We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven on earth !!”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #33 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Owned by Michael and Lisa who are just wonderful people, this Riad defies description - a beautiful relaxed oasis of calm deliciously decorated and with staff who cannot do enough for you. The food is wonderful, the accommodation likewise. ANyone travelling to Marrakech and booking a Riad simply shouldn't miss this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Dar Charkia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

Dar Charkia is a gorgeous little hotel in the medina of Marrakech. My parents and I had a wonderful four day stay there, where we dined on their delicious breakfasts, relaxed in the multiple sitting areas, and got to know the lovely staff. The location is ideal and the shopping tips (and map) are superb. Lisa and Michael are great hosts. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acv86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Dar Charkia at the beginning of March for a long weekend. Lisa and Michael, the owners, had been extremely helpful prior to arrival which was great - better than any service I have ever had anywhere else! When we got there, we were not disappointed - the Riad is lovely, as are all the staff - it is a very friendly, welcoming place - I would highly recommend a stay here to any of my friends or family.
Thank you for a memorable break, Lisa, Michael and all of your staff at Dar Charkia! x

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineReddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed three nights with Dar Charkia and everything was absolutely lovely. They do a good job of working with you on booking and arranging tours and the like. The staff is excellent also. The hotel itself is beautiful and perfectly kept. We did not eat in the hotel, but we saw other guests dining and the food looked and smelled amazing. We took a day tour with the inhouse guide Catherine to Ozurate and had a wonderful day. Catherine is very knowledgeable about the area and Moroccan history and just plain good company too. In sum, would highly recommend a stay at the Dar Charkia.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abby081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We have just returned from a short break in Marrakech and felt compelled to add to the existing glowing reviews of this fantastic Riad in the heart of the Medina. Lisa and Michael, the owners of Dar Charkia, made us feel welcome long before we arrived in Morrocco by helping us to put together an itinerary that really made the most of our limited time. On arrival, they went out of their way to make us feel at ease and gave us invaluable tips on everything from where to buy the best local goods to how much to pay for taxis and horse-drawn carriage rides. We really noticed how much better informed we were than other tourists that we spoke to who were not staying at Dar Charkia! Our room was spotlessy clean and tastefully decorated with both local and international artifacts, as was the whole Riad, and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geetee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend of my 30th birthday in Marrakech and chose to stay at Dar Charkia. On arrival, the lovely Lisa gave us a warm welcome and was extremely helpful in talking us through the map of Marrakech. All her recommendations were first class and my only complaint with the trip is that we didn't have enough time to explore each and every one of these. All the staff are extremely friendly and attentive, helping us in every way we asked. Apart from being amazingly clean and comfortable our room was so full of character that it is impossible to feel anything but relaxed and happy. Location is great - allows you to escape the hustle and bustle while being close enough to also enjoy the hustle and bustle! I could go on and on but all that's left to say is stay here - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 days durig March and we had an absolutely incredible time. The booking process was very simple and during the lead-up to our trip we received regular contact from Lisa and Michael with recommendations and helpful tips for our arrival. Upon arrival we were greated by the lovely litle Samira and given some refreshments. We were then given a detailed explanation of the city and a map that showed all of the best places to eat, shop and sight see. This map proved invaluable and we never left the riad without it and chose to eat at the many places that were recommended all of which were delicious. We also had our first meal at the hotel that was lovely. I would particularly recommend the carrot ad cumin soup for starter that was possibly the best soup I have ever tasted, Dinner was served by the ever eager Rashid who was always willing to do anything for anyone and nothing was too much. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious and fresh every day and both me and my partner loved the fact that you could have it at any time and were not restrcted with strict set times. During our time we took part in 2 of the trips that were recommended by the hotel. These were the balloon ride and spa afternoon. Both were fantastic although unfortunately our view was hampered a little by mist on the balloon ride (but what can anyone do about that and it was still a lovely experience). On leaving big samira gave my partner a heina tattoo that was a work of art completed in record time.

All in all the stay was absolutely fabulous and we will definately be returning. All of the staff were fantastic and made us feel right at home. Both Lisa and Michael were lovely hosts and had great recommendations.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#31 of 502 in Marrakech
823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#15 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £77 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing