We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Charkia MADE our trip!”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #36 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dar Charkia MADE our trip!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We decided to stay at Dar Charkia after reading the amazing reviews and we were not disappointed! The Riad is magical and even more amazing than the photos. Every little thing has been thought out in order to provide a comfortable luxurious trip. Our room was amazing with lots of natural light. As the walls are SO thick you feel like you are in your own private palace as you can hear no one else. The staff are extremely knowledgeable and were so helpful, nothing was ever to much to ask. We ate breakfast every morning on the terrace which the staff kindly always bought up for us, the view is next to nothing. Breakfast was always varied which made it always a treat. Michael (the owner) is so knowledgeable and helped us create day trips where we wasted no time as he helped us link up the different things we wanted to see by showing us the best routes etc. For all these reasons it made it the perfect trip which we will probably never be able to match. Thank you to all the staff at Dar Charkia, you really did MAKE our trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    60
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
185
642
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from a trip to Marrakech and a four night stay at Dar Charkia. We chose it because of previous Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't sorry. Even before we got there we had a long list sent to us of suggested activities, restaurants and helpful hints. Lisa (the owner) booked and arranged everything for us, all we did was arrive. Michael (also an owner) was there to meet us and talk us through routes, more helpful hints and confirmed our bookings. We ate there on the first night and the food was very good and served in a candle lit courtyard. Service within Dar Charkia was exceptional, professional, friendly and I am sure that if I had asked for it (whatever it was), they would have got it for us. Thank you to Dar Charkia for making the trip a very special one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ND1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After much research, we decided to book our 4 night/5 day stay with Dar Charkia. We were not disappointed. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded to the Douiria Suite. A magical room with ample space, beautiful decoration, a large comfy bed and a tastefully finished en-suite bathroom. We hit gold on day 1 of our arrival in crazy Marrakech. Lisa was unfortunately away when we arrived, however, her team more than made up for her absense. The initial `Marrakech orientation` briefing was incredibly helpful as was the bartering advice/price point guidelines for simple things such as pashmina`s throughout. Bartering in souks is an art for foreigners hence the more advice the better. Assistance with restaurant reservations was also very much appreciated. Given we did not visit during peak tourist season (May 2013), in hindsight we should not have booked restaurants in advance rather on the fly during our stay. We ate at Dar Charkia on the first night - a fabulous menu & we savoured every bite of our 3 course meal. We independently booked a couples Hammam at `Hammam de la Rose` - Wow ! A unique experience that leaves you feeling a million dollars. The oils, smells, professionalism of the therapists and authentic high quality surroundings were second to none. Simply amazing ! We also independently booked a day trip with/through Raid Buggy (http://www.raidbuggy.com/). Absolutely fantastic. We also struck lucky with this experience. We had a cool time from start to finish - a top notch experience for buggy enthusiasts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT_Tripexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As a family of four exploring Marrakech and the wider area we loved our stay at Dar Charkia. The rooms are all beautiful and the riad has a calm and tranquil vibe. Something that is a very welcome contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. Lisa and her staff were lovely and made us all feel at home. Lisa was really helpful in arranging trips, booking restaurants and helping us navigate our way around Marrakech. We had a great experience in Morocco and would recommend Dar Charkia as a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

As others have said, the atmosphere, beauty of surroundings, care, particularly the welcome and superb hosting are all top notch. Lisa and Michael have created an excellent place from which to explore and experience fascinating (and somewhat intimidating, for a foreigner) Marrekech. The staff know just how to make guests feel at comfortably at home. I thought that Lisa's welcome 'briefing' upon arrival was exceedingly helpful in orienting us with info and tips about how to navigate the Medina and its people. Dar Charkia itself is charming, comfortable and easy on the eye without being pretentious. - I'm trying to think of something that I found lacking so that I could seem to be balanced and critical, but I can't - it was ALL good. I'm happy to spread the word about this gem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LightningWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Dar Charkia is an oasis of calm in a vibrant and bustling city. The owners, Lisa and Michael, have created an environment which is friendly, welcoming, peaceful, relaxing and stress-free. Returning to Dar Charkia after an excursion, or a meal, or just popping out to buy water, was always an absolute pleasure. The excellent staff employed by our hosts were consistently courteous, polite, charming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them; in fact they operate to a very high standard in every task they undertake. We will return to Marrakech; the ultimate timing of which will be determined by the availability of rooms at Dar Charkia. Fabulous.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifton999Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and at home. The Riad is truly lovely and of such a high standard on every level. We really couldn't have asked for more and cannot recommend any improvements as it genuinely surpassed our expectations. Lisa, Michael and all of the team were incredibly helpful as we had never visited Marrakech before and as we were only there for 3 days they definitely helped us make the most of our time. FABULOUS and would go back in a shot!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#23 of 499 in Marrakech
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#28 of 499 in Marrakech
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 499 in Marrakech
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing