We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Riad”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #33 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Relaxing Riad”
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The Riad is beautiful and is a peaceful haven away amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

What sets it apart from other places is the personal touch of the owners, Lisa & Michael. Lisa advised us on the best local places to eat (Lotus Privilege came up trumps on our anniversary) and also which tours. Speaking of which, a big thank you to the wonderful Marco who took us on our trip to the Atlas Mountains & Kasbah. Location of the Riad is also very handy being so near the Souks & the Square.

The Riad itself is lovely. We stayed in the Khmissa Suite which has its own set of stairs for access behind the pool. The room was spacious and little extras such as blankets & a heater were appreciated as the temperatures dropped considerably in the evening whilst we were there. The staff are wonderful. The breakfasts here were great and every day there was something different for breakfast.

I would return here if I came back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    60
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
185
642
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Dar Charkia is a truly amazing place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They truly do go beyond their means to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed. The hotel owners were very accommodating. Michael spent a good hour giving us an orientation tour of Marrakech and noted down key places to visit and the best ways to get around crazy Marrakech. Lisa used her connections to get us reservations at a very good restaurant and told us where the best bars, restaurants and clubs were located.
The atmosphere at the Riad made us feel very relaxed and this is what we wanted from our holiday. The location is fantastic. It is located one minute away from a palace and it is an interesting 10 minute walk to Place el Jaffna and a 5 minute walk to the souks. I would definitely head back to Marrakech and stay at Dar Charkia. I could not fault it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kush J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We've just returned from an amazing 4 night stay at Dar Charkia and would recommend it to anyone. The Riad is beautifully decorated with real attention to detail and as we arrived at night into the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, Dar Charkia provided a serene and tranquil paradise and felt a world away from the hectic outdoors. The open-plan dining / relaxation area has a real 'wow' factor which none of the pictures can really do justice to. There is an abundant orange tree growing in the middle of this area draped with delicate, twinkling lanterns - plus soothing, chilled music is played every evening or whenever you fancy putting it on! We stayed in the Khmissa suite, which has its own log fire and stunning bathroom, and immediately felt we would be well looked after.

We ate in the Riad on our first night and had pre-ordered a delicious dinner of Lemon Chicken Tagine and Couscous and were not disappointed - hearty appetites are welcome! The same applies for the breakfasts which are different every day and fabulous.

The staff are incredibly polite and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They are also very flexible about the times and locations of your breakfast - a really lovely and unusual touch - and we recommend the beautiful tent on the terrace in the sunshine as the perfect place to start your day. Abdu, and the two Sammys took excellent care of us and Lisa and Michael made us feel completely at home. One of the real strong points of Dar Charkia is that it only has 6 rooms so every guest receives an amazingly personal service and you often feel as if you have the whole place to yourself!

Lisa and Michael are incredibly hospitable and really take care to ensure their guests feel relaxed and at ease. Lisa, particularly, had been very helpful to us both, via email, before our arrival; since we had booked a number of activities and made dinner reservations in advance with her assistance and recommendations. Lisa offers a really useful orientation chat on your first morning with tips on where to go, what to see, what to pay and how to avoid being treated like a tourist!

We went on a cooking course with Gemma at Souk Cuisine which was excellent - you buy the produce in the Souks in the morning and cook and eat together in the afternoon - highly recommended if you're a foodie at heart. We also went into the Atlas Mountains with Marco in a 4 x 4 (recommended by Lisa) and spent an unforgettable day taking in the incredible mountain views, the Berber villages and Cascades all accompanied by a knowledgeable commentary. We celebrated both a birthday and an anniversary during our stay and Lisa and the team went to great lengths to make us feel special. They all really care that you are thoroughly enjoying your stay.

We would visit Dar Charkia again in a second and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Marrakech can be pretty overwhelming at first, from the second you get off the plane and
hear people speaking french/arabic you find yourself feeling a little lost. However, when you arrive at Dar Charkia its like coming home to your own private oasis. Dar charkia is tastefully designed and has all the amenities and services you could expect from a top 5 star hotel, the difference is the people and its personality.

The hosts for your trip are a charming couple named Lisa and Michael. Once you are shown to your room you are invited to have a little informative chat with either of the two hosts, their knowledge and enthusiasm for marrakech was fantastic and with so many things to see and places to go my life was made much easier.
(Try lotus privilege - it was recomended to me by lisa and the food was superb!)

The house itself was impeccaple - very clean, delicous food and the shower in my room was incredible! Another huge plus to Dar Charkia is its location it manages to be central to most places like Djemma El Fna and the Souks but with great access to taxis making it simple to find your way around town.

Staying at Dar Charkia made for a really relaxing and stress free stay . With such warm people and faultless service I will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

Two big thumbs up and huge thankyou to everyone at Dar Charkia :)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameshurst129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Made a return trip to Dar Charkia having been there for the first time a year ago. Amazed to find that an already excellent riad had been improved even further. More items at breakfast and subtle decoration changes have made this wonderful oasis of calm even more enticing. Lisa and Michael are the perect hosts and I could not recommend their excellent riad any higher.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris27London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

For the first time ever my wife and I returned to a hotel. We've stayed in lots of places and often said "that was nice - we should go back" - but until now we've always ended up trying a new destination. However, when looking for some winter sun this February we decided to head back to Dar Charkia, where we had stayed in February 2008.

As before, everything was great. Smooth transfer with Mustapha, their very safe and reliable driver, big room (the Douiria suite), great breakfast. As ever, the hospitality from Lisa and Michael was exceptional - great suggestions for restaurants, well organised day trip to the Atlas, annotated map with their latest finds in the city. We noticed that almost all of the staff were the same as a year ago, which is a great indication of the relationship that Lisa and Michael have with them. Lisa also very kindly offered to arrange for a cushion-maker who had produced a number of cushions for the Riad to come in to discuss making some cushions for us - which she did, within the space of three days.

All in all, we had a wonderful time as before. For anyone wanting to visit Marrakech and get the best from it, I can't recommend Dar Charkia, Lisa and Michael enough.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc12272013mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We spent four nights at Dar Charkia, getting away from it all without the kids. It is amazing how tranquil the atmosphere there is, given that it is in the medina, just a stone's throw from all the sights and and sounds of the city. Lisa and Michael were so welcoming, and gave us lots of useful tips and information. It gave us the confidence to go exploring, and made sure that we didn't miss anything. Nothing was too much trouble - restaurant bookings; shopping advice; even a tip on the local barber! The rooms are fabulous - a distinctly modern twist on traditional morrocan decor. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#26 of 500 in Marrakech
822 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 500 in Marrakech
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 500 in Marrakech
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing