We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very family orientated, good service, very traditional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Chorfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Chorfa
Ranked #274 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very family orientated, good service, very traditional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Riad, is no doubt a wonderful place to stay in.. If you prefer to stay in a traditional hotel then this is ideal for you!... The customary service is also good, as we were unsure which tourist group to book activities and the manager (Mujeed) helped us and allowed us to use his phone on numerous occasions.

Breakfast was phenomenal and whatever we wanted was at our service! One morning, the manager cooked breakfast for us really early as we had a activity booked. Thus, it fits around you.

However, one downfall, wasnt told that we would be charged for water bottles provided to us and were surprised with the amount we were charged when we were about to leave.

Overall, i would most certainly go back and stay but for much longer this time!

Thank you very much Mujeed!! You were great!

Room Tip: Go for the top rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara_khatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    30
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Unfortunate choice to stay in Marrakech. I spent three nights with two friends and we had to change rooms twice. The trip highlight was that we found a piece of [--] on the bathroom floor. They invited us to dinner to make up for the "inconvenience", but guess what... beverages were were not included! Unbelievable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadridLis o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is a really lovely Riad but you can see it was renovated about 5 or more years ago. It needs repainting and some general attention. We stayed a total of 4 nights and breakfast was a little monotonous, very Moroccan which we enjoyed but once you've had freshly baked flat bread, hot pancakes etc you realise Riad Chorfa is not trying hard enough. We ate dinner there one night which again was very disappointing - surprisingly we ate a better tagine in the middle of a desert sand storm during our "camel trek - having said that, the desert tagine was the best we had ion the holiday.
But the staff are lovely, the 18th century Riad is stunning, the vegetation and tortoises delightful and I cannot begin to describe how peaceful it was sleeping there. You will need to be a very light sleeper to hear anything at all. For example, on waking after our first night, I was convinced we had the whole Riad to ourselves, but it turned out to be full! Maybe we were lucky with considerate fellow guests but we stayed 4 nights.
So you can see despite the list of negatives, it still gets 4 stars from us. Even if you don't stay a visit next door to Dar Cherifa which also does lovely lunches is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craibstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Phenomenal interior design! Overall aura and interior design of the place is magical, very similar to infamous Bahia Palace.

Staff is very friendly, helpful, and honest. 1-2 members of the staff speak English. For example, when we wanted bottled water for room service, they informed us of the nearby market which sells water for half their listed price.

Place is very clean, and secure. Rooms are spacious, and accommodating. Weather in February was cold during nights, an extra heater was provided in our room. Breakfast service includes variety of bread, cakes, coffee and traditional tea. T

The location of the riad is great, in a small alley across Mosque Mouassine, which is about a 3-5 min of walking to Jemaa El-Fna via the souks. The streets can be hard to navigate, I recommend making use of Google Maps on your smart phone as they also work without mobile internet.

As a friendly reminder, I must point out that the location shown on the booking.com site is totally irrelevant. We got lost because of booking.com, but managed to find a friendly taxi driver who gave a call to the hotel for the right directions.

Room Tip: The room on the entry floor is a bit noisy in the morning due to breakfast service. This room is two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dselcen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We had a great stay at the Riad Chorfa. This place is beautiful. The staff were all really friendly and very helpful. Our room was excellent and spotlessly clean. We booked a traditional chicken tagine one evening which was the perfect way to spend a night away from Djemma El Fna. We also enjoyed the local red wine which was very reasonably priced. All in all, excellent value for money and highly recommended.We really had no complaints!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JagoKenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a great stay here in mid-June 2012.

The Staff: could not have been more friendly and helpful. My airline lost my luggage & the team at the Riad made numerous calls on my behalf to try and retrieve it. They were also very helpful on day trips out of Marrakech.

The Room: our room on the top floor was clean, spacious, had air con & direct access to the roof. More than anything, the decor was, as expected of any Riad, in traditional Moroccan style & you could not have been anywhere else in the world. Why come to Marrakech & stay in a sterile hotel room where it feels like any other hotel room around the world.

The Food: on half-board, we had breakfast every morning & it was excellent & at a time of our convenience. We ate in one night & the food was really excellent. Highly recommended.

The facilities: a roof terrace with a view over the hubbub of Marrakech old town, this proved perfect for any sun-bathing needs in the privacy of the Riad. The main courtyard on the ground floor is extraordinary: an orange tree, birds galore, three tortoises & a very peaceful atmosphere, all accompanied by the brilliant Moroccan decor.

The location: an 8 minute walk north of the main square. Down a very quiet, peaceful side alley - you would never know it was there. 1 minute walk from the bureau de change & the souks. Brilliant location.

Generally: just do it. It's ace.

Room Tip: Pick the room on the top floor. The one straight in front of you at the top of the stairs, not the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights in June 2012. Riad Chorfa is a beautiful, atmospheric riad decorated in high Moroccan style with vibrant colours. The courtyard is a cool, peaceful haven and includes three pet tortoises.

We stayed in room Inshallah which was very cool in the extreme Marrakesh heat. The riad was very clean & the breakfasts were of good quality.

The riad is very centrally located & is close to Djemma El Fna.

There is efficient & free wifi.

I organised our stay via Internet from West Africa (including an airport pick up for one party). Hannane was very efficient with these arrangements & it all went smoothly.

I would recommend this riad.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#112 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Ftouma
Riad Dar Ftouma
#210 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#99 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Reve d'Or
Riad Reve d'Or
#251 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Villa Mouassine
Riad Villa Mouassine
#393 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#256 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chorfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chorfa

Property: Riad Chorfa
Address: 6, Derb Chorfa El kebir - Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#198 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chorfa 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chorfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chorfa Marrakech
Riad Chorfa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing