We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dar Charkia , Fantastic Location , Stunning Decor and Welcoming Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #24 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dar Charkia , Fantastic Location , Stunning Decor and Welcoming Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

This being my first trip to Marrakech we did not know what to expect when I booked this riad. Upon arrival we were greeted so warmly by the owners who immediately provided us with a map and showed us all the places to visit. The Riad Dar Charkia is like a tranquil haven amongst the mad streets of the medina of marrakech , yet is within a 5 minute walk of most things you want to see. The rooms are incredibly spacious and stylish and the staff are incredibly attentive and helpful as are the owners. I cannot recommend Dar Charkia highly enough , we had the most fantastic holiday and will definitely return in the near future to Marrakech and would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Liked — amazing position , beautful room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DavidJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    55
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
178
636
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

You'd have to be mad not to like this Riad. it's beautifully furnished and the atmospehere is warm and friendly - thanks to Lisa, Michael and all the staff. The rooms are beautifully done out, and breakfast on the terrace is an absolute treat - best meal of the day. Lisa will give you all the tips you need on how to enjoy your stay, and will book whatever trips / restaurants you need. her choice of cafes and places to stop and rest from a frantic medina were spot on. Can't wait to go back. We saw many other places where you can stay, but Dar Charkia beats them all. It's the perfect haven for a long weekend!

  • Liked — Real style
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardooie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

We booked 4 rooms for 3 nights at this wonderful riad.
Perfect location and amazing breakfast on the rooftop.
Both Michael and Lisa were very helpful and gave us prior to departure and upon arrival the necessary information.
Family Haspeslagh

  • Liked — Clean rooms and good breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StanleyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Besigheim
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

Thanks to Tripadvisor on october 19th we arrived in Marrakesch to stay for our first time at the riad Dar Charkia.
It has been one of our best stay!!!
We were greeted upon arrival by Lisa and Michael, who gave us a fantastic overview of the city,sights to see and recomendations
for restaurants.
The riad was magnificent, the staff was friendly and efficent and
overall we felt to be treated by Lisa and Michael as very good old
friends.
We hope to visit them again and defintely would recommend their riad to many of our friends.
Thanks again to Lisa and Michael
Franco and Brigitte Fontana

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FontanaBesigheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

we arrived early morning at the airport was greeted by our pre booked taxis organised via lisa the owner of dar charkia . very nice guy pointed us to the money exchange . our journey was about 15 min s . He droped us at the nearest point to the riad from there a chap met us took our luggage and showed us the way to our riad , well worth it for a small fee. From there we had a very warm welcome from lisa michael and there fab staff .Lisa gave ourselves and another couple a prep talk of the do,s and donts of marrakech which was a godsend . we had arranged a lot of things dinner bookings trip s ect with lisa prior to leaving the uk which was also great , we had arranged to eat in the riad the first night belive me you will not be dissapointed lovely food and plenty of it everthing is fresh! well ladies this bit is for you! lisa is a personel shopper! and again for a very reasonable fee you can book her for a morning or aftrernoon she will take you to the best places in the souks ,also good for getting your bearings ,great for girlie weekends who just want to shop! we ate in some great places had chaperones a couple of times as they were in the medina again small fee well worth it organised by michael. Lisa and michael check everyware out that they recomend from time to time. The riad was beautifully decorated rooms were lovely . The other great thing no set time for breakfast ,have it in the courtyard or on the roof terrace your choice. Will be going back . FABULOUS!! ps hi 2 dave and kelly and jewels (party pooper!!) stewert x

  • Liked — The Hosts, Staff, Decor, Food
  • Disliked — There was nothing we disliked!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneDaveMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at Dar Charkia for 5 nights in total (2 visits on each side of a 2 night trip to Essaouira). It is a truly beautiful riad conveniently situated in the Medina. It is run by Lisa and Michael who could not have been more helpful in making our stay in Marrakech so enjoyable. All of their excellent recommendations enhanced our Marrakech experience particularly their guidance on restaurants which they booked on our behalf. This was our first trip to Morocco and I must admit that we were not expecting such a high standard of dining options both at the riad and the local restaurants.

The staff at Dar Charkia are excellent and could not do more to make you feel completely at home.

I would recommend anyone visiting Marrakech to make a reservation at Dar Charkia as they would be guaranteed a truly magificent Moroccan experience.

  • Liked — Ambience/Decor/Quality of Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dpeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

Lisa and Michael ensure that the Dar Charkia has a friendly, welcoming feel and that you leave wanting to return to Marrakech as quickly as you can.
They have candid recommendations for what to see and do in the city, and nothing seems like too much trouble.
Delightful accommodation, with a sun terrace which is an oasis from the Medina, and one of the best breakfasts you'll ever eat.
Great location, much of what there is to see is within walking distance.

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CagneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#21 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing