We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Peaceful - a Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Zarka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Zarka
Ranked #280 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful - a Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

My friend and I ( two women in their 20s) arrived at Marrakech airport to be greeted by the Riad's representative, Aziz , and the transfer driver. My french was minimal and my friend knew a bit more than me however Aziz could understand what we were saying. We drove to the Jemaa El Fna, which is as far as you can go by car, and then Aziz walked us through the Souks to the Riad. I agree with the other reviews that the transfer is a must, otherwise it could take you a while to find on your own. On entering the Riad we were greeted by the staff and made to feel very welcome. The courtyard has a fountain, plants and some seating areas. On one table there are leaftets, maps and excursion details. I would suggest that travellers arrange their excursions through the Riad as opposed to any external companies. My friend and I went to the Cascades D'Ouzoud using the Riad's driver service which I would highly recommend. The vehicle was comfortable and the driver was friendly.

We were staying in the Blue Room, which consisted of two single beds, a little bedside table, a chair, another table and two storage spaces. The toilet and shower room are a beautiful terracota and were very clean. The room overlooks the courtyard which is lit by candlelight at night. In the morning, breakfast is served around 8.30am. We were served yogurt, fresh bread, brioche, pancakes, jam, marmalade and mint tea. This was plenty for a breakfast and we were always greeted with big smiles - a great start to the day! The Riad is extremely close to the Souks and the Jemaa El Fna, however the atmosphere inside the Riad is very peaceful in comparision to the busy streets and markets.

The Riad has a lovely, homely feel and we were made to feel welcome and secure for the entire stay. I highly recommend this Riad and will definately be returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeanneScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    25
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

Riad Zarka is a classy, well maintained Riad. We booked a room with a/c which was a must. It was between 40 - 45 degrees when we stayed.... phew it was hot... The Riad was awesome and we loved it. The only problem was that there was no radio in the room. Before we left we confirmed our booking and transfer and everything was fine. Aziz from the hotel greeted us with a big smile and a van, he then escorted us through the markets to our hotel. We would of got totally lost without booking this transfer. The street lighting around the hotel was adeque at night time. There are always plenty of locals so no need to worry about safety too much (as long as your with a male). There is a cute little boy that lives just outside the hotel that will give you a high five at the drop of a hat. We loved Marrakech, but we felt that three nights was enough. We would of loved to travel to the mountains and maybe the coast.

We ate at the souks in the main square at night time. It's a real experience, and complete chaos, but fun none the less. There are also local deserts and spicy mint teas you can drink for next to nothing. We managed to find a place near the main square that sells beer! it took a while, but i managed to find booze pretty quickly. The Riad also sells beer and wine for a reasonable price. Just shout for Aziz and he will get you a beer from the fridge. The beer could of been a little colder, but beggars cant be choosers!.

If you are considering staying at this Riad - I wouldnt hesitate to stay with them again

  • Liked — the decor
  • Disliked — nothing nagative to say
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisbh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

We had a pleasant stay at the Riad. I would recommend that you book airport pick up. The best of the whole stay was our host Assis, who answeared all of our questions. The location is in the middle of the Souks, I got a little scared at the beginning but then when you learn your way out, there´s no problem, everybody in marrakech was very nice. Two things: 1. It´s a little expensive for what they offer: no tv, no air conditioning and poor light in the room, I was expecting marrakech to be a little less expensive than it is, prices are like in europe. And 2. Since location is in the center of the Medina, we were recommended not to leave the Riad after 10pm for security reasons, so nights were little boring. Overall it was ok.

  • Liked — The interior patio, the patio decor
  • Disliked — hotel facilities: tv, aair conditioning, lighting
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yarelicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

our airport transfer did not turn up as confirmed. In fact, we received an email from the owner 2 days after our arrival to confirm our transfer! No apology offered.

Breakfast is shocking for the price - a slice of cheap brioche and OJ. On our last day, they forgot we were leaving and we ended up paying the cleaner instead of the owner. No receipt given and we left a stranded guest there whose airport transfer hadn't turned up - no surprises there!

The room was clean and comfortable - a bit small but we were hardly there. The location is close to the souqs but there was no atmosphere. It was not welcoming and we could not ask the staff for tips or anything. We never met the owner the whole time we were there - never asked if we needed anything etc.

If i were to go back, I would rather stay in a riad owned by local Moroccans probably for half the price and contribute to the locals.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of customer service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guiltypleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

We had a very, very nice experience at Riad Zarka (April 08) .

I would echo the advice of other reviewers that you MUST arrange to have them pick you up, as you will NEVER find it by yourself (even though getting back is easy once you know the way). When we called about this we got a French only speaker, but we then emailed in English and heard back from the proprietress and all was fine.

It is lovely. Pretty general areas. Rooms small but nice, clean, and comfortable. Conveniently located, a few minutes walk from the main square. Staff extraordinarily accommodating (though linguistically limited - not a problem for us, perhaps more for others)

Nevertheless worth noting to the negative side: the included breakfast is very modest indeed. And perhaps more seriously, though we had absolutely no problem, some may feel uneasy walking back to the Riad after the shops along the way have closed (9:30-10) - not a problem for us at all since our habit is a not too late dinner then back to the Riad for a glass of wine and to bed early enough to get up and going pretty early the next day; but perhaps more serious for someone who habitually wants to return late from the club scene or whatever.

But for us a very happy stay - we'd defintiely go there again and recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Outstandingly accommodating in every way
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Estesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

While difficult to find upon first arriving, Zarka is a gem that is nearby to the souqs and the centre of the medina. We stayed in the Green room, but every aspect of the riad that we saw maintained the same charm and flavour, and everything was decorated with both taste and comfort in mind. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontotandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

Two women travelling alone for the first time in Marrakech and can't wait to return. Riad Zarka could not have been more conveniently located. Staff extremely helpful, and breakfast brilliant. Great to sit in the courtyard in the evenings. We stayed in the blue room, which was really authentic, and the shower was lovely and the complimentary toiletries were great. We went shopping and returned with our bargains on a regular basis as Riad Zarka really is less than two minutes from the madness that is Marrakech. What a wonderful city and what a fabulous place to stay. Can't wait to bring our families back.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank shefftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#163 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.3 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#42 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#246 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zarka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zarka

Property: Riad Zarka
Address: 143 Derb Aarjane | Rahba Lakdima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Zarka 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Zarka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zarka Marrakech
Riad Zarka Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing