We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of Marrakech”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #36 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A gem in the heart of Marrakech”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

A gem hidden amongst the treasures of magical Marrakech. Nestled down a quiet back street, the heart and soul of this exquisite riad throbs with the love and passion of its owner hosts - Lisa & Michael - whilst retaining the authentic flavours of this ancient city. Dar Charkia reflects the passion of its owners and alongwith their small number of BIG hearted and welcoming staff, they unfailingly went the 'extra mile' to make our 3 day stay a really special and memorable experience. We all loved the vibrant colour palette of the riad and the inner courtyard is a true oasis of calm - where twinkling tea lights and hanging mirrored pendants bewitched and sedated us as the heat of the day abated heralding the inky blue coolness of dusk; a place to reflect and relax over mint tea or with fresh home made orange juice after a day in the souks! Extra brownie points too for the gorgeous tattooes that Samia gave our teenage daughters. Thank you thank you thank you - we can't wait to come back and look forward to our friends coming to stay in the knowledge that they too will have an amazing time. Inshallah!!!! xxxxxxx

Room Tip: go online and take a good luck at the style of each - if you are a light sleeper then the rooms abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    60
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
185
642
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

From arrival to departure Michael, Lisa and the staff made you feel as if you were staying in one of the worlds best hotels. Nothing is too much effort for the staff, and their attention to detail is second to none, this Riad is a pure oasis of calm right in the heart of old Marrakech. The hotel is located only a few hundred yards from the centre of the souke, which makes it a perfect location for a stay in the old town. Lisa and Michael have a great knowledge of the many restaurants and places of interest in town, and will point you in the right direction if you ask. We asked the staff to arrange a day trip to the Atlas mountains, and a guided walking tour of the bazaar, both of these were worth doing especially the mountain tour, with our great driver Abdu. We will definitely be back for another visit, may thanks to you all for making our trip so special.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicky_elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We were very happy with our choice of riad: Lisa, Michael and their staff were very welcoming, we had booked dinner in the riad for our first night and the tajines were delicious, as were the treats at breakfast. Lisa's tips were very helpful in making sure that we had a wonderful, hassle-free stay in Marrakech. We loved the hamman that Lisa recommended - it hadn't made its way into the guide books yet so was wonderfully tranquil. We have very fond memories of our stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatDrinkandLaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Dar Charkia is a beautiful Riad in a perfect location to go exploring the sites of Marrakech. Run by Lisa and Michael, a really engaging, very warm couple, the Riad is a great place to base yourself for a weeks rest. Lisa has done an amazing job with the decor which is gorgeous. We saw other Riads that were amazing but none at tasteful and warm as theirs. They have a small team of people who are on point at any time to serve drinks and tea. Breakfast is delicious with a slight variation each morning which keeps in interesting. We met some really nice people staying at the Riad, the beauty being that whilst you could have privacy, whenever you liked, you could also catch up on where others had been to see. The roof terrace is a welcome place to rest when the sun shines

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Dar Charkia is a stunning riad right in the heart of the city. The staff are welcoming and very helpful and the riad is so beautifully designed with each room different to the next. I had such a fantastic weekend here - Lisa and Michael could not have gone more out of their way to help us with anything and everything and to make us feel at ease in this exotic city. I think this riad differs from other riads as it is so warm and so full of character. The best part? The divine breakfasts and the fact that they are served ALL DAY LONG!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a great week in Marrakech staying at Dar Charkia riad.

Even before we left I knew it was going to be good as Lisa was so efficient is answering questions that I emailed to her. Lisa had also sent a very comprehensive list and review of activities and restaurants in and around Marrakech, and so we had all our 7 nights restaurants booked in advance.

We arrived ridiculously early - thanks to Easyjet's flight times, but our room was ready and we were offered breakfast, which we gladly had - a very nice balance of yogurt, pancakes and French bread with jams butter etc. This changed slightly throughout the week and was always beautifully served by one of the Samirahs who worked there. Our prearranged transfer from the airport worked smoothly as well.

We stayed in the Douria suite, which was large and very exotic, decorated with lovely ornaments and antiques. The bed was large and comfortable and our bathroom spacious with two sinks and a lovely 'step into' shower.The water was always hot during our stay and the heated towel rail was a bonus. Again the decoration of the bathroom was very attractive.

Later in the morning we met Lisa and Michael who we saw regularly during the week, although they live elsewhere. We were given contact details in case there was anything they could help us with when not on site.
Lisa and Michael were an absolute delight and in a way completely made our holiday - their depth of knowledge about Marrakech could not have been better, which enabled us to know how much we should be paying for taxi fares, where to buy the best 'this and that' and especially where to eat. As the week moved on we changed a couple of restaurant bookings which were done in a flash and nothing was too much trouble. It was lovely to sit in the beautiful courtyard and while away time chatting to our most charming of hosts.
I was so impresed at the levels of service from the other staff Lisa and Michael employed and trained. They were smiley helpful and knew how to present meals and drinks professionally.Special thanks to both Samirahs and Rashid.

Marrakech is wild, exotic and colourful, so it was like an oasis in the desert returning to Dar Charkia every afternoon. The courtyard is so serene and tasteful - it was a lovely place to relax, as was the roof terrace which had such great views of Moroccan life. Being up there at sun down with a drink and watching the birds flying by, in and out of the palm trees was bliss!

One last thing to mention was the Moroccan cookery course run by Michel from Faim D'epices. What a great day! We made tajines and flat breads and pancakes and had a blind spice tasting session. We then sat down with the other very nice 6 cooks and we ate our offerings with a lovely glass of red wine.Michel picks you up from the riad and drops you home at the end of the day. Another spot on recommendation from Lisa.

We were very sad to leave Dar Charkia - it really is a very special place to stay - I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: The suite is attractive and large and I enjoyed being around the courtyard. We saw in all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madcatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I just spent the weekend with a girlfriend of mine in Dar Charkia, and everything was perfect!
The breakfasts were delicious, staff absolutely lovely, and most importantly the hosts, Lisa and Michael, were so warm and welcoming!

Dar Charkia is located perfectly - slightly set back from all the noise and bustle, but still only a 10 minute walk to both the square and the souks, and near some very good restaurants.

A really really enjoyable stay and I would highly, highly recommend Dar Charkia.

Thank you Lisa and Michael - Lotte

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#23 of 499 in Marrakech
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 499 in Marrakech
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing