We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #36 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk, uk
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 12 June 2009

I organised a group of 12 friends to come and spend 5 days in Marrakech for golf and discovery. I chose Dar Charkia for its excellent web-site and fantastic response from Lisa to all my questions. We took the whole riad and we were not disappointed ...a real little gem of a riad, friendly staff, delicious breakfasts and food.. and a reasonable price. Marrakech can be expensive.
I am very happy to recommend the riad which is well run by Lisa and Michael. I liked the fact that they look after their staff very well which gives it an uncomplicated atmosphere. Also Michael impressed me by coming to welcome us at the riad late at night (as we were delayed).
Above all I congratulate Lisa who is a perfect hostess through her taste in decorating the riad, her understanding and knowledge of Marrakech which she were generously shares with her guests.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theramsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    60
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
185
642
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

This is a beautiful Riad. From the moment we were met at the airport, we were in the best of hands. Lisa and Michael have thought of everything: the riad is beautifully designed, and your every need considered, even down to providing travel adaptors in the rooms. They are fantastically knowledgeable about Marrakech, and will give you enormous amounts of information about what to do and where to go during your stay. They genuinely want you to enjoy the city which they love so much, and nothing is too much trouble for them to organise for you.
The staff at the Riad are just lovely, too. Whilst they are on hand at all times for anything which you might want, they are also very discreet and never give the impression of being 'in your face'as can often happen. They are happy and friendly, too, and one of the many pleasures were the amazing breakfasts which they happily bring to your room, to the roof terrace or in the courtyard, at any time at all. (Another lovely thing, having no pressure to have breakfast before a certain time!)
What is also fantastic is that the Riad, whilst being so central in an extraordinarily vibrant city, is nevertheless a quiet and cool oasis, and once inside, it is hard to imagine you are in the centre of the Medina.
(I haven't included any photographs with this review, as the ones on the website show the Riad exactly how it is!)
We could not recommend Dar Charkia more!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Very much enjoyed our 3 night stay.
Service was excellent - from the arrangement of taxi pickup/drop off at Airport to restaurant and tour recommendations. The room was superb and no detail missed. (even a travel adaptor was provided in the room)
The mint tea (morning/noon or night) on the terrace was great - so refreshing and relaxing. My friend and I were both very pleased with our accommodation selection and very much appreciated the fine level of service provided by Michael and the staff. It was definitely what we both needed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Just spent a long weekend here with my mother.. yes we do like to get away together once in a while. This place was lovely; it is a beautiful, traditional Moroccan Riad with a slight twist of the modern. Modern enough to have everything we softies expect: air conditioning (or heating), clean and comfortable whilst still being just that bit special. The owners go out of the way to make you feel at ease .. a free map with lots of good advice gives you that bit of confidence to get completely lost in the city and just not worry. Oh yes and we LOVED the breakfasts which were very tasty, not your standard hotel fayre and slightly different each day. We ate each morning on the roof terrace. There are also sun loungers on the roof and a plunge pool in the courtyard. I'd very much like to go back with my other half for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debswozere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Lisa & Michael were very welcoming and made our stay very memorable. Restaurant and bar recommendations were excellent and the personal shopping tour of the souk bagged us some excellent bargains! Staff were great. We will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bc-lb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2009

I've already recomended this exquisite riad to friends for their honeymoon, i loved every minute of it. The welcome was always warm and genuine, the rooms beautiful and the most fantastic shopping two minutes from it's tranquil doors.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryRoseBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

The Dar Charkia is run on a daily basis by the owners Lisa and Michael and they make sure that the service received is of the highest quality. They have achieved this with their staff also, and staying in the riad is a joy because everyone is so cheerful. The rooms are exactly as described, the food is excellent and I cannot find anything to find fault with. The position of the riad is just right with all areas of the city within touching distance. It is very close to taxi ranks etc and no long hikes are required. It is also in a very secure area and well lit at night. In a city such as Marrakech it is essential to have a haven to retreat to, where you can relax and recharge the batteries. The 'Dar Charkia' ticks all the boxes. Just a word of warning girls, my missus saw Abdu first!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#23 of 499 in Marrakech
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 499 in Marrakech
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing