We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an exquisite sanctuary of luxury, beauty and tranquility”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #28 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“an exquisite sanctuary of luxury, beauty and tranquility”
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We were so lucky to have the opportunity to stay in this exquisite Riad in the heart of Marrakech. Situated close to the royal palace and within walking distance of the main square and souk it is a haven of tranquility and beauty. The interior is breathtakingly beautiful: the ground floor has a central courtyard surrounded by both covered and open sitting and eating areas which are all individually designed with great style and elegance. Each bedroom is unique with furnishings and artefacts selected in the vibrant colours characteristic of Marrakech and the bathrooms are equipped and finished to a high standard. The hosts Lisa and Michael are charming and solicitous to every need. They have a wealth of knowledge of Marrakech and can arrange any activity for you from guided shopping in the souk to quad biking in the desert! Their staff are quietly efficient and friendly. We had an excellent dinner there on our first night and eating breakfast on the rooftop each morning taking in the amazing views and sounds of Marrakech was one of life's most pleasurable experiences, or 'paradise on earth' as one of our party described it! I loved Marrakech and the Dar Charkia made our stay perfect. I would love to go back there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5hampshirehogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    58
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
182
639
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Lisa and Michael were great hosts. They helped us plan everything in advance. Their recommendations for sights to visit and dining olaces were most appreciated. The staff eager to please. We were taken care of from the time we landed to the time we arrived at the airport at the end of our vacation.
Jeannette and Camille Guérin
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caguerin2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesstaylor07
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I was absolutely overwhelmed by the stunning quality and attention to detail in every aspect of Dar Charkia; both Lisa and Michael provided us with all the relevant and much needed information of the area as well as offering an easy-going and versatile service. Throughout my stay I felt relaxed, safe and comfortable with extremely helpful staff and exquisite furnishings. The food was fantastic and each room of Dar Charkia remains unique and stylish, I cannot flaw this place; it is truly excellent!

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jesstaylor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2009

After landing in the bustling city of Marrakech we were transported to the tranquillity of Dar Charkia. Warmly welcomed by Lisa & Michael and two cold glasses of rosé we instantly felt at home.

The riad is stunning and provides everything you need and more. Lisa’s tips and recommendations were invaluable for making sure we made the most of our short stay in Marrakech.

I would highly recommend eating at Dar Charkia, both dinner and breakfast were excellent, the cauliflower and truffle soup was a particular star on the menu!

Thank you again to Lisa, Michael, Abdu and the girls for an amazing and memorable stay. I am already trying to find an excuse to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2009

WOW! What an amazing experience we had at this most beautful riad, right in the centre of the city. What surprised us was the cool, calm and relaxed atmosphere it offers, behind streets that are noisy, chaotic and hot. You can truly experience all the wonderful things the city has to offer and then return to the sanctuary of the riad. It was just wonderful to be met by Lisa and her lovely staff on the first night and given a warm welcome to this wonderful city.
Thank-you so much, we wll definitely recommend you.
Lucy & Ian Woolley
Devon

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Dar Charkia, located in the Belgravia or 5th Avenue of locations is next to the Royal Palace. It is a couple of minutes from the souks, so no tired legs before you bargain. You arrive back at the Riad after a day organized to perfection by Lisa and Michael the owner and a sigh is the first thing you will do. A sigh that says "why did I spend so long away?". The Riad is an oasis of calm with endless nooks to hide away. The service is unobtrusive but excellent. Every room is unique and decorated to designer standards. Nothing is too much trouble. The orientation talk on arrival is essential to make the most of your time in Marrakech but you will find that one trip is not enough and rebooking Dar Charkia will be your last thought as you leave.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneelizabethLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2009

The Riad Dar Charkia was a beautiful hotel in an amazing location. The services were unbelieveable and the staff working at the hotel were kind and friendly and always there to help and make suggestions. I had a brilliant time and would recommend this riad to everyone... a fabulous holiday!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hol123_456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#14 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#32 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#49 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing