We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!!”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #36 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2009

What else can I say more here? All other good reviews say it all already. We stayed in the Master suites which is huge and spacious. Special thanks to Lisa & Michael who are very friendly & helpful, before, during & ever after our stay. They treat us like their long time best friends. They recommended a restaurant which is great too (Lotus) for a lovely romantic dinner. Lisa will give you the best recommendation for everything, ask her anything! For those who is hesitate, don't! Stay in this Riad and you'll be satisfied!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2ravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

Even prior to arriving, Dar Charkia and Lisa had provided us with extensive communication and information, making everything upon arrival straightforward and hassle free. Our flight was delayed but we were warmly greeted and driven to our destination.
The location is excellent - only a few minutes walk from the main square of the market.
On our first morning Lisa gave us a great introduction to Marrakech - given us the best information we could possibly use such as restaurants, cafes, taxi prices and where the clean toilets are located!
Service was excellent - very helpful staff were always more than happy to help us and breakfast (included in the price) was fantastic with a wide selection of sweet and savour foods. I also recommend the Pimms!!!
The rooms and decor were absolutely stunning with a great Moroccan feel. The rooms, bathrooms, and communal areas were all comfortable, clean and there was a lovely relaxing feel to the entire place.

Thank you to Lisa and everybody at Dar Charkia for a fantastic weekend - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiewmuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

My wife and I inserted a 3-night stay in Marrakesh into our Spanish vacation and it proved to be a highlight of the entire month. Marrakesh itself was incredible -- and about 47 C in the summer heat -- so we needed an escape in the late afternoon. Riad Dar Charkia was our oasis from the bustle of the souks and traffic. The open lobby space, the furnishings, and that wonderful cool pool, were medicinal. Our room was spacious, well appointed, cool, and although we only used the terrace a few times because of the heat (even late into the evening) it gave a great panorama over the rooftops. Our host, Michael, was very kind (thanks for recommending your barber for the best $4.50 shave I've ever had!), and his staff made the stay an experience to remember for a lifetime. I recommend Riad Dar Charkia to anyone fortunate enough to visit Marrakesh.....but I'd suggest April-May or October!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sockeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We had choices to stay out at Palmyrie and chose to stay in the old city near Dar El Bacha at the Riad Dar Charkia.

This Riad is perfectly positioned right near the noise and hustle of the souks and yet provides perfect sanctuary to escape with a cold Casablanca Beer in hand. It gives you a feel for the true Marakech staying in the Medina.

We stayed in the Douria Room which is a lovely oversized room full of art and pieces collected in a life of travel from the kind and warm hosts Michael and Lisa. However we did have the chance to see some of the other rooms which are equally as nice, not as large as the Douria, but still very well sized and superbly fitted out.

The food here is great, the vibe amazing and the small but refreshing pool a wonder after a hot Marakech day.

It wasa a great stay, great Riad, great city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkDSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

This riad was absolutely lovely. Good points:
-A fantastic (and slightly different) breakfast every morning
-Very helpful hosts who will do anything to ensure you are happy (I had food poisoning and Abdu went round the city on his moped with my boyfriend on the back trying to find an open chemist)
-Good restaurant recommendations
-Very helpful tips on getting around the city and the best places to see
-Very well priced for what you get.
-Beautifully decorated rooms which were very carefully thought out
-The plunge pool was the perfect temperature

My only slightly lacking points are:
-A tv in the room would've been great- though if you really want one, you can pay £30 extra for the suite which has a tv in.
-Our sheets weren't changed for our whole stay- which would've been fine if we'd been well- but after you've had food poisoning for two days fresh sheets would've been great.
-Before we came to stay, I received quite a few emails from Lisa asking me what restaurants I wanted to book- but we had absolutely no time to respond to this- yet I kept receiving emails asking me which felt slightly pressurising.

Overall, this is a very reasonably priced hotel which I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieposy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We had a great time at the Dar Charkia... The Riad is beautiful, Michael and the staff were incredibly helpful, our room was amazing and we would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichAlley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

IT was my first visit to Marrakech. My fiance and i spent an unforgetable 3 nights at DAR CHARKIA .... honestly iT was beyond our expectation ,it was a beautiful riad ... the atmosphere is relaxed and the rooms are clean and cosy.

You w'll not be disappointed especially when you meet the owners MIACHEL &LISA they made our stay comfortable and smooth, they gave us some very usueful advices about best restaurants ... best places to visit it ... and they hade taken it on them self to book us at the restaurant and booked us a spa day at Lotus riad wich was wonderful .

Everything at Dar Charkia was perfect especially the breakfast it was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech .

Tanks MIACHEL, LISA and all the staff ...you were amazing , helpful and you made our stay in Marrakech memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moushira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 501 in Marrakech
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#28 of 501 in Marrakech
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 501 in Marrakech
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 501 in Marrakech
1,080 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 501 in Marrakech
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £83 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing