We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly fantastic place”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #34 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We had a great time, at this beautiful riad, the hosts and staff made us feel so comfortable. Nothing was too much.An absolute must for a stay in Marrakech. The Riad is within walking distance of the town centre and there is a taxi rank on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welcome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

Dar Charkia has to be the most amazing place I have ever stayed. When walking through the streets to the Riad last minute worries of what the accomodation is going to be like started to enter my head as Marrakech is unlike anywhere I have ever been to before. However, the minute the Riad door was opened it was like being transported to an Oasis.

The Riad definatly needs to be seen to be believed, the photos do not capture how amazing this place is! The attention to detail throughout the property is amazing (I was still seeing things I had missed on the last day).

Lisa, Michael and all of the staff made us feel so welcome and we really were treated like royalty. LIsa kindly arranged excursions for our group which I would thoroughly suggest (Cookery course, Spa and a very special dinner at the Lotus Privalege) Plus Lisa gave us the names of some of her trusted suppliers in the Souks where a good deal was to be had.

I cannot fault Dar Charkia, they made my friends 30th birthday something that will not be forgotten.

If you are going to Marrakech and do not book into Dar Charkia then you will be missing out!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doddy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Staying at Dar Charkia with Michael, Lisa and their team was truly wonderful. Eleven women left the UK for a 30th birthday celebration that exceeded all expectations. From the time we entered the Riad until we left, we were treated as honoured guests - nothing was too much for them.
Our first glance at the property was amazing. There were fresh flowers, candles, large comfy sofas and a pool. The rooms were incredible, large and spacious with an en suite bathroom, soft white bedding and fluffy bathrobes.
We had breakfast on the roof terrace, waited on hand and foot by the staff.
Lisa gave us tips about Marrakech and she had arranged all our outings in advance so that we could have a fun filled time.
Our rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. On the last night, we ate in and had a great meal .
The whole trip was a laugh and something to remember as the dark winter nights approach. I would recommend Dar Charkia without any hesitation and I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnooksCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

but you've got to step in to find it!

This is a must-visit riad. You will be welcomed by Lisa, Michael and their team of staff upon your arrival and will immediately be made to feel at home. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable and the style of the riad and its furnishings are plush. There is not a bad room in this place. All are en suite and overlook the beautiful courtyard and pool.

I highly recommend signing up to some of the excursions Lisa's can arrange for you. Top of my list is the cookery course, the spa day and an evening at the Lotus Privilage restaurant (London chic without the London price). Dinner at the riad is also a must as the quality was second to none and the service exceptional. Breakfast was served daily on the terrace, at any time requested, and was plenty to keep you going until lunch.

You must tap into Lisa's local knowledge as it will get you far and it is free! This is a riad I will recommend to anyone intending a visit to Marrakech. Go for it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Dar Charkia is a perfect oasis located in the bustling centre of the old town. The chic Moroccan décor of the Riad is absolutely beautiful; as soon as you enter you immediately feel comfortable and relaxed. The rooms are spacious, have AC and are impeccably maintained. Breakfast served up on the terrace (at any time!) is such a treat and, like all the food served at raid, is sensational. Lisa and Michael are full of helpful advice on how to navigate Marrakech, from tips on how much to pay for things so you’re never ripped off, best shops and sites to visit, and recommendations for fantastic local cuisine, they really make sure you get the most out of your trip. Thank you Michael, Lisa and all the Staff for such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amzy316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Absolutely amazing stay. The Riad is a complete relaxing and beautiful place to stay. Its very close to the markets and city center (5mins walk max). The owners are full of knowledge and advise on how to get the most out of marrakesh on your holiday even if its a short stay. The nightlife is cultural and entertaining with the belly dancing and shesha. The Riad is perfect in every way, the food and service are excellent. The rooms are comfortable and spacious as well as the bathrooms, which are all decorated in a modern shic morrocon style. It is a stay I will never forget.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu41088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The riad, hidden in a picturesque side-street is exquisitely decorated, elegant but homely. The staff make you feel as part of a family. The owner Lisa helps you out with every aspect of your trip to Marrakech.
The food is the best I had in town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 502 in Marrakech
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 502 in Marrakech
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#63 of 502 in Marrakech
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 502 in Marrakech
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £74 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing