We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Charkia
Nearby Hotels
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palmeraie Palace(Marrakech)
US$216
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$643
US$626
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$4,511
US$4,347
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Diwane Hotel(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$98
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$747
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,337)
Filter reviews
1,337 results
Traveller rating
1,265
62
6
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,265
62
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslisa michaeldouiria suiteroof terraceshopping tipsthe hustle and bustlebeautiful riadrestaurant recommendationsatlas mountainsplunge pooldrop off pointday tripgreat hostsheart of marrakechdinner reservationsthe main squareyogurtpancakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,008 - 1,013 of 1,337 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We had a short trip to Marrakech for a birthday celebration and stayed at this riad. it was in a great location - we could walk to dinner and to the souks easily and best of all we could find our way back (sometimes not so easy!). The riad itself is beautiful and so comfortable. It's been made really homely yet stylish by the owners. The communal areas are so relaxing but that doesn't compare to the bedroom we stayed in which was fantastic. It was huge with a great bathroom and really well appointed. Also, the pictures on the website do not do the rooms justice - they are even more beautiful.
However, the best thing about our trip were the hosts and staff at the riad. As soon as we had booked the trip Lisa sent us a list of restaurants, trips and spas and as we were on limited time this was really helpful as it allowed us to plan our trip before leaving home. The restaurants and spa she recommended were fantastic - beautiful surroundings and exquisite food. When we arrived she was a fountain of knowledge about the local area and all of her recommendations were spot on.The other staff, Abdu especially, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to make our trip as easy and comfortable as possible.
The other wonderful thing about this riad is that you can have breakfast at any time - and it was one of the best breakfasts we've had whilst travelling. It also changes on a daily basis which was great.
We are really hoping to return at some point and would not hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay in Marrakech

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bg205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

lovely place and very helpful english/freindly owners and staff

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hello08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

This was by far the best place that I stayed at while in Morocco. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating, tending to anything we needed, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and the courtyard was a relaxing refuge from the busy streets in Marrakech. The owners provide their guests with information on the city and the culture easing the culture shock that one experiences upon arrival. I would whole-heartedly recommend this Riad, and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdgregoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We had never been to Morocco before but we had heard wonderful things about the city. I had been recommended a hotel with a spa but when I checked on Trip Advisor it didn't get great reviews so we booked Dar Charkia purely on its previous reviews. I have to say it lived up to the glowing reports. We were personally welcomed by Lisa and Michael who offered us drinks and nibbles after our early morning flight. Lisa then went through a map of all the places to go and those that were not so good even if they are advised in the guide books. Lisa's enthusiasm and knowledge of this city is infectious and makes you feel very comfortable is a pretty crazy place. The riad is such a restful oasis in the hussle and bustle of city life and our room was lovely especially the spacious bathroom. We ate a couple of times in the city but I have to say the meal we had at Dar Charkia was clearly the best and the portion sizes was enough to get you through until the next dinner! I would definitely recommend booking a shopping trip with Lisa to the Souks as it was so much more relaxing and we felt we were not ripped off by any of the stall holders she took us to. You get the feeling that nothing is too much trouble for the staff or owners and I would unreservedly recommend Dar Charkia to anyone wanting a relaxing and informative stay in this exciting city.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

For all you couples out there this is certainly the place to have a magical time, from the moment you get out of the taxi, and take the few metres walk to the mystical door that is tuck away you cannot be prepare for the delight that your eyes are about to see, as the door opens you are greeted by the wonderful and attentive staff that leads you to the oasis court yard where you are welcome with drinks, this is just the start to a fantastic Marrakesh experience!
The Riad has been carefully furnished tastefully in morrocan style and atmosphere throughout, Lisa talks you about the area and gives you plenty of advice on all restaurants, tours, guides etc, so you are never short of anything to do. I have been to many places throughout the world over the years and stay in the good, the bad and the ugly but this was definitely one of the best for personal attention with top standards. Thank you, to LIsa and her family and not forgetting the staff who work so hard.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews