We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad in Marrakech”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #42 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at Dar Charkia for three nights in April. We stayed in two different rooms, both of which were lovely. Staff was vey nice, as were the owners, Michael and Lisa. Michael gave us a great intro to Marrakech - laying out where things were on a map, how to get to places easily (or scenically, if that's what we wanted) and when to hit certain sites. He even showed us where his barber is and my husband got great shave from him before we left!

Bed was comfy and bathrooms were roomy and full of hot water - yum! Nice little plunge pool in the courtyard, although it was too cool to fully immerse oneself while we we were there. The courtyard was covered while we were there, which was a shame, as I would have loved for it to have been open. We had dinner at the riad one night, which was absolutely delicious - it was my favorite meal of the whole trip, and we'd had some good ones! Breakfasts were delicious as well.

The riad can arrange anything for you - guides, shopping trips, etc. They arranged for a car to take us to our hotel in Casablanca, which was fab. Overall, a great place to stay while in Marrakech!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeandawga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2009

As our flight was delayed we arrived at the riad 2.30am to be met by Abdul from the taxi. We followed him down the alleys to the lovely riad. It is a peaceful place in this mad, manic city. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much bother for them from making us tea to getting a boy to walk us to the tanneries!! Lisas advise was spot on from knowing how much a taxi fare would be to were the clean toilets were. Very important to us females! Breakfast was great - served on the rooftop - we especially liked the pancakes. We had a great day in the mountains with Marco our guide. Thoroughly recommend it. Lisa booked a table for us at the Jad Mahal and we had the best steak and also enjoyed the bellydancers. We never made it to Le Bis restaurant as our taxi driver took us to 2 different Hotel Ibis - after 45 mins in the taxi we dined in McDonalds!! Make sure you get addresses for the restaurants you are going to. We also really enjoyed the souks - great experience and good fun. We came home with a lot of shopping. We had a ball in Marrakech and would recommend the riad to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

From the moment we made our reservation to the sad day when we left,we felt that we could trust Lisa, Michael and their lovely staff to meet our every need and allow us to enjoy a care free holiday. Lisa and Michael are fabulous hosts and in the preceding weeks to our holiday worked with us to book fabulous resturants and memorable days out. We were recommended Lotus Privilege, Le Crystal and Tad Mahal resturants and all were fanatastic. We went on fabulous day trips/experiences which included a Spa day which was brilliant value (spa treatments + lunch), personal shopping (great discounts for Jewellery, Rugs and Leather goods) , sunbathing/lunch at Plage Rouge and lunch at Ricahrd Branson's Tamadot overlooking the Atlas mountains was truley the icing on the cake.

Even though we ate at great resturants the evening meal we had on our first night in the Riad was their equal and breakfasts on the roof terrace were lovely .

The Riad it's self is very comfortable and there is access to Internet, Music and books, everything you need to relax and forget about all your troubles.

The people of Marrakech are lovely and even though you are in an Islamic state it is soft Islam and you are made very welcome.

All in all a great holiday and our friends are all planning to visit Dar Charkia in September.

We ourselves are planning to return in a few years time and there is only one place where we will stay and that's Dar Charkia our oasis in the desert

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My husband and I returned last week after spending 4 days in the beautiful Dar Charkia Riad which is in the centre of the Medina. Lisa and Michael were very helpful hosts. We had a meal in the Riad on the first night which was excellent - I thoroughly recommend you eat in at least one evening. Substantial breakfasts are either taken in the courtyard or on the terrace. I would thoroughy recommend the Dar Charkia for a lovely quiet break in the centre of the very hectic medina.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I have just returned from marrakech, my first visit there and it will not be my last as I picked the most adorable riad dar charkia that made my experience one to remember. The hose Lisa & Michael were so accomodating. The style of the riad was truely memorable. Also the staff made me feel like a royal, something I have never experenced on a short break. If you go to Marrakech you must stay at the Dar Charika.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Myself and my friend have just returned from a week in Morrocco. We had only booked the riad for 4 nights and were going to head into the desert for the other 3. Dar Charkia was so wonderful and welcoming that we choose to stay for a further 3 nights. Lisa and Michael pass by several times a day and are incredibly helpful. Their recommendations and local knowledge is amazing. The weather was fantastic the week we were there so we were able to make the most of the beautiful roof terrace. We loved the drumming in the square at night but also the variation of going to the more modern part of town for a different experience again. This Riad is very serene and calm and I would recommend anyone to try it for themselves.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvpLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Hi, just a quick rave review for the Dar Charkia riad in Marrakech... Our experience was lovely. The riad has incredible style, and is really a little oasis in the heart of the chaos of the city. What really made this experience unique was the great advice that Lisa gave us upon arrival, including everything from tips to a great spa experience to how much to pay for taxis to where to find clean restrooms in the middle of the city. The food and service here was wonderful, and I would highly recommend the Dar Charkia to you all!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurakono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#34 of 500 in Marrakech
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#22 of 500 in Marrakech
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 500 in Marrakech
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#38 of 500 in Marrakech
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £70 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing