We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #36 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at Dar Charkia for a week during May 2014, and it was the perfect oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the medina. The riad is small enough (6 rooms) for a very personal service, with an opportunity to get to know the staff, but big enough, with lots of little corners and spaces to have some time out and enjoy some down time, whether that is on the roof terrace, or by the plunge pool.

A perfect location! 5 - 10 minute walk to the main square and to the souks, and even within walkable distance to the new town, a taxi only costs 30 - 50 dirhams, so it's nice to have the choice.

Michael's "induction", along with the annotated map and local knowledge made us feel much less apprehensive, and we got straight out and explored the medina. We had a free transfer from the airport, an endless supply of delicious Moroccan tea, and the BEST lychee lemonade. All the staff were fantastic and couldn't help enough, from recommending and booking restaurants and excursions to discreetly cleaning our room daily.

The perfect stay, and we'll definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

just got back from a four night stay in Dar Charkia;
it surpasses all others, for location, quality of the interior and décor, staff helpfulness and friendliness.Upon arrival, Samira gave us the tour and a great map of the city. Lisa had figured out that we were recently married and our room was all decked out in honeymoon decorations. She also arranged for a cake at Pepe Nero, which was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam12767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at Dar Charkia for a week at the beginning of May. It was mine and my sister's first time in Marrakech and we chose Dar Charkia after reading the fantastic reviews - we were not disappointed! Lisa and Michael were so lovely and helpful - we were a little nervous when we arrived but Lisa's map and advice were so great and we were soon very comfortable finding our way around. All the staff at the riad were fantastic, so friendly and welcoming and made us feel very much at home. They booked us tables at recommended restaurants and also 2 day trips outside of Marrakech which were both fab. We hope to be going back very soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sahara room and it was beautiful with a lovely shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahkatehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at Dar Charkia for 6 nights.The Riad is beautiful.The courtyard is nice, cosy and perfect for relaxation( trees, dipping pool, birds that " visit the place ")., Rooms are nice, well decorated and the toilets are very clean.It's ideally located, you can walk to go to the restaurants, the souks and that is very important, to the famous place "Jamaa-el-Fna "in the evening.But what make Dar Charkia unforgettable is Lisa and Michael the owners and their staff.They take particular care of their customers. We really appreciated that the breakfast is " whenever you want ".They wrote somewhere in their Riad "arrive as a stranger and leave as a friend " it's true.they are helpful and nothing was too much trouble. THANKS YOU TOO MUCH.
We hope to be back with the whole family

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRIGITTE225_APRIL-DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Dar Charkia is a beautiful ,elegant Riad ideally situated in the old town close to the souks,restaurants and shops.But what makes it very special is the exceptional hospitality of its staff and English/German owners Michael and Lisa. For first timers in Marrakech, as we were ,Michael's expert advice helped us get the very best from our all too short stay. From the personalized maps in every room to the reassurance that breakfast is "whenever you want it" , nothing was too much trouble..Meet and greet at the airport, pre-booked restaurants, and tours were all organized and reorganized to suit our whims. If it is your first time in Marrakech Dar Charkia is the perfect introduction and the ONLY place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elean0r2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the riad for 4 nights in May, and really enjoyed it. The riad is beautiful decorated, the rooms are very nice but our favourite was the central courtyard - perfect for relaxing in the afternoon and evening with a drink. The service was excellent, all staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Lisa and Michael's help and recommendations made our stay unforgettable. I loved Lisa's shopping tips:-) Many thanks again for your great hospitality, we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_LON_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The riad is lovely; a central courtyard in which we were welcomed with the ubiquitous Moroccan mint tea, pleasant shaded spots for reading or talking, a tree, a dipping pool... Our room was lovely, with plenty of water, and, unusually for Morocco, a hair dryer and a safe...all our needs were carefully looked after. For example, one of the women on staff gave me the exactly correct kind of tea to settle a queasy stomach. The owners, Michael and Lisa, speak French and English fluently, and were very helpful in recommending places to eat (their food happens to be excellent as well), to shop, to see...Should I go back to Marrakesh I would certainly want to stay at Dar Charkia again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
579 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 499 in Marrakech
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#63 of 499 in Marrakech
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 499 in Marrakech
1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#33 of 499 in Marrakech
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £70 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing