We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of hospitality”
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Karmela
Ranked #42 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I just came back from an amazingly romantic valentines week with my partner at Riad Karmela. My first surprise was when I walked into my room and found rose petals everywhere and a bottle of champagne. Joel, Said, Carmel and Assis were the best host sI have ever had, with a genuine intention to be hospitable not to follow a protocol like in most luxury hotels. They put us in the smaller Riad which made us feel like we were staying at our own private palace. The food there is also amazing, and the hammam fabulous... I consider Riad Karmela my home in Marrakech, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Renato Zamagna & Nathan Thomas

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtroter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
There are newer reviews for Riad Karmela
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic week at Riad Karmela - first time in Marrakech was a perfect combination of the buzzling Medina, Arab culture, friendly and inclusive Morrocans and the relaxing atmosphere at the riad. The riad was perfectly situated at the back of the souks and the restoration they have done seems impeccable. The room Kaiss was a little dream in itself (although it took a bit of getting used to the sounds echoing upstairs). The Atlas excursion was very good (although we would like to climb a bit higher next time). Dinners were very good - compliments to the cook for the Beuf Tangier, - which was superb (as was the Monkfish)! We have already decided to come back next year in March sometime.

Minor minuses would be a price and no eggs or ham/salami for breakfast. But all in all - full pot from us.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whyoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I went with a group of girlfriends for a birthday celebration. We relaxed by the fountain under the orange trees while we were served complimentary mint tea and biscuits. Very friendly staff showed us the easiest way to get around on a map, pointing out highlights and tips for not getting lost! My room was beautiful with a little balcony overlooking one of the courtyards. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

As we stepped over the threshold of The Riad Karmela after tramping through the alleyways following our luggage on a trek cart, any fears we may have had about the quality of our accommodation were completely allayed. The beautifully laid out building with with its internal courtyards, fountain & many discreet nooks & crannies conveyed an atmosphere of calm & restfulness. Bouchra & Joel are helpfulness personified, the rooms are charming - clean & idiosyncratic. The breakfast menu suited all palates and our one dinner experience was delicious. We would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zamerria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful Riad. Such a quiet and relaxing place to get back to. We did find it a bit difficult to get to, through very dark streets but once you know the way it's worth while.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

My family (myself, husband & 22-year-old daughter) stayed at the Ria Karmela in December 2010 between Christmas and New Year's. We had the best time and look forward to returning in the near future. We booked our stay over the internet - which had us somewhat concerned. We should not have been! Everything was wonderful! The hotel arranged for trips to and from the airport and for a guide for the day. The taxi drivers were great. They were very friendly and relayed information about Marrakech. The guide was the best decision we made. He was EXCELLENT! He took us into the neighborhoods, behind the scenes of the market, and gave us an excellent look into the people of Marrakech. The Riad was beautiful! We had a suite that had a balcony overlooking the main sitting area. The entire Riad was decorated beautifully. The rooftop was one of the highlights of our stay. They have several different seating areas with marvelous views. They have a cook that comes in and prepares Morrocan fair for dinner. The meals were superb. Joel, one of the owners, was very helpful. I cannot say enough positive things about this Riad. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I have recently returned from a fabulous few days in Marrakech with a group of friends. We chose to stay in a Riad as we wanted the experience of a more traditional stay. It did not disappoint. As we walked in from the busy street we were amazed at what we found inside - orange trees growing in the courtyard, lovely sitting areas and the bedrooms were all quite individual. The very friendly staff organised taxis for us and recommended places to visit. We ate in the Riad one night and had a lovely meal. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice. The Hammam was quite an experinece too.
I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCeltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
1,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#64 of 502 in Marrakech
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#66 of 502 in Marrakech
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 502 in Marrakech
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £71 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Karmela 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing