoming as one could ask for. Even better, you can sit and enjoy them without having to purchase any food or beverages. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived until we checked out. And the Medina with all its shops and markets are right at your doorstep. Finding the Riad Karmela, however, is quite a task.

Despite the detailed directions that the hotel staff provided us, we were unable to locate the recommended parking garage and ended up driving all the way to the airport and taking a taxi back to the hotel. However the hotel is not fully reachable by taxi, and after several failed attempts to get us to the right meeting location, we were finally met by someone from the hotel, who helped us drag our luggage through the cobblestone streets and down the narrow and winding alleys to the hotel. Once we finally went through the hotel entrance door, we felt we'd arrived in paradise.

A couple other not-quite-perfect things--there was no suitcase stand in the room, no courtesy hooks in the bathroom (the towels are stored under the sink, which was quite a distance from the shower), no phone or tv in the room, no locks on the doors (there is a small room safe), and there were a couple of minor maintenance issues in the bathroom. The breakfast is adequate, and we did have dinner there, which was only so-so, especially for the price. The guest rooms all look down onto the public areas, and if these areas are being used, the noise (conversations, laughter, etc.) travels directly up into the rooms. On one of our nights there, there was so much noise that we were unable to get to sleep.

If I return to Marrakech, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CONAIRAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Not only is the Riad in the best location of Marrakech but it is the best service I ever had in a small hotel .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesareejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home counties, england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

a lovely calm, peaceful riad with helpful staff and good facilities. A little hard to find on your own but we had the luxury of being met at the airport by Saeed. Joel provided us with a map and helped us get our bearings - we still managed to get lost a few times but nothing serious - it just added to the fun! Lovely food and the decor was beautiful. Quite a romantic feel too! Hamman and massage highly recommended. Authentic Marrakechi place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#90 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#67 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#60 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Property: Riad Karmela
Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing