We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further the only place to stay”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #37 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look no further the only place to stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

It's like stepping into a hidden oasis of perfection
Hidden behind a door at the end of an alleyway you find yourself entering into the warmest reception at the end of your journey
Waiting to greet you is Lisa your hostess and probably the most knowledgable private shopper in Marrakech
She presents you with her own annotated street map showing the best bars shops and sites to visit don't waste your money on a guide book
This is a jewel in the foots of Atlas don't miss it

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arielmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    59
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
182
641
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband booked this place for my Christmas present and I was a little nervous as I thought it would be out of my comfort zone. I needn't have worried as from the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.
The owners Michael and Lisa were there to greet us and they gave us some recommendations on where to visit and where to eat. They were very helpful and the information was very useful. The rest of the staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing seemed too much trouble for them.
Our room was spacious and the bathroom was roomy and very clean.
The breakfast was excellent; there was lots of it and it was very tasty. We also had an evening meal there and it was delicious. I had chicken tagine and I loved it.
Everything is in walking distance from Dar Charkia and the staff will help you with directions or order you a cab if you need one.
We have travelled a lot but I can honestly say this was the best weekend away we have done, it was a very romantic break and I hope I get treated again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Myself and my wife booked Dar Charkia for a romantic break and we couldn't have picked a better place. From the moment we arrived we felt absolutely spoilt. It is totally stunning, the rooms are large and the bathrooms pristine. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable and nothing is too much trouble for them. Lisa, the owner, gave us a little talk on what to expect from Marrakech which was very helpful as this was our first visit. Her knowledge was invaluable and helped us no end.
It doesn't matter what time you rise in the morning, or afternoon, breakfast will be served when you're ready. And the breakfast is very tasty and plentiful and it sets you up for the day. We ate at Dar Charkia on our first night and it was the best meal we had whilst in Morocco. The lamb tagine was lovely and there was plenty of it.
Dar Charkia is excellently located and everything you need from the souks, the main square and all the restaurants are all within walking distance.
All in all it was a wonderful trip and we shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Khmissa suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenie_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We came back a couple of years after our original trip and loved it again! And recommended to friends who also loved it. Hopefully one day we will all come back as a group and take the place over with our families for a week or so. Truly great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Existential_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

If you expect 5 star then this is not for you. But if you, like the Martin family, want a riad full of character and charm, supported by friendly hospitality of its staff, located in the inner ancient city with it's fascinating history and mystique, as well as within vey close walking distance to the Main Square and its Souks, at a very reasonable rate then do not hesitate but book now. The rooms are small but very clean surrounding a charming inner court yard with a small pool and there is a delightful roof top terrace. All the staff went out of their way to make us very welcome and helped plan our visits including a day trip to the mountains. They organised a delicious feast at our request for our party of 9 on our last night during which Abdul introduced us to Berber music and dancing with great passion. It was a perfect way to finish our 4 day stay. Overall it was excellent value and Well done to the Riad La Croix team for making our first visit to Morocco such fun and so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukurai n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were unlucky enough to be in Marrakesh during a rare period of wind and cold so we spent a lot of time at the Riad. The staff were all really helpful and made the trip much more enjoyable than it would have otherwise been.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all of the rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloydPinkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Booked up late but Lisa was very helpful and replied to all enquiries. She organised us a transfer on the night before and the guy who collected us we very helpful. The owners weren't there during our stay and the staff who looked after us really made us welcome and helped us with our stay. As others mention the Riads are havens in Marrakech and Dar Charkia is no exception. Breakfast are beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webstea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 500 in Marrakech
1,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing