We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning riad with an amazing welcome”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #43 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2009

After landing in the bustling city of Marrakech we were transported to the tranquillity of Dar Charkia. Warmly welcomed by Lisa & Michael and two cold glasses of rosé we instantly felt at home.

The riad is stunning and provides everything you need and more. Lisa’s tips and recommendations were invaluable for making sure we made the most of our short stay in Marrakech.

I would highly recommend eating at Dar Charkia, both dinner and breakfast were excellent, the cauliflower and truffle soup was a particular star on the menu!

Thank you again to Lisa, Michael, Abdu and the girls for an amazing and memorable stay. I am already trying to find an excuse to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2009

WOW! What an amazing experience we had at this most beautful riad, right in the centre of the city. What surprised us was the cool, calm and relaxed atmosphere it offers, behind streets that are noisy, chaotic and hot. You can truly experience all the wonderful things the city has to offer and then return to the sanctuary of the riad. It was just wonderful to be met by Lisa and her lovely staff on the first night and given a warm welcome to this wonderful city.
Thank-you so much, we wll definitely recommend you.
Lucy & Ian Woolley
Devon

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatsyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Dar Charkia, located in the Belgravia or 5th Avenue of locations is next to the Royal Palace. It is a couple of minutes from the souks, so no tired legs before you bargain. You arrive back at the Riad after a day organized to perfection by Lisa and Michael the owner and a sigh is the first thing you will do. A sigh that says "why did I spend so long away?". The Riad is an oasis of calm with endless nooks to hide away. The service is unobtrusive but excellent. Every room is unique and decorated to designer standards. Nothing is too much trouble. The orientation talk on arrival is essential to make the most of your time in Marrakech but you will find that one trip is not enough and rebooking Dar Charkia will be your last thought as you leave.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneelizabethLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

The Riad Dar Charkia was a beautiful hotel in an amazing location. The services were unbelieveable and the staff working at the hotel were kind and friendly and always there to help and make suggestions. I had a brilliant time and would recommend this riad to everyone... a fabulous holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hol123_456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Concealed within the hustle and bustle of Marrakech lies the magical riad that is Dar Charkia. When being led down the narrow alleyways the last thing I expected to find was the stunning sanctuary that we were to call home for our short time in Morocco. From the moment you walk through the door, you are greeted with charming hospitality and captivating surroundings; this place really is a palace. Circling a calm and refreshing courtyard are all the rooms; each one with its own unique theme and decorated to detailed perfection! The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and the food was exquisite. Dar Charkia's location couldn't have been better, a two minute walk from the main road and taxi pick-up point and a ten minute walk to the souks and medina. The location was both convenient and perfectly safe to walk through at night. I had such a wonderful time staying at Dar Charkia and have no doubts that I will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaseblossom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Dar Charkia. The Riad itself is absolutely beautiful, so much care and attention has been put into furnishing and decorating it. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, which makes the stay there all the more relaxing. There is a lovely roof-top terrace with seating areas, where you can eat breakfast in the morning sunshine which I found very enjoyable. The staff are superb, extremely friendly and helpful and the food is delicious. I would highly recommend Dar Charkia to anyone looking for a peaceful place to stay in Marrakech. I very much hope to have the possibility of returning there myself someday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonAnnalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Warmly welcomed on our arrival, everyone at Dar Charkia could not have been more helpful during our magical stay in Marrakech. This incredably romantic hotel was in heart of the Medina, easy to find yet an oasis of peace. I was so taken with its staff and ambience it was tempting never to venture out! Unusually for a hotel the owners tooks great care to explain to newcomers not only the interesting sites and acitvities but also some key tips on dos and don'ts. You will be in safe hands and Dar Chakia and have a lot of fun too!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfareal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#71 of 500 in Marrakech
525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
593 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#25 of 500 in Marrakech
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £74 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing