We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Days in Marrakech”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #36 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our second trip to Marrakech and so we knew what to look for in accomodation. Dar Charkia provided an oasis of calm within the bustling market area of the city and was, in all aspects. a superior Riad. We were close to the markets and local restaurants and were provided with 'insider' tips on the best places to shop and dine (they were extensive and well researched) which added a lot to the overall enjoyment and experience. The owners and the staff were attentive at all times and clearly went out of their way to ensure that we felt very much at home and that all of our needs were met so that we could leave Marrakech with some very happy memories - which we did!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Great friendly staff with heaps of relevant local knowledge.

Good sized room and every effort made to ensure we had a great stay.

Food was also good, if you take the Atlas Mountains day trip pack good shoes the hike to the waterfall is steep and you have to climb in parts.

Great food and shopping guidance.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank RZLonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just got back from a fabulous trip from Morocco and by far our highlight was staying at Dar Charkia. It is a beautiful Riad in a very convenient location. Staff is amazing.. We had 2 lovely big rooms and we stayed for 2 nights…wish we had more. We were upstairs and our children downstairs. The Riad is decorated gorgeously and they play lovely music thoughout the day and evening. We felt it was safe to leave our son there during the day and both of our children in the afternoon and they were well taken care of… Both children did not want to leave…
Lisa is a jewel and went out of her way to make sure we had a lovely time, including our meals, restaurant reservations and daily activities. They were so accomodating and I really feel we have made some new friends. They provide a great map of the city with lots of retail, spa and restaurant recommendations. Make this your first choice to get the best our of your time in Marrakech. It is true that the people make the difference and the experience and Lisa and the staff at Dar Charkia surely made ours!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBFExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We decided to stay at Dar Charkia after reading the amazing reviews and we were not disappointed! The Riad is magical and even more amazing than the photos. Every little thing has been thought out in order to provide a comfortable luxurious trip. Our room was amazing with lots of natural light. As the walls are SO thick you feel like you are in your own private palace as you can hear no one else. The staff are extremely knowledgeable and were so helpful, nothing was ever to much to ask. We ate breakfast every morning on the terrace which the staff kindly always bought up for us, the view is next to nothing. Breakfast was always varied which made it always a treat. Michael (the owner) is so knowledgeable and helped us create day trips where we wasted no time as he helped us link up the different things we wanted to see by showing us the best routes etc. For all these reasons it made it the perfect trip which we will probably never be able to match. Thank you to all the staff at Dar Charkia, you really did MAKE our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from a trip to Marrakech and a four night stay at Dar Charkia. We chose it because of previous Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't sorry. Even before we got there we had a long list sent to us of suggested activities, restaurants and helpful hints. Lisa (the owner) booked and arranged everything for us, all we did was arrive. Michael (also an owner) was there to meet us and talk us through routes, more helpful hints and confirmed our bookings. We ate there on the first night and the food was very good and served in a candle lit courtyard. Service within Dar Charkia was exceptional, professional, friendly and I am sure that if I had asked for it (whatever it was), they would have got it for us. Thank you to Dar Charkia for making the trip a very special one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ND1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After much research, we decided to book our 4 night/5 day stay with Dar Charkia. We were not disappointed. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded to the Douiria Suite. A magical room with ample space, beautiful decoration, a large comfy bed and a tastefully finished en-suite bathroom. We hit gold on day 1 of our arrival in crazy Marrakech. Lisa was unfortunately away when we arrived, however, her team more than made up for her absense. The initial `Marrakech orientation` briefing was incredibly helpful as was the bartering advice/price point guidelines for simple things such as pashmina`s throughout. Bartering in souks is an art for foreigners hence the more advice the better. Assistance with restaurant reservations was also very much appreciated. Given we did not visit during peak tourist season (May 2013), in hindsight we should not have booked restaurants in advance rather on the fly during our stay. We ate at Dar Charkia on the first night - a fabulous menu & we savoured every bite of our 3 course meal. We independently booked a couples Hammam at `Hammam de la Rose` - Wow ! A unique experience that leaves you feeling a million dollars. The oils, smells, professionalism of the therapists and authentic high quality surroundings were second to none. Simply amazing ! We also independently booked a day trip with/through Raid Buggy (http://www.raidbuggy.com/). Absolutely fantastic. We also struck lucky with this experience. We had a cool time from start to finish - a top notch experience for buggy enthusiasts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT_Tripexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As a family of four exploring Marrakech and the wider area we loved our stay at Dar Charkia. The rooms are all beautiful and the riad has a calm and tranquil vibe. Something that is a very welcome contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. Lisa and her staff were lovely and made us all feel at home. Lisa was really helpful in arranging trips, booking restaurants and helping us navigate our way around Marrakech. We had a great experience in Morocco and would recommend Dar Charkia as a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 501 in Marrakech
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#28 of 501 in Marrakech
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 501 in Marrakech
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#40 of 501 in Marrakech
1,079 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 501 in Marrakech
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £83 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing