We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Charkia the right Choice”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #29 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Besigheim
1 review
“Dar Charkia the right Choice”
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Thanks to Tripadvisor on october 19th we arrived in Marrakesch to stay for our first time at the riad Dar Charkia.
It has been one of our best stay!!!
We were greeted upon arrival by Lisa and Michael, who gave us a fantastic overview of the city,sights to see and recomendations
for restaurants.
The riad was magnificent, the staff was friendly and efficent and
overall we felt to be treated by Lisa and Michael as very good old
friends.
We hope to visit them again and defintely would recommend their riad to many of our friends.
Thanks again to Lisa and Michael
Franco and Brigitte Fontana

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FontanaBesigheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    58
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
182
639
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

we arrived early morning at the airport was greeted by our pre booked taxis organised via lisa the owner of dar charkia . very nice guy pointed us to the money exchange . our journey was about 15 min s . He droped us at the nearest point to the riad from there a chap met us took our luggage and showed us the way to our riad , well worth it for a small fee. From there we had a very warm welcome from lisa michael and there fab staff .Lisa gave ourselves and another couple a prep talk of the do,s and donts of marrakech which was a godsend . we had arranged a lot of things dinner bookings trip s ect with lisa prior to leaving the uk which was also great , we had arranged to eat in the riad the first night belive me you will not be dissapointed lovely food and plenty of it everthing is fresh! well ladies this bit is for you! lisa is a personel shopper! and again for a very reasonable fee you can book her for a morning or aftrernoon she will take you to the best places in the souks ,also good for getting your bearings ,great for girlie weekends who just want to shop! we ate in some great places had chaperones a couple of times as they were in the medina again small fee well worth it organised by michael. Lisa and michael check everyware out that they recomend from time to time. The riad was beautifully decorated rooms were lovely . The other great thing no set time for breakfast ,have it in the courtyard or on the roof terrace your choice. Will be going back . FABULOUS!! ps hi 2 dave and kelly and jewels (party pooper!!) stewert x

  • Liked — The Hosts, Staff, Decor, Food
  • Disliked — There was nothing we disliked!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneDaveMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at Dar Charkia for 5 nights in total (2 visits on each side of a 2 night trip to Essaouira). It is a truly beautiful riad conveniently situated in the Medina. It is run by Lisa and Michael who could not have been more helpful in making our stay in Marrakech so enjoyable. All of their excellent recommendations enhanced our Marrakech experience particularly their guidance on restaurants which they booked on our behalf. This was our first trip to Morocco and I must admit that we were not expecting such a high standard of dining options both at the riad and the local restaurants.

The staff at Dar Charkia are excellent and could not do more to make you feel completely at home.

I would recommend anyone visiting Marrakech to make a reservation at Dar Charkia as they would be guaranteed a truly magificent Moroccan experience.

  • Liked — Ambience/Decor/Quality of Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dpeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Lisa and Michael ensure that the Dar Charkia has a friendly, welcoming feel and that you leave wanting to return to Marrakech as quickly as you can.
They have candid recommendations for what to see and do in the city, and nothing seems like too much trouble.
Delightful accommodation, with a sun terrace which is an oasis from the Medina, and one of the best breakfasts you'll ever eat.
Great location, much of what there is to see is within walking distance.

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CagneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2008

This is a great riad in the heart of Marrakech. Excellent value for money with lovely rooms and private bathroom. The owners Michael and Lisa where so helpful with great reccommendations for restaurants and shops. They organised all our meals and transfers which cut out the stressful part of any holiday! They also provided a great breakfast with huge pot of coffee which helped you get started on your day!
Would definitely recommend this riad for all travelling types.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — glass panels on bathroom doors
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LMKGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Tucked away in a little side alley, close to the bustling souks of Marrakech, you will find Dar Charkia. This privately run riad provides superb attention to detail, fabulous food and service, and a multitude of excellent advice on things to do and places to go. This is defiantely somwhere to come back to - not one of those one-off places.

The delightful Lisa and Michael run a superb haven of peace.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GabrielleHaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We had a wonderful time staying for 6 nights at Dar Charkia. From the moment we arrived at the airport, we were whisked away to the Riyadh thanks to the airport transfer that had been arranged.

We were greeted upon arrival by Lisa who gave us a fantastic overview of the city; recommendations for places to eat, and sights to see. She also offered lots of helpful tips on how how to negotiate in the souk markets, and how much we should be paying for goods and taxis. She was also able to arrange bookings at some unique restaurants, as well as some trips around Morocco. We went camel riding, and visited some villages in the Atlas mountains - both arranged by Lisa at the Riyadh. This took away the hassle of us having to arrange these ourselves.

The Riyadh was a calming oasis in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech; uniquely decorated to an exceptional high standard. The staff were all friendly and provided a first class service - from the home-cooked traditional dinners, to the lovely breakfasts (which could be served at any time of the day - either in the courtyard or on the roof).

There is a very relaxed atmosphere at Dar Charkia - one night we were even able to order pizza and have it delivered! It was enjoyed together with a nice bottle of wine on the roof terrace.

I have already recommended Dar Charkia to many of my friends, and would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Liked — Friendly Hosts
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#20 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#14 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#27 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing